We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To expensive for what it is!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Anthony's Diner

Anthony's Diner
50 Railroad St, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819
802-748-3613
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Peacham, Vermont
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“To expensive for what it is!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I'm from St. J, and Anthony's has gone through several owners. It used to be great (best burgers and milkshakes around!) but I've been really disappointed with it since I moved back to town. My husband and I live around the corner, and we were looking forward to having such a good diner close by. Based on our experiences I don't think we will ever go there again. The breakfast we had with a friend was just not good (rubbery eggs, basic home fries) and extortionately expensive for the area. We recently moved here from NYC, and our breakfast at Anthony's cost us what it would have in Manhattan... crazy! We've been for dinner twice and both times the fries have been so soggy as to be inedible and the sandwiches and soups basic at best (and again, Manhattan prices). Sorry Anthony's, but we're not coming back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    56
    25
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Three months and two trIps later still dreaming of the pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Lying in bed thinking about our last few trips and the best Pie award goes to Anthony's Diner in a tiny Vermont drive-by town. All the food was excellent (meat loaf, hot turkey sandwich) but the pies (we over-ordered because we were stunned) were the stuff of dreams. Lived two years in Paris and decades in Asia so we've had our share of great food. And Anthony's is a stand-out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedalia, Missouri
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“a little disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Very common and kinda pricey, but like all the hotels and everything else in town in t hat respect! Waitresses were just great though!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We had breakfast at Anthony's after spending the night in St. Johnsbury and it was awesome. All the food was great. The pancakes and bacon were great and my wife loved her oatmeal. Service with a smile!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I stopped on our way to Westmore. It was a very nice place for breakfast. The portions were a decent size. The coffee was great too. Our wait staff was very nice and always there to top off our coffee. Always nice to have a full cup :).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anthony's Diner also viewed

Saint Johnsbury, Northeast Kingdom
Saint Johnsbury, Northeast Kingdom
 
Saint Johnsbury, Northeast Kingdom
Saint Johnsbury, Northeast Kingdom
 

Been to Anthony's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anthony's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.