We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice accomodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   703 US Route 5 South, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Saint Johnsbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Colchester, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice accomodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Spacious room, very comfortable bed and pillows. Slept great! Great breakfast and pleasant surroundings. We appreciated the pool and jacuzzi as well as the fitness center. Nothing more we could have asked for. The staff was very pleasant.

Green Features: I was pleasantly surprised that there was a recycling bin under the counter in the bathroom. First time ever in a hotel! Thank you.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
I want to thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We appreciate all your positive feedback. Please consider returning for our amazing ski and stay packages. We offer ski vacation packages with Burke, Cannon, Jay Peak and Bretton Woods.

Until next time...safe travels.

Happy Holidays!
Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    115
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
173
118
21
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Staff very friendly and accommodating . Very clean rooms with home like atmosphere. More then what we wanted to spend. Breakfast should last longer and shouldn't be broken down early on week days... While your eating. Very disappointed didn't have late night grill and bar for such large hotel for out of state guests who arrive late or just want to stay in/ or during winter climate months.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed our team members and the cleanliness of our accommodations. I genuinely appreciate the feedback on our breakfast and will discuss your observations in our next staff meeting. I have operated the hotel since it opened in 2000. We have sought a franchised restaurant and lounge to build on site (we have a pre-approved location) for the past thirteen years. A quality restaurant would thrive in St. Johnsbury. Unfortunately, we have not been successful. It is not for a lack of trying. I'm not giving up and will continue to look for a solution.

We will hope to see you again in the future. Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had a funeral to attend in St. Jay, needed a place to stay overnight so as not to burden family members.
Had a bad experience at a different motel in St.Jay,and felt we had spent way too much for that motel.
We were given a special rate for this occasion. Had a room with 2 queen beds. Room was clean,Garrett at the front desk very friendly and knowledgeable. He gave us a list of local restaurants.
Would definitely stay here again.
Breakfast was nothing fancy, but good.

Room Tip: I always ask for top floor, seems to be more quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: Love the recycling bin in bathroom, always wonder why more motels do not recycle
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
We are very sorry for your loss and are glad that we were able to accommodate your needs. I'm glad that Garrett made such a positive impression on you. He is a rising star at the hotel and has potential to develop a great career in this industry.

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you again in the future. Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope Pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We were really please with our stay (1 night on way back from Canada). Staff were very helpful and accommodating. Condition of hotel and room outstanding. (We did not use pool or exercise room so can't comment.) Convenient to Interstate; short drive to town and restaurants. Thought the rate was a little high.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate the favorable review and were pleased you enjoyed St. Johnsbury . Please know that all reviews are shared internally with my team members. We use them on a daily basis to try and improve the hotel.

We hope to see you again in the future. Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndonville
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I had a decent stay at the Comfort Inn. It's a decent hotel. The pool is showing signs of wear and needs updating. Tiles are missing, gaps and cracks in tile can be found everywhere but otherwise it's a nice pool area and there is a hot tub as well. The only real complaint I have is the price is too high. Our stay was close to $200.00. It's not like we were staying in NYC. This is in St. Johnsbury, VT. There is nothing in this town other than an excellent private high school. It doesn't matter if you book alumni weekend or any particular weekend. The price is higher than what you'll pay in all but the most congested metro areas. All hotels in town are owned by one family. Perhaps this is why.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I appreciate the feedback regarding our hotel and the rates. The hotel's rates are not out of line with other franchised hotel's located in Northern New Hampshire and Vermont. For a majority of the year, our rates start as low as $139 - $149 per night. They do climb significantly during peak demand periods...summer and foliage season. They have done that for the past 13 years and will continue to do so. In addition to offering affordable nightly rates...we also offer amazing vacation packages. This winter, we are proud to offer a ski and stay vacation with Cannon Mountain...for only $159.99 per night. The Cannon Mountain ski and stay package includes your overnight accommodation, full hot breakfast and TWO lift tickets ($130+ value). I'm convinced that it is the most affordable family ski vacation in all of New England.

We hope to see you again...safe travels!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Connecticut
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This morning went to shower and ran the water a good 3-4mins in both the tub and sink and was only able to get lukewarm temp. Had to sponge bathe. Was in room 331, being on the 3rd floor not sure if that had anything to do with it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I apologize that the water was luke warm. We are a large hotel and currently in our slowest season of the year. The end result can be a diminished temperature in our hot water loops. Until five stories of hot water is circulated, the water can be luke warm. We intentionally stack occupied rooms on the same water feed to help prevent this situation from occurring.

Again, I’m very sorry for the inconvenience. We hope to see you again in the future. Until then…safe travels.

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I believe this might be the first Comfort Inn I have stayed in as usually I go for the Hampton Inn. What a pleasant surprise. This Comfort Inn was very clean and very comfortable and thankfully had PBS as a channel unlike the Hampton Inn in Brattleboro! If anyone who works for chain hotels reads this please take note; not everyone watches sports! Some of us like PBS and educational television. The breakfast was fine...the usual, but the coffee was very good- much better than usual. I also have to give thanks to Garrett the front desk person who was on duty. I walk with crutches and he was very helpful and attentive to ways in which he could help. As someone with a handicap I also have to note that the accessible room was very nice and thankfully the bed was not impossible to get into. I may have to re-think which hotel chain will be my first choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. There has been a reoccuring theme on our TripAdvisor reviews and I really hope you get to read this response. There are good franchises and bad ones. Within both, good and bad, there are exceptions to the rule. When choosing lodging, I steer travelers to award winning hotels within each franchise. Back in the day, earning awards was rather simple. Today, all the franchises have made earning award status MUCH more difficult. Combining the franchises award program with a quick look on TripAdvisor should ensure you are making a quality lodging decision.

I want to say a special thanks for recognizing Garrett and his efforts to ensure you had a pleasant stay. He is new to our front desk and has been impressing guests and fellow team members.

We'll look forward to seeing you in the future. Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 703 US Route 5 South, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Saint Johnsbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Saint Johnsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award-winning hotel is located in the heart of Vermont's majestic Northeast Kingdom. The Comfort Inn & Suites is Northern New England's best year-round vacation destination. Recent improvements include fully remodeled guest rooms, pool area, 42 inch flat-screen televisions, and an updated breakfast room. Complimentary hot breakfast is served each morning. The hotel's guests also enjoy the large fitness center, whirlpool and heated indoor saltwater pool. Vacation packages with Burke Mountain, Cannon Mountain, Bretton Woods, Jay Peak, Kingdom Trails and Santa's Village are available seasonally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Saint Johnsbury
Comfort Inn Saint Johnsbury
Saint Johnsbury Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.