We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mountain Retreat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   703 US Route 5 South, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Saint Johnsbury
GreenLeadersGold level
Adirondacks
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A Mountain Retreat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Clean rooms, good service, an ok breakfast all at a reasonable price. While I did not use the pool it looked clean and would be great for a family to enjoy. The exercise room was small but didn't seem to be used by many of the guests. I did use the machines and a few need to be updated.

Over all it was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We appreciate all your compliments and for recognizing the cleanliness of our hotel. I am currently in the process of writing this coming year's budget. In this case, I will certainly look at what we can improve in the fitness center. Our treadmills, one bike and eliptical are all relatively new. It may be time to replace one of the bikes and I already had plans to replace the stair machine.

Thanks again for staying with us. Hope to see you again in the future. Until then...safe travels!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    110
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
157
118
21
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freehold, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a nice looking box-hotel. Check-in was easy and while there I asked about the hotels age as the lobby looked so nice and I was surprised to find out that it was 14 years old. They underwent a refurbishing about 2 yrs ago and it still looks great. The room, 2 queen beds, was neat & tidy and neither my wife nor I noticed anything out of place or worn/tattered and it's good to see hotels that have moved to having a wall thermostat rather than the dials on the a/c unit. Our gripe is with the breakfast area (another good looking room). As we were there on a Saturday night the Sunday morning breakfast was busy which brought out a few shortcomings:
1. They should leave a no-stick spray out for customers to use on the waffle irons. The cooked waffles were quite difficult to remove and needed a lot of poking and prodding to coax them out of the iron, This adds greatly to the time every user ties up the waffle iron and while the time is passing the line waiting grows a bit long with each user. Leave out the spray - the cost of lost/wasted spray will pay off in the line reduction.
2. The waffle irons should be moved away from the main buffet counter. As customers wait for their turn at the waffle iron they stack up along the counter which prevents other customers from having easy access the eggs, bacon, sausage, breads and all other food items except the cereals & the coffee station. Much more 'Excuse me' and reaching around people happens than feels comfortable. It would be better to swap the waffles irons with the cereals as the cereal station appeared to be the least used counter of the three.
3. Put the butter near the waffle irons and toasters/breads. This is when folks are looking for it so that is where it should be - not in the refrigerator. If management is worried about butter going bad then leave a smaller bowl in each area and refill it from the fridge as needed. This will also allow the customers to have a butter that spreads much easier, just like at home.
And that is the extent of the improvements we noticed should be done. My wife felt the bed was a bit soft, but such things are a matter of personal taste as I didn't notice it.
Do not let these observations keep you from staying at the hotel though as we felt satisfied with our stay. Just be ready for breakfast to be more of a production than needed when the customer count is up. Good luck; cul8r.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and posting a WONDERFUL review on TripAdvisor. Please know that we use all reviews to try and improve our hotel, but ones like yours really means a lot. Thank you for all the positive feedback regarding our appearance and the overall quality of our hotel. We recognize that an area for improvement in our hotel is the breakfast and breakfast room "flow" in general. It is not from a lack of trying different presentations that we've ended up with the current setup. As noted in one of my responses to a TripAdvisor review a week or two ago, we are currently in the process of reinventing our breakfast. We are currently focused on improving the quality of our products. Guests are asking for less sugar and processed foods. In addition to improving the products we serve we will take into consideration each and everyone of your well thoughtout suggestions.

We will hope to see you again in the future and have implemented changes to our breakfast that you helped make. Until then...safe travels!

THANKS SO MUCH AGAIN FOR ALL YOUR TIME, THOUGHT, AND OBSERVATIONS!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed only one night at this nice, upscale Comfort Inn and Suites. Lovely grounds, clean and well kept. We were picking our daughter up from camp nearby and wish we'd had more time to spend in this very nice hotel. It was much nicer then any other Comfort Inn and Suites that we've stayed in previously. The breakfast buffet was good (typical of most) and the beds, room and lobby were lovely. Would definitely recommend it!

Green Features: Cleaned out our rental car and asked front desk if they'd recycle papers for us-they were great!
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for the great review and for staying with us. We would love to host your family for your next winter or summer vacation.

We are located just minutes from some of the most amazing natural and man-made attractions in all of New England. The truth is...we are Northern New England's #1 summer vacation destination. If you are looking for adventure, consider canoeing or kayaking on our local rivers/lakes, Kingdom Trails Mountain biking, guided ATV rides, zip-lining, hiking the green or white mountains, ride the Mount Washington Cog Railway, or take a swim in Lake Whilloughby. Guests of the hotel rave about the Great Vermont Corn Maze, the aerial Tram to the top of Cannon Mountain, Clarks Trading Post, the Polar Caves or Santa's Village. If you are looking for some culture...check out the historic St. Johnsbury Atheneaum, Fairbanks Museum, or Old Stone House Museum. We also offer a handful of do not miss culinary experiences...Cabot Cheese Factory, Maple Grove Farms Factory, Ben & Jerrys Factory, Cold Hollow Cider Mill, Littleton Grist Mill and my personal "do not miss" Chutters General Store. Chutter is listed in the Guiness Book of World Records for having the "World's Longest Candy Counter".

