We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   703 US Route 5 South, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Saint Johnsbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
East Andover, New Hampshire, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

A little overpriced, but one of the nicest Comfort Inns Ive stayed at. Friendly staff, great free breakfast, pool and spacious clean rooms. It is also in a convenient location. Beds are super comfortable too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We really appreciate you staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and will share your experience with my team members. Please keep us in mind this coming winter. We proudly offer New England's best ski and stay vacation packages.

Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    115
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
173
118
21
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fall River, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Clean, beautiful property, lobby, and rooms! Breakfast was mediocre. I have been to many hotels and never really had a fabulous free morning breakfast. This was no worse or better. Simple. Room was big, loved that it had a king bed and a pull out couch, we didn't need it but it was nice they offered it.

Room Tip: Lower floors with kids are closer to the pool. Don't need to travel through the whole hotel to g...
See more room tips
Green Features: Please reuse your towels! They recommend it and it is a good practice. Also look for the recycle bins in the bathroom! I had never seen that before and it is great!
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We appreciate you staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please know that we are in the process of adding to and modifying our breakfast. Below is a list of our current breakfast items.

- Fresh baked muffins from our kitchen daily
- Make your own waffle station (two flavors) with REAL Vermont Maple syrup
- Scrambled eggs
- Egg patties for making breakfast sandwiches
- Hard boiled eggs
- Bacon
- Sausage
- Three choices of cereal - Fruit Loops, Raisin Bran, and Honey Nut Cheerios
- Whole wheat bread
- Plain Bagels
- Cinnamon Bagels
- Biscuits
- English muffins
- Sliced American cheese
- Two different types of yogurt
- Cream Cheese
- Butter
- Jellies
- Danish
- Fresh fruit
- Cream of Wheat
- Assorted oatmeal
- Milk
- Coffee
- Assorted teas
- Hot chocolate
- Coffee creamers
- Flavored coffee creamer
- Juice

In addition, we also offer a gluten free selection of breakfast items. We will continue to seek improvements by adding more of a variety and new healthier options. My team members and I appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Until then...safe travels!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Clean and very comfortable beds and pillows! Convienient because close to the highway but don't feel like it. Pool, arcade, convienient store... all you need! Continental breakfast very good. Good service as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and then taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed our hotel and overall experience. We would love to see you again this coming winter. We offer ski packages to two Vermont mountains and two ski mountains located just over the border in New Hampshire.

Thank you again for staying with us. We'll hope to see you again.

Until then...safe travels!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

probably the nicest hotel in St J (think all the good ones are owned by same people) but its very very pricey but when you own the market you can get your price. I stay there when I go to St J only because the other choices are so so and nearly priced the same Fairbanks is priced about the same an not nearly as good a room I did not think from staying there before

Room Tip: good pretty views from all rooms I think
See more room tips
Green Features: trying to do their part could go further with recycle
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your observations on TripAdvisor. I would agree that our price structure is not "inexpensive". However there are times of the year that our rates are comparable with what most Comfort Inn's charge. I firmly believe that the hotel provides world-class accommodations and service. We are located in one of the most beautiful vacation destinations in all of New England. We offer families from around the world an opportunity to vacation in a truly pristine environment. Vermont's Northeast Kingdom is a place to relax, reconnect and rejunvenate.

My team members and I genuinely appreciate your repeated patronage. If you stay with us throughout the year on business, we have a four-tiered corporate rate structure that may apply. It is based on a minimum number of prior used room nights. If you are interested in seeking a corporate rate, please contact David Thomas, our Regional Director of Sales and Marketing, at (802) 748-6134.

Hope to see you again in the future. Until then...safe travels!

Brett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a beautiful room, spacious with arched details in the ceiling.It has a great set up with sofa,microwave,and fridge.We had driven nine hours through Canada,and driving rain through Montreal.Coming here is sanctuary.We planned to eat out, but could not leave,it was so safe and serene.Cooked up some things in the micro and blobbed out on Newsroom on the flatscreen.So good to be in my home country.Vermont is gorgeous.

Room Tip: We are adjacent to the party room,worried about noise but not a problem.All is calm,all is bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and then sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you found the hotel's guest rooms to be beautiful and spacious. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Please keep us in mind when planning your next vacation. We are located just minutes from some of the most amazing natural and man-made attractions in all of New England. The truth is...we are Northern New England's #1 summer vacation destination. If you are looking for adventure, consider canoeing or kayaking on our local rivers/lakes, Kingdom Trails Mountain biking, guided ATV rides, zip-lining, hiking the green or white mountains, ride the Mount Washington Cog Railway, or take a swim in Lake Whilloughby. Guests of the hotel rave about the Great Vermont Corn Maze, the aerial Tram to the top of Cannon Mountain, Clarks Trading Post, the Polar Caves or Santa's Village. If you are looking for some culture...check out the historic St. Johnsbury Atheneaum, Fairbanks Museum, or Old Stone House Museum. We also offer a handful of do not miss culinary experiences...Cabot Cheese Factory, Maple Grove Farms Factory, Ben & Jerrys Factory, Cold Hollow Cider Mill, Littleton Grist Mill and my personal "do not miss" Chutters General Store. Chutter is listed in the Guiness Book of World Records for having the "World's Longest Candy Counter".

Thank you again for staying with us. We hope to see you again. Until then...safe travels!

Brett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This looks to be another hotel taken over by Confort Inn...in this case, though, that's a good thing. The rooms are huge, well appointed, and very comfortable. The hotel is in a very convenient location, close to 93 and the end of 91, right on route 5, though still in a quiet spot. The hotel is very clean and well-run.

My only complaint is with breakfast...the eggs were mixed with something like nacho cheese, which was disgusting, and the bacon was limp and tasteless. However, there are lots of other offerings, including cereals, yogurts, fresh fruits, and the other typical items. There are also restaurants nearby, if desired.

Overall, I strongly recommend this place if you're in the area. Well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We actually opened as a Comfort Inn and Suites in 2000. I have managed the hotel for the past 13 years. I will certainly share your review internally with all my team members. Please know that we are reinventing our breakfast offerings. We have recently added scrambled eggs and are testing several healthier options.

Thank you again for staying with us. We hope to see you again. Until then...safe travels!

Brett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at this Inn as a "base" for our 30th anniversary travels. Room was excellent, staff very pleasant and it is centrally located in the "Norteast Kingdom" - two hours to Boston and two hours to Montreal!! And very quiet!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Congratulations on your 30th anniversary!!! Thank you so much for letting us be a part of your celebration and then sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm really glad that you enjoyed your visit. The hotel is centrally located to take advantage of all the very best of Northern Vermont and New Hampshire. We are less than an hour to the Canadian border. Taking a day trip to Sherbrook, Canada is just one of the local excursions that we highly recommend to our guests.

Again, congratulations on your anniversary. We hope to see you again in the future. Until then...safe travels.

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 703 US Route 5 South, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Saint Johnsbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Saint Johnsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award-winning hotel is located in the heart of Vermont's majestic Northeast Kingdom. The Comfort Inn & Suites is Northern New England's best year-round vacation destination. Recent improvements include fully remodeled guest rooms, pool area, 42 inch flat-screen televisions, and an updated breakfast room. Complimentary hot breakfast is served each morning. The hotel's guests also enjoy the large fitness center, whirlpool and heated indoor saltwater pool. Vacation packages with Burke Mountain, Cannon Mountain, Bretton Woods, Jay Peak, Kingdom Trails and Santa's Village are available seasonally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Saint Johnsbury
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Saint Johnsbury
Saint Johnsbury Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.