We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   703 US Route 5 South, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Saint Johnsbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed here the night before a trip up to Jay Peak to ride. It's right off the highway. The staff are helpful, and the whole building seems very well maintained. The pool and the gym are nice as well.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and posting a review on Tripadvisor. We LOVE our skiers! I'm thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel and staff. My team and I work incredibly hard to consistently offer New England's best ski and stay packages. Regular season ski and stay prices for this year's package is $189.99 and includes your overnight accommodation, hot breakfast and TWO lift tickets to either Burke Mountain, Jay Peak or Cannon Mountain. We hope to see you again real soon. HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

Safe travels...
Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    115
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
172
118
21
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Suite was lovely. The service was friendly. And the breakfast was fabulous! Carol, who runs the breakfast, is outstanding. As is her food!
We and our 3-year-old stayed there a night, and it was just great.
We'd thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and posting a review on TripAdvisor. I will pass you comments along to my team members. Carol does a fantastic job on a daily basis. With her help, we are expanding our breakfast offerings in 2013. We have some new items that will ensure that everyone starts the day off right. We hope to see you again in the future.

Safe travels and Happy New Year!!!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were driven here on a state trooper's recommendation after getting in a car accident a few miles north of the city. A bit expensive for hikers, but they were very understanding about our situation and gave us a heavy discount on the second night after things didn't work out for us. It had a great pool and fitness centre, so we weren't bored staying there, but the real highlight was the staff. The breakfast ambassador really made us feel at home, and went well out of her way to see we were well fed and rested given our limited budget. She really deserved the employee of the year award, and I'd like to stop by next time just to say hi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your experience on Facebook. The hotel's staff and I were more than happy to help you out during your time of need. We were just happy that you and your friend were safe and relatively unharmed from your accident. We enjoyed having you attend our holiday luncheon. It is rare for our guests to get to experience the behind the scenes family atmosphere that we are blessed to work in. I have shared your kind comments with Carol. As you know, she was awarded the "Employee of the Year" award at our holiday event. This is the second consecutive year that she has earned this award. We'll hope to see you again in the future under better circumstances.

Safe travels...
Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have stayed at the Comfort Inn & Suites of St-Johnsbury at least 6 times over the past 10 years, and each time the hotel is as fresh and clean as the day it opened. I love the large, warm, inviting lobby where one can sit and read. Rooms are spacious with a sofa settee, easy chair, and chairs around a work table, so if you have 4 persons in the room you don't have to be lounging on the beds. Add in the convenience of a small in-room fridge and microwave...and you can avail yourself of their lobby shop and snack in your room and watch tv and not have to go out again after a long day on the road. As a previous poster mentioned, the indoor pool and whirlpool are presently being renovated and come back on-line later this month, but I can attest from past visits the water was warm and it was an inviting locale by which to spend an hour and rejuvenate. Great morning breakfast that is constantly being replenished...the mini-omelettes with cheese, sausage, bacon, pastries, fruit, juice, yogourt...more than enough variety to satisfy everybody in the family. Whenever my travels take me to Vermont's Northeast Kingdom, the Comfort Inn is my one and only choice.

Room Tip: Second floor allows you the option of using the central lobby staircase to go up and down if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for repeatedly staying with us and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I really appreciate all your kind comments and will share your feedback with my team members. The pool area has reopened and is better than ever. We'll look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Until then...safe travels!
Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We found the hotel to be nice. Breakfast served every morning with waffles, bacon, sausage, and real maple syrup. You don't find that in many hotels! The hotel has a indoor pool, sauna and hot tub, although the jets were not all working in the tub, but it looks as though they were going to shut down the pool center to do a facelift on the facility.

I would say that this is the best place to stay while you are in the Northeast Kingdom.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and then posting a review on TripAdvisor. THANK YOU for recognizing the effort we have put into offering a quality breakfast. We understand that we can't be everything to everyone, but that doesn't stop us from trying! Our goal on a daily basis is to set the standard that other hotels must follow. Most recently, we have started offering a gluten free menu for our guests with dietary restrictions. Our guests asked for it and we took steps to make sure everyone can enjoy a healthy start to their day. Our hotel is twelve years old and we are regularly making improvements. Starting December 3rd we will be closing down our entire pool area. We have several exciting improvements planned. I don't want to ruin the surprises, but I'll be sure to post images on TripAdvisor of the area once all the work is completed. The pool area is scheduled to reopen just before Christmas.

Safe travels,
Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, RI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Cannot think of anything negative to say about this hotel. We love it! A lovely pool and jacuzzi, great complimentary breakfast unlike anywhere else we've been which includes individually made waffles, baked goods, cereals, juice, coffee, bacon, sausage, egg. Spacious rooms and deliciously comfy beds. What's not to like!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and posting a review on TripAdvisor. Being referred to as "The Best" really means a lot to us. We strive to be "the best" hotel in both Vermont and New Hampshire everyday. Knowing that we exceeded your expectations...is awesome!

Safe travels...hope to see you again real soon.

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The Comfort Inn in St. J's VT is a fantastic hotel located in the NE Kingdom of VT. Staff was very helpful, rooms are clean and spacious and the breakfast was very good. The location is excellent as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for staying at our hotel and posting a review on TripAdvisor. My team members and I will celebrate your review referring to us both as "Excellent" and "Fantastic". It is certainly hard to top those two adjectives. Please know that all reveiws are incredibly important to us but your review meant a lot.

Hope to see you again real soon. Until then...safe travels.

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 703 US Route 5 South, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Saint Johnsbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Saint Johnsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award-winning hotel is located in the heart of Vermont's majestic Northeast Kingdom. The Comfort Inn & Suites is Northern New England's best year-round vacation destination. Recent improvements include fully remodeled guest rooms, pool area, 42 inch flat-screen televisions, and an updated breakfast room. Complimentary hot breakfast is served each morning. The hotel's guests also enjoy the large fitness center, whirlpool and heated indoor saltwater pool. Vacation packages with Burke Mountain, Cannon Mountain, Bretton Woods, Jay Peak, Kingdom Trails and Santa's Village are available seasonally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Saint Johnsbury
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Saint Johnsbury
Saint Johnsbury Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.