We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antique Mansion B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rutland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Antique Mansion B&B
Save
You added Antique Mansion B&B to your Saves list
85 Field Ave, Rutland, VT 05701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Rutland B&B and Inns
ottawa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the Antique Mansion a couple of weeks ago as we were in Rutland Vt. on business.

Sallie greeted us at the door and was just as pleasant as could be. We were introduced to the entire mansion and had a beautiful room ready for us. On the tour of the mansion, a lovely room with a billiard table, large screen tv and other fun items, so we spent the better part of the afternoon enjoying the games.

We went out for dinner and Sallie and Larry were there to greet us when we got back and asked us what we would like for breakfast. That was lovely as we hace never had that luxury at other b&b's. We told then and they asked what time we would like to have breakfast and in the morning it was ready and served very well.

We had a great chat with the owners and will not hesitate to return when the weather is warmer and take advantage of the golf courses in Rutland and the lovely hospitality of Sallie and Larry again. We would not hesitate for a minute to recommend this beautiful property

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    1
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
25
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Sally made us sandwiches when we got in late, made me feel at home while I was hanging out alone in the living room, and gave us a ride to the town at the end of the trip. The house is beautiful and the country club across the street was great for taking a walk. Sally told us that the downstairs bedroom's bathroom was across the hall, but the set up is a bit awkward with folding screens so go for an upstairs room if you can. She was very flexible about the time for breakfast which is unusual and really great.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Housed in a beautiful and historic house, Sally, the Owner, provides cozy Vermont accommodations and serves a wonderful breakfast. Sally is engaging but not intrusive. Coffee station with cookies available anytime. Convenient location. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here over the Thanksgiving holiday for 3 nights. From the first conversation with Sallie on the phone to our good-byes on Sunday, everything about our stay was pleasant, comfortable and charming. I really liked how personal she made the experience. For example, other bnbs I've stayed at have a specific time for breakfast each day. Instead, Sallie asked us to let her know when we'd liked to have breakfast each day. She even said if we didn't know, just text her in the morning. Another is that even arriving late around 9:30 PM, she was there to greet us and show us around the mansion. Because the larger rooms were taken already, she offered us the back upstairs room and closed off the corridor during the night. That was really awesome because we felt like we had a huge suite to ourselves at night with the full size bathroom across the hall, the rec room with a pool table and big screen TV, private staircase and side entrance. The barn kitties were adorable and playing the harpsichord in the drawing room was really a unique thing to me.
Thanks Sallie! Hope to stay there again next time we visit our friend!
-Tom from East Village NYC

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed here with my parents and thoroughly enjoyed the historic mansion and the owner, Sallie, who is very friendly and helpful! It's in a good location and Sallie was very flexible to meet our needs.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stopped there on my way to Boston by bike. My bedroom was great, the living room is perfect and the breakfast was delightful. Location is good, as it is walking distance from the center of the city. And the host is very friendly.

Perfect spot if you bike around the region!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My husband, daughter, and I stayed there one night before we dropped our daughter off at camp & then my husband and I stayed there another 2 nights. It is a lovely bed and breakfast in a beautiful historic home. Sallie is lovely, interesting, and personable. She was always willing to help with suggestions for interesting and beautiful places to go and told us about the history of the property and Rutland. She prepared us fabulous breakfasts and made sure to accommodate our daughter's lactose intolerance the night she was with us. Every day she left cookies, tea, and coffee in the library.

We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone. It was very relaxing and helped to make our trip pleasant and memorable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antique Mansion B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antique Mansion B&B

Address: 85 Field Ave, Rutland, VT 05701
Location: United States > Vermont > Rutland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rutland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique Mansion B&B is a classic Bed and Breakfast operating in an Italianate Victorian mansion in a central Vermont city, Rutland Vermont. Rooms are spacious and offer private bathrooms, WiFi, satellite TV. Breakfast and parking are included in the price of an overnight stay. Peaceful, quiet ambience on 4 scenic acres, yet just one mile from downtown Rutland which offers restaurants, Paramount Theater, museums, spas, antiquing, historic attractions. Amtrak train and regional air service nearby. Easy walk to golf and other recreation. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antique Mansion B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.