We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Poor Security - Teenagers and Others Roaming Halls - Aovid this Place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   476 Holiday Drive, US Route 7 South, Rutland, VT 05701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
1,182 helpful votes 1,182 helpful votes
“Very Poor Security - Teenagers and Others Roaming Halls - Aovid this Place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

At check-in on a Saturday night, was greated by a security guard. Initially, did not know if that was a good thing (i.e., a very security orientated hotel) or a sign that the hotel had problems. Much to my regret I learned that there were security problems. Hotel was overrun by unruly teenagers and others, and guard did not bother to check hallways. There were a lot of noisy parties going on throughout the hotel. When I mentioned this to the front desk at checkout, the woman at the desk said that they had received a lot of complaints! (However, she did not indicate that the hotel was doing anything to remedy the situation.

Also, the hallways smelled of smoke and weed. A bunch of the "guests" were gathered in the back of the hotel smoking up. And the back door entrance way to hotel was propped open so that anyone could enter the hallways. I travel alot, including to larger cities and more economically depressed areas; thus, I found it ironic that I was more concerned about security here at a ski area than in my other travels.

Room was nice; good, comfortable bed, but housekeeping left something to be desired:

1. Dead bug on the lampshade on the desk.
2. One of the lamps by the bed did not work
3. Carpets needed a better cleaning

There was a large pool and two hot tubs, but I was so skeeved out about the "guests" wandering the hallways that I was afraid to venture out of my room. Several times someone pounded at more door at night, and there were sounds all night in the hallways.

My recommendation would be to look at another hotel until security is improved here.

Room Tip: Try to get a low number 101 - 110 room which is closer to lobby and prehaps safer. My room number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    74
    65
    32
    12
See reviews for
81
57
15
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the HI in Rutland in January 2012. We were in town for business. I'd recommend saving your $$ for a real breakfast at one of the local restaurants if you can afford the time. Otherwise, it's an average breakfast with typical fare. Interesting layout of hotel made finding the restaurant a bit tricky (had to go through the indoor pool area). Our room was not cleaned, but the hotel was quick to respond when we brought it to their attention. It was quiet though, which was delightful. However, you could smell the smoke from "smoker-friendly" halls nearby.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012 via mobile

Does the job

Came here to go skiing at killington. Stayed next door last time but thought I'd give this one a go given the larger pool area and more extensive breakfast (Standard bacon and eggs). With kids, I wanted to get these amenities at the hotel rather than go out for it. 

The hotel was full with skiers and horrible karaoke singers (people still do that?). Luckily our room was far away from that area. Upon coming in, we took the nearest door to our room on the back of the property and accidentally came through the smoking wing. I have very mild asthma but the smoke from the hallway made me gag. The instant I got out into the non smoking wing (separated by a heavy door) the air was instantly clear. 

Our first room had a malfunctioning heater. Having arrived after a three hour drive with the kids, it was way past bedtime.  The manager sent up someone to fix it and within ten minutes he was there. After realizing that it wasn't going to be a quick job, about another ten minutes, they promptly got us another room. Kudos to the staff, particularly the maintenance man who clearly took pride in his work. 

Our room was decorated in typical Holiday Inn style, with multiple pillows firmnesses to choose from, Bath and Body Works toiletries.  Those are the only real high points. The  hotel and amenities are really very worn. Wifi connection was overwhelmed by the number of users and very slow. 

The kids liked this hotel for the food and pool. I think the place could use some refreshing. Add that to the great staff, and they'd be a real competitor. Until then, I don't think I will be back.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

My wife and I and 2 kids(10,12) wanted to Ski Killington, but to stay in Killington the prices were very high. So we decided to stay 25 minutes away from the mountain at the Holiday Inn Express in Rutland, Vermont. The rooms were clean and basic, 2 double beds.Also had a fridge and microwave. The indoor pool was awesome.We joined the Holiday Inn point club(its free to join)(a no brainer) and got free buffet breakfasts for all of us for the few days we stayed there, unbelievable!! Many restaurants nearby.The workers were fine, had no issues at this place.With $86 lift tickets at Killington Mountain, this place enabled us to afford to ski at that mountain.We saved alot of money staying here!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We were there for the weekend and really we had a great time there. The staff is very helpful and polite. The rooms are spacious,cosy and clean.The king size bed was just awesome. The breakfast was fantastic and the pool area was very nice. You can really relax and completely recover after a hard day on the slopes.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton, Western Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed at this hotel en route to New Hampshire - and we liked it - staff were helpful, and the hotel itself is warm and inviting. Kids loved the heated pool and had a great time in there after a long drive. Breakfast was superior to the HIExp we often stay at. Had to shower with water barely luke warm which was almost torture, but otherwise a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurong, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

We were on a weekend skiing trip to the Killington skifields. Check-in was efficient and front desk staff very pleasant and helpful. Rooms (we had two) were clean and within the standards expected of IHG hotel chain. Ample parking space and well away from the main road. Staff of this hotel are attentive, very polite and greeted us whenever we see them. For example, one of our rooms had an issue with the shower curtains and it was rectified prompty!!! Swimming pool was well heated and it was great to take a quick swim, followed by a nice hot "soak" in the two jacuzzi tubs beside the pool. Excellent amenities, shopping and restaurants (please try out Table 24 - really great food and children friendly!) near this hotel. The best thing about this place is the hot and yummy pan-cake (served with authentic Vermont's natural maple syrup - heated!) breakfast - complimentary! Our only grumble is that this HI did not offer us any upgrade, despite being Priorty Club Platinum members. We loved the HI at Hyannis (Cape Cod) as we were given an upgrade, with all other facilities and fantastic staff service being equal to this HI at Rutland. Nevertheless, we still give the Thumbs up!

Room Tip: This HI did not offer upgrade to Platinum Priority Club members
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington

Address: 476 Holiday Drive, US Route 7 South, Rutland, VT 05701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Rutland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington Hotel. Ideally situated on Route 7 in Rutland, Vermont, minutes from downtown, the Holiday Inn affords you the convenience of a short drive to Vermont's most popular attractions such as ski areas Killington, Pico and Okemo, Manchester Center, Adams Farm, Vermont Marble Exhibit, New England Maple Museum, and historic villages like Rutland, Woodstock and Weston, just to name a few. If you are planning a meeting, wedding, motor coach tour, reunion or other gathering, the Conference Center is perfect for groups from 20 to 400. Our hotel banquet and catering staff's outstanding service & attention to detail, makes us a favorite in the Rutland area. For breakfast, lunch or dinner, Paynter's Restaurant offers an extensive menu for any appetite in a casual atmosphere where Kids Eat Free. Centre Stage Lounge serves a variety of fare and boasts 5 TV's so your are guaranteed not to miss a sports game. When you're away from home, you can continue your exercise regime in the Rutland hotel s Fitness Club, complete with Paramount equipment. Unwind in our indoor heated pool, two whirlpools and sauna and enjoy poolside refreshments and light dining or relax by the fireplace in the hotel lobby and take advantage of our complimentary high-speed wireless internet or business center. Businesses near the hotel: GE, OMYA, STO Corp, Carris Reels, Casella, Kalow Technologies, Killington, Okemo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington Hotel Rutland
Rutland Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.