We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grey Gables Mansion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Richford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grey Gables Mansion
Save
You added Grey Gables Mansion to your Saves list
122 River St., Richford, VT 05476   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Richford
Sterling, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at the beautiful Grey Gables Mansion on July 12-14. It is a lovely, well-maintained property with impeccable hosts Deb and Tim Green and their excellent dog, Heinz. We arrived in the late afternoon on Saturday and were greeted by Deb when we entered. She showed us our room and Tim arrived home shortly thereafter and helped us get settled in.

Our room was a double with a private bath. The room had air conditioning and a ceiling fan which were very welcome since it was over 90 degrees every day that we were there. There is a beautiful wrap around porch on the front of the house facing the river where we sat each evening relaxing with the wine and cheese that we brought. Tim was the breakfast cook and the meals that he prepared were fresh and tasty. Each breakfast had fresh cut fruit, yogurt, muffins, and then a varied main course including pancakes, omlets and french toast. All nicely prepared, nicely served, and very tasty.

Our trip to Richford was recreational for kayaking and hiking, both of which are plentiful and very close by. We stayed at the Grey Gables three nights to give two full days of recreation.
We were steered to the Grey Gables by the Northern Forest Canoe Trail association. It was a great find. The Missisquoi river flowed through the park directly across the street from the inn. We carried our kayaks across the road and were able to embark on an unimpeded 15 mile trip downstream to Enosburg Falls. We also hiked the Long Trail over Jay Peak one day which is a moderately challenging, but friendly hike. Grey Gables was very reasonably priced which would also make it an excellent alternative to the Jay Peak expensive condos and townhouses for skiers and golfers.

There is very little to Richford, but we were able to travel about 10 miles to Montgomery for some good dinner choices. Tim is heavily involved in some economic development efforts in Richford to try to stimulate commerce and jobs in the town. The countryside immediately around Richford is mostly dairy farms. A little farther east are the Green Mountains and the ski resort of Jay Peak.

Nice place and we would return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sparta, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

First, let me begin by saying that the individual responsible for the only review that does not give five stars (which was written in 2005) could not be more off base. Without addressing every detail, I can confidently say that review should simply be disregarded.

Anyway, where shall I begin? I have no words to express how truly phenomenal our experience was this past weekend at Grey Gables! After learning Jay Peak had just gotten three feet of snow, my boyfriend and a friend of ours booked a last minute weekend here for a place to stay while not on the mountain from open to close. Tim and Debbie accomodated us in every way possible. They did everything from staying up late to greet us upon our arrival (near midnight), to preparing breakfast especially early so we could catch first tracks, to wrapping our left over dinners so we would have something to eat on our seven hour drive home Sunday night.

They offered local advice for where to eat, popular activities during other seasons and warmly invited us to return any time. Their beautiful dog, Heinz, was incredibly friendly and really contributed to how at home we felt. This was both my boyfriend's and my first bed and breakfast experience (not just together but in our lives) and it certainly set the bar high! I cannot recommend this place enough, for both couples and friends, and we will stay there any time we return for boarding at Jay Peak. Thank you so much Debbie and Tim, we can't wait to come back!

P.S. What everyone says about the breakfasts is beyond true-hands down best morning meals we've ever had.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Back in mid-September we did a spur-of-the-moment bike trip to explore the Missiquoi Valley Rail Trail and the side routes surrounding it. We used the Grey Gables Mansion as our home base for the daily rides. The Inn was comfortable and clean. The morning breakfast was gourmet and generous. Debbie and Tim, the innkeepers, were warm and inviting. The room rate was reasonably priced. Our experience was a good one and we will go back again. Very glad that we discovered the Grey Gables! Mary C. and Jack

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Grey Gables Mansion is less like staying at an inn and more like visiting your sister and her husband - and I mean the sister you like and get along with. The innkeepers Debbie & Tim's warm hospitality was a welcome surprise even in an industry where expectations of personal attention are already high. The huge, rambling inn with its rich woodwork and great stained glass windows is comfortably furnished; the beds are soft and comfy with sheets like butter. Debbie's green thumb is evident in the burst of color and variety of flowers and herbs growing on and around the homey front porch. Coming back from dinner to find a warm fire to relax around was a treat; the breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented. Should you want to stay at a quintessential New England country inn among the beauty of rural Vermont, the Grey Gables Mansion is warmly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent time in Richford visiting family, a potentially stressful visit, and being able to come "home" to the mansion every evening was a major relief. We are grateful to Tim and Deb for their kindness and generosity (they offered us a second, un-reserved room to help me with my husband's snoring problem), and those breakfasts! Absolutely essential to our busy days. Thanks, Tim and Deb, and darling Heinz, for your lovely oasis of an inn!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanbornton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We visited Richford on Valentine Day weekend and stayed at the Grey Gables Mansion. We love the place and the greeter Heinz. Tim and Debbie are great host. We have made resrvation for the July 4th weekend. Great place and great food.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay at Grey Gables. My girlfriend and I went for a small ski vacation in Vermont and chose this B&B after reading the reviews and reasonable price. We weren't disappointed. Tim and Deb were the best hosts ever. Such warm and friendly people. The breakfasts alone were worth the price of admission. Location was perfect for us. Room was outstanding. I honestly can't find a fault with our experience. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grey Gables Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Gables Mansion

Address: 122 River St., Richford, VT 05476
Location: United States > Vermont > Richford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Richford
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Grey Gables Mansion Richford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grey Gables Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.