Each winter we host THOUSANDS of familys that visit the hotel to ski at Burke, Jay Peak, Cannon or Bretton Woods. We proudly offer New England's Best Ski and Stay Packages. We also offer direct VAST snowmobiles trail access. You and your family will love exploring 5000+ miles of "Vermont's Magical Winter Highway".

We'll hopefully be able to host your family on future family vacations. Until then...safe travels!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogdensburg, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Very Nice Hotel... super clean nut pricey... really had to pull every trick out to save a few dollars... it is the only hotel in the area... hotel looks like a stately mansion from the outside... nice pool area... super comfortable rooms....

Room Tip: before you sign look at a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and posting a review on TripAdvisor. I really appreciate you pointing out that we are not inexpensive, yet we are a "VERY NICE HOTEL". I believe we offer a world-class lodging experience and our rates reflect this belief. A night's stay at the hotel can range from $139 to as much as $399 for a specialty suite during peak periods. For guests that are seeking a lower rate, we highly recommend the Fairbanks Inn, St. Johnsbury. They are located just minutes from the hotel. Thank you for complimenting our landscaping, rooms and pool area. By the way...I NEVER check into a room without visiting it first (great advice to impart on fellow tripadvisor members).

We'll hope to see you again. Until then...safe travels!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

They have their customer service down pat - the staff were very accommodating and pleasant!Very nice and spacious room, clean pool and hot tub, much better breakfast than the standard for Comfort Inn, and the mattress was amazingly comfortable. Not cheap, though we found a good deal on bookings.com - this was way above average for a stopover hotel!

Green Features: They participate in a green hotels program - excellent!
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I was thrilled to read your review and to hear that we both met and exceeded your expectations. We would love to host a future vacation of yours.

We'll hope to see you again in the future. Until then...safe travels!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

What a nice surprise to find a fantastic hotel...Would go back just to experience it a bit more than one night. Great service by the staff. Vermont is a beautiful state. Enjoyed our stay at the comfort inn very much! Rooms were very clean and organized. Breakfast was a great start to our day...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
It was a pleasure hosting your short visit and we appreciate you sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Whether this winter or next summer, we would love for you to spend your entire vacation with us. We are located just minutes from some of the most amazing natural and man-made attractions in all of New England. The truth is...we are Northern New England's #1 summer vacation destination. If you are looking for adventure, consider canoeing or kayaking on our local rivers/lakes, Kingdom Trails Mountain biking, guided ATV rides, zip-lining, hiking the green or white mountains, ride the Mount Washington Cog Railway, or take a swim in Lake Whilloughby. Guests of the hotel rave about the Great Vermont Corn Maze, the aerial Tram to the top of Cannon Mountain, Clarks Trading Post, the Polar Caves or Santa's Village. If you are looking for some culture...check out the historic St. Johnsbury Atheneaum, Fairbanks Museum, or Old Stone House Museum. We also offer a handful of do not miss culinary experiences...Cabot Cheese Factory, Maple Grove Farms Factory, Ben & Jerrys Factory, Cold Hollow Cider Mill, Littleton Grist Mill and my personal "do not miss" Chutters General Store. Chutter is listed in the Guiness Book of World Records for having the "World's Longest Candy Counter".

The list above only scratches the surface of all that is available to you from our hotel. I hope you will come back soon to relax, rejuvenate and explore the very best of Northern New Hampshire and Vermont.

Until your next visit...safe travels!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johnsbury, Vermont, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I sprung for the Presidential suite for my new bride and myself after a beautiful July wedding, we are local but didn't want to go home with the kids. The room was great and well worth it. Luxury in little old Vermont.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
CONGRATULATIONS ON YOUR WEDDING!!! Thank you so much for letting us be a part of your special day. I was glad to hear you enjoyed your wedding night with us. Our Presidential Suite is unlike any hotel room I've ever seen (large sitting area, two-sided fireplace, and Roman whirlpool tub). We are in the process of an exciting remodeling project for both our Presidential and Vice-Presidential Suite. Both rooms are amazing and will only be enhanced by our new design. The "newly reinvented" rooms will be available before the snow starts to fly. We hope you will come back for your anniversary night. Please take a minute to print and save your review along with my response. Contact me directly next year and we'll work something out to celebrate your anniversary.

Again, congratulations on your wedding. We'll look forward to seeing you next year if not sooner.

Until then...safe travels.

Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 703 US Route 5 South, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Saint Johnsbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Saint Johnsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award-winning hotel is located in the heart of Vermont's majestic Northeast Kingdom. The Comfort Inn & Suites is Northern New England's best year-round vacation destination. Recent improvements include fully remodeled guest rooms, pool area, 42 inch flat-screen televisions, and an updated breakfast room. Complimentary hot breakfast is served each morning. The hotel's guests also enjoy the large fitness center, whirlpool and heated indoor saltwater pool. Vacation packages with Burke Mountain, Cannon Mountain, Bretton Woods, Jay Peak, Kingdom Trails and Santa's Village are available seasonally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Saint Johnsbury
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Saint Johnsbury
Saint Johnsbury Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.