We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Attentive Staff, Excellent Rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Trolley Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Trolley Square to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Allen Street, Rutland, VT 05701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Upstate NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Value, Attentive Staff, Excellent Rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The level of service stands out at this hotel. The staff is considerate and goes out of their way to provide superior service. The free breakfast is above average, and the rooms are up to date and clean. Parking at night can be tight, but I always managed to find a space. Location is ideal, right in the middle of the business district and close to shopping and restaurants. A real find.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is quiet and close to the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn Trolley Square, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your great comments, they are very much appreciated! We strive to have all of our guests enjoy their stay with us. We are known as "The Friendliest Hotel in Rutland" !! My staff and myself try to treat our guests as if they were gusest in our own home.
We look forward to you staying with us again!! Thank you, Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    61
    52
    23
    15
See reviews for
44
53
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Good value under $60 with a full hot breakfast. We had a twin queen room with a frige and a microwave. The only complant was the size of the bathroom

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkCindy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Trolley Square, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write about our hotel! It was nice to hear that you enjoyed our NEW Hot Breakfast Items!! We look forward to your return to "The Friendliest Hotel in Rutland"! Have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

On the road and needed a place to stay at the last minute. Used a coupon so it was very reasonable. A NICE hotel. Good beds, clean. We had a king room so there was a desk and chair and a comfy chair. The bathroom was small and a bit awkward . Pool area looked nice. Breakfast was better than most.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkCindy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Trolley Square, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for writing in! It is always nice to hear from our guests. As you mentioned we now have added more "Hot Breakfast items." Looking forward to your next visit to "The Friendliest Hotel in Rutland!" It is very appreciated. Thank you again from our entire staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many, many times over the past several years.
The rooms are always clean. The staff has always been very helpful, professional, accomodating, etc. Every one from the general manager, the front desk staff, house keeping maintenance, all of them go above and beyond the call. I can't rave about them enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

On a whirlwind weekend hiking tour of the New England area...ended up at the last moment in Rutland, VT...didn't want to overpay for a simple place to sleep - but also wanted a decent room. For the price, we were delightfully surprised to have a very clean, bright and lovely room. Basic, but nice. Other than a brief mix up with room assignments with another guest...we had no other issues. It was quiet, close enough to the highways to make an easy exit in the morning, a nice continental breakfast and pleasant service. Definetly worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkCindy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Trolley Square, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel! I am pleased you had a nice stay with us. As you mentioned we are a very basic hotel as far as our amenities. We do strive to keep hotel clean as possible and as "FRIENDLY" as possible.
All of our associates are here to help our guests have a great time in Vermont!
Thank you again- it is greatly appreciated!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We have been going to Rutland 3 to 5 times a year for the last 11 years. The first couple of years we stayed at different hotels, Ramada, Redroof to name a few. Ramada was O K, but did not like Redroof. We then tried the Comfort Inn. After our first weekend, we were hooked Let me tll you the positive things about the Comfort Inn. All the staff are very friendly. I admit the rooms are not new, but are clean and comfortable. You can't beat the price for what you get. The location is perfect. Every year I see the the same staff working there. That speaks for itself. They are usually the first hotel with all rooms full during the holidays and special events, so book early. Now about the last two reviews. It sounds like they were written by a jealous competitor. I would not be happy if my room was dirty. The staff offered them another room which they declined. Would you let your kids stay in a DIRTY room? I wouldn't. Now for the REAL complaints. When was the last time you heard a staff member complain about about your room rate. What does he care how much you pay. He could get into trouble for saying it. That proves thier prices are excellent. Now, about breakfast. Breakfast is on the 3'rd floor. How disappointing can that be? Were you expecting STEAK and EGGS for breakfast with room service? For the price you pay for your room, you get a very good selection. Some places I have stayed at, continental breakfast was coffee, juice, and donuts. Last item. If your room was over heated, why didn't you lower the heat or turn on the a/c? Each room has its own control.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkCindy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Trolley Square, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for you kind words. It is guests like you that make us proud to come to work each day.

Your exactly right--We may not have the newest hotel in Rutland, but we do strive to keep it clean, affordable, and have everyone enjoy their time with us.

As someone once stated---A building is just a building- its the associates in it-- that makes the difference.

Thanks again- see you soon:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrs, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I've stayed at this Comfort Inn 4 or 5 times over the past 5 years and it was nothing special, but ok. This stay was not good. When I checked-in, it was clear that the guy didn't like the room rate I booked on the Choice Hotels site. The mattress was terrible. The pillows were lumpy. The rug was dirty. The room was overheated. I've got a long drive today and am tired because this hotel couldn't provide the basics.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room and check out the mattress before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkCindy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Trolley Square, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
We greatly appreciate our guests taking the time out of their busy schedule to remark on your stay at the Comfort Inn @ Trolley Square. I apologize for your unpleasant stay.

I only wish you had informed us immediately. We do exercise a 100% guarantee policy. Once we are informed of any issue, it is corrected. Our mattresses are Sealy pillow top, and pillows are brand new. I can say some people either love them or don't. I am not sure what happened with your room. Please rest assure that I personally will look into this.

Once again, we do apologize-Our goal is that all our guests to have a pleasant stay and enjoy the hotel in its entirety. We are known as "The Friendliest Hotel in Rutland" and always strive to live up to motto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Trolley Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Trolley Square

Address: 19 Allen Street, Rutland, VT 05701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Rutland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Trolley Square 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Trolley Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Trolley Square Hotel Rutland
Comfort Inn Rutland
Rutland Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Trolley Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.