We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable home, friendly hosts, incredible food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bennett's 1815 House

Bennett's 1815 House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reading
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bennett's 1815 House
Save
You added Bennett's 1815 House to your Saves list
37 Route 44, Reading, VT   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Reading B&B and Inns
Texas
1 review
“Comfortable home, friendly hosts, incredible food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

Easy to find location in the charming Vermont countryside. I enjoyed the comfortable room and gracious hospitality at this history B&B. Peter's Seedhouse Cafe is a hidden gem serving the greatest meals in the area. I recommend the eggs benedict for breakfast and the seared scallops for dinner, but the inventive menu changes weekly. You can't go wrong with any choice. Peter makes sure of that. Be sure to save room for Karen's homemade desserts.
The outdoor adventure opportunities are plentiful. Ask Karen to direct you to them. I spent a lovely afternoon kayaking on the Connecticut River. Travel with your own boat or use a friendly local outfitters.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

We didn't actually stay in the Bennett's house because we discovered it the night before we left Vermont. However, we had a wonderful dinner that night in the Bennetts' Seedhouse Cafe, and we would love to stay there the next time we come to Vermont. The host is genial and a great cook, and took pains to make sure we were satisfied with our meals, which we felt were very good value for the money. We would highly recommend this place. great people; great place; great food.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

Karen and Peter Bennett will make you feel entirely at home in their charming B & B, not far from Ascutney Mountain in Vermont. Peter's dinners are excellent, and Karen made me an absolutely fabulous omelet on the 2nd morning of my stay. I invited her to sit with me while I ate it and got an enlightening education on affairs in Africa and the Middle East, as well as instruction on how to build a sand water filter in a large metal drum. (She has worked as a civil engineer all over the globe.)

If you're familiar with Peter Champoux's book "The Gaia Matrix," I can attest that there is strongly positive and seductive energy around Ascutney Mountain. It's in a part of Vermont that I enjoyed exploring greatly during my short stay at the Bennetts' and to which I have returned since to explore even more.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

We chanced upon the 1815 House on the web while looking for a place in the area for a couple of nights. The reviews were good, the house had a great backstory and the cafe brought the added bonus of built-in good food. We were not disappointed! Karen and Peter were very accommodating, the room was very reasonable, and we really enjoyed talking to them.

A lot of inns in this area can be, shall we say, stuffy? Some may look for that in a B&B, but it's not for us. Their house has a welcome, homey vibe, the kind of place you where you feel like you're hanging out with good friends in their kitchen (oh wait-- you are!). The property is lovely too.

We didn't get to try their lunch and dinner menu (oh well, next time), but we did enjoy Karen's homemade ice creams and blueberry pie (berries right out of the garden). The sundaes are amazing. Cafe has the same relaxed, homey vibe as the house. Our first night there they were trying out an open mic night with talented local musicians. It was nice to hang with some ice cream and a pint of Long Trail.

Love the place, recommend it, and we'll definitely be back with friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

Staying with Karen, Peter and their lovely cats and dog was very nice. The breakfast and dinner was amazing and our room was so quiet and restful. The Seedhouse Cafe was warm and cozy, excellent food and great local brews. We enjoyed local antiquing, dining, and a winter sleigh rally. The sleigh rally was delightful to watch as dogs and their owners were pulled along the snowy field by horses adorned with bells. We also enjoyed visiting the VIN Nature Center. We purchased some tasty treats in town like maple syrup and some locally made cheeses. We ended our stay with a magical one hour personal sleigh ride through fields and woods. There are lots of near-by winter sports and hiking to partake in as well. Let Peter and Karen be your host for your next visit to Reading, Vermont!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

MY boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay at Bennett's. Everything was perfect- the working fireplace in the bedroom, to the farm fresh delicious made to order breakfasts ( local bacon smoked like I've never tasted before- amazing!), and the beautiful Vermont winter wonderland scenery. We also had a fabulous dinner at the Seedhouse Cafe, which is attached to the B&B. Great food, beer on tap and homemade ice cream and freshly baked breads. yum! It's very close to Woodstock, which is a cute little town and there is a lot to do in the area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2008

This city woman has a few things to say about country Inns. Bennett's 1815 House is like going to my imagionary Grandmothers house. The house is full of old things, books (lots of them), toys in my room, landscape art, and cupboards full of Grandma's china. My bedroom was comfortable. I slept deeply because the silence of the country was more refreshing than medication. The house sits back from a crossroad with meadow views. Big trees on the lawn that both shadow and profile on a big sky. Did I say there was a brook out back? And, the food...plenty, tastefull, and creative. All homecooked in the Seedhouse Cafe kitchen. We wished for an additional bathroom. For pet lovers there is a loving dog and two shy cats.

  • Liked — It's not your corporate experience. It's all about home.
  • Disliked — I'de like another bathroom upstairs.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bennett's 1815 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bennett's 1815 House

Address: 37 Route 44, Reading, VT
Location: United States > Vermont > Reading
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bennett's 1815 House is a small historic B&B in central Vermont 13 miles south of Woodstock. Two sunny rooms each with fireplace, double bed, shared sitting room and bath. Full breakfast included. Situated on 7 acres of woodland, field and brook for you to enjoy. Fine dining restaurant also on the property. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bennett's 1815 House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.