We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful way to plan a reunion!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parker House Inn and Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quechee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parker House Inn and Restaurant
Save
You added Parker House Inn and Restaurant to your Saves list
1792 Quechee Main Street, Quechee, Hartford, VT 05059   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Quechee B&B and Inns
Delaware, OH
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to plan a reunion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2006

July 2006
Six of us (and spouses) who have known each other since grade school put together a mini-reunion in July with the help of Alex and Adam and had a wonderful time – what an easy way to do a reunion! The morning began with Adam’s really, good pancakes on the porch, and twice we were treated to a hot-air balloon lift off above the river right in front of us – rides can be arranged through Adam.

After breakfast the group went in all directions – golfing, canoeing, biking, shopping (we visited the local markets selling maple sugar products and the shops in Hanover, NH just 20 minutes away). Adam suggested lunch next door at the Simon Pierce glass factory/store/restaurant, and we liked the food so much we ate there twice.

A husband and wife team, Adam runs the Inn and Alex “owns” the kitchen. With a staff of 14, someone’s always available to assist with a fresh pot of coffee, directions to take you anywhere, recommendations for restaurants, activities, shopping – just ask. But be sure to make reservations for dinner at the Inn (they don’t serve lunch) because Alex creates meals that mustn’t be missed - she and her staff do a spectacular job (check the menu on their webpage). Twelve of us were seated together on the porch for dinner with only the best from beginning to end – including the wine!

Good friends, good food, good times - we think you’ll agree!

  • Liked — Atmosphere and service
  • Tips/Secrets — Great meal fare from 2-5 next door at the Simon Pierce restaurant.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    12
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
15
47
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2006

My better half and I spent last weekend at the Parker House. Adam and Alex are the ultimate hosts. The inn is so warm, inviting, and elegant in a non-fussy way. We arrived later than planned and were treated to an excellent meal at the bar. After 8 hours of sleep in a beautifully appointed room (with complementary wireless internet - love that!), we were treated to more of Adam's hospitality - a stack of newspapers, piping hot coffee and eventually a delicious country breakfast. A few hours of sightseeing, we were back for cocktails and great conversation, a quick nap and another excellent meal. Dinners, like the inn itself, were elaborate but not intimidating or fussy. Experience couldn't have been better ....

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2005

We have stayed at this delightful inn twice now in the last few months. Our first visit was just before Valentine's Day and what a beautiful getaway it was. The inn is actually a mansion, and our room was the former master bedroom. Massive, with its own changing room and attached bathroom. Plush bathrobes, beautiful linens and a huge bed were perfect for our romantic weekend. The food was fantastic, I'd describe it as french country cooking. The place is pet friendly so we brought our beagle too. We returned in late spring and found the same-our beautiful room, charming, chic hosts, fantastic food, and a great location to Woodstock, Hanover, etc. Will definitley return!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2005

This newly renovated inn in Quechee, Vermont is an ideal place from which to explore this beautiful area. The inn owners are very friendly and hospitable and the dining room is outstanding. Worth the trip from NY!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2005

I am a returning guest to the Parker House Inn, where I continue to experience the elegance, charm and harmonious atmosphere created by owner/hosts Alexandra and Adam Adler. I find myself drawn back repeatedly to a place that provides complete comfort, friendly ambiance and creative and absolutely excellent cuisine. I generally request the large front room which is expansive, airy and beautifully appointed with period furniture, antiques and includes a dressing room and newly renovated bathroom. All the beds and bedding are new--luxurious and very comfortable. Indeed, all the rooms and the entire inn have been recently refurbished by Alex and Adam, the young, energetic new owners of this grand old mansion. I can't praise them or the experience they consistently provide highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2005

My husband and I just got married at the beginning of June. We are a young couple just starting out and trying to get on our feet and were not able to have a wedding celebration as we would have liked. However, we had heard wonderful things about Queechee and decided to go for it and spend a weekend there. We randomly chose the Parker House Inn, not quite sure what to expect. Upon arrival, we immediately felt very welcomed and comfortable. We found the decor extremely inviting and tasteful. It is filled with a beautiful mix of antiques and original art, and has a real French country feel to it. The rooms have reently been renovated with new Pottery Barn bed linens, hard-wood floors and up-to-date bathrooms. And the views of the Queechee River are spectacular!! We did not want to leave!! Especially with such delicious food just a staircase away! Our first night there (and second night!!), we ate in the restaurant, and to our surprise, we were given a complimentary bottle of champagne and a bouquet of local wildflowers in celebration of our marriage. A very thoughtful and warm gesture. The hosts and the ambiance of the Parker House Inn really made for a memorable weekend and we already are booked for another weekend in July!!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2005

I love going to this area of Vermont, and particularly to the historic Parker House Inn, where I've stayed at least four times since it was renovated last year. It is characterized by a wonderful combination of structural formality, beautiful views and inviting casualness (it's pet friendly, for example). The rooms are beautifully appointed, the innkeepers are intelligent and engaging, and I've found the staff to be very personable and attentive, yet unimposing, assuring a positive experience. On top of it all, the restaurant there offers unusually good food and a creative menu that always makes it easy to decide where to have dinner!

Stayed May 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parker House Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker House Inn and Restaurant

Address: 1792 Quechee Main Street, Quechee, Hartford, VT 05059
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Hartford > Quechee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Quechee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surprising, Classic & Unique *Renovated in 2014* Chef owned full-service Inn and modern B&B in a beautifully refreshed 1857 National Historic Register Mansion overlooking the Ottauquechee River. Next to Simon Peace Glassblowing. 2 Minutes to the Quechee Gorge. 15 Min to Lebanon and Hanover NH to 5 min to Woodstock, VT Nestled intimately within the Upper Valley blends New England's traditional charm with contemporary touches and deluxe accommodation Pub, full bar and award winning dining. Savor each morning with a cooked to order full country breakