We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just not clean or maintained” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area to your Saves list
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 US Route 7 South, Rutland, VT 05701 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Rutland - Killington)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Newtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Just not clean or maintained”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Trash under bed, hair in bathroom. Traveling companion was moved without notice to a different room due to "plumbing issues" in nearby room. Companion later complained of having been "bitten by bugs" in original room, so draw your own conclusion.

Room Tip: Stay away from the "400" wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI0639, General Manager at Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. My team & I take feedback very serious, and I apologize that we did not meet up to your expectations. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not a happy stay, as we strive to give our best. I hope you are able to give us another chance to show you that we can provide a clean room, and can meet a guest's need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    101
    75
    38
    32
See reviews for
81
104
36
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at a few Red Roofs across the country and they are always a great value. We came to Vermont for the weekend to ski in the area and this hotel was perfect. It's about a 15 minute drive to Pico/Killington and everything you would need was nearby. There is a Denny's next door, a Hannaford grocery across the street & a Dunkin Donuts just down the road. The room was your average hotel room but clean and big enough. The free breakfast is not so great but if your just looking to grab a banana and get on the slopes it does the job. We didn't use the pool but we did go check it out and it looked clean and the pool area was also well kept. Check in was fast and easy and all the staff we interacted with we're friendly. We would definitely stay again if we're in the area. Recommend to anyone looking for a clean place to crash after a day of skiing.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI0639, General Manager at Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you were happy with your stay, and that the staff you met were able to help you and they were friendly. It is always nice to hear clean, comfortable, great value, for your money. I hope you come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

It's great for a Red Roof Inn. The rooms were fairly nice, everything was clean and worked properly, and its very convenient to Pico and Killington. There was a breakfast and also a pool, but both were kind of gross. The towels needed to be retired, and our bed wasn't the best, but we made due. If you don't mind a little mileage on your room, and you get a good price, stay here. Don't expect anything extravagant, but it's great for a Red Roof.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI0639, General Manager at Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. I am glad your stay was convenient to the ski slopes, and that your room was clean and all the amenities were in working condition. All feedback is critical, good and also things you would like to see a change in, such as the pool and the towels. I will take your comments back to my team. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We just returned from 4 nights at the Red Roof Inn in Rutland where we stayed while skiing at Killington. We chose this based on the great price plus the fact that it is pet friendly. I think official policy is that you can't leave your dog alone in the room, but if s/he is well behaved and crated while you are out then it should not be a problem. In fact, to avoid any questions we put the "do not disturb" sign on the door during the day and just changed our own towels- it worked out perfectly. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable, plus having a fridge in the room was really convenient. Breakfast (included!) was also very good, the fresh waffles are a highlight.

The hotel is directly on a main road with lots of shops and restaurants which is quite convenient- it was heavily snowing on our last night and we just walked next door to the Denny's for dinner. Our 12-year old loved the pool and sauna, it was nice to be able to stay in for the evening and keep everyone entertained.

Overall a recommended place to stay in the Rutland-Killington area, we saved about $800 staying here versus staying right in Killington for 4 nights. A little less convenient but totally worth it.

Room Tip: If you have a dog the ground floor rooms will be more convenient for taking it out for walks, ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI0639, General Manager at Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic comments. My staff & I are very pleased that your family and pet were able to stay with us. We do allow 1 pet per room, at no extra charge. It was nice to hear you enjoyed alot of the benefits we have, fridge & microwave rooms, fresh waffles, clean room & bathroom, at a great price! We have the indoor pool & dry sauna also, which your daughter loved. It is nice to go away from home and be able to take your pet also, as they are also a part of your family. Looking forward to seeing you again with your pet!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Falls, New Hampshire
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

In August 2012 my husband, 8 year old son and myself stayed here. Our beds were comfortable and room was clean. The pool was fantastic. There were plenty of restaurants/shopping all on the same road but with talking to a pleasant front desk employee we decided on going for dinner downtown. Amazing choice! Breakfast the next morning was hot and delicious. We would gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Nice big king room, very clean bathroom, quiet, warm and housekeeping did a great job. Fresh towels daily and plenty of them. Front desk employees were very nice and amenities were very nice (pool, breakfast) Bed was comfortable and sheets were starched and spotless. No trace of bugs as mentioned in previous review. The only suggestion for improvement would be to go with fresh white cotton duvet instead of the old-timey bedspread. Will definitely come again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Just spent 2 days at this hotel and found it very comfortable and the personnel were very nice. We had a hot breakfast each morning with scrambled eggs and waffles as the offerings. What makes this special is that it was only about $50 a night. We've stayed at more expensive places on our trip that didn't seem nearly as comfortable. I would recommend this place to anyone on a budget!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI0639, Manager at Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about our Red Roof Inn in Rutland, VT. My staff takes great pride to ensure all guests have the best customer service experience possible. I am very glad you enjoyed our full deluxe hot continental breakfast! We hope to create great value for our guests by offering reasonable prices and delighting them with a variety of ammenities. We also have sausage, cereals, juices, and fresh fruit ready for you when you come back and see us again! It's skiing season until the end of March - come back soon to enjoy the beautiful Green Mountains in the winter!

Regards,

Rakhee Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area

Address: 401 US Route 7 South, Rutland, VT 05701 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Rutland - Killington)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Rutland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Rutland - Killington Hotel Rutland
Red Roof Inn Killington
Rutland Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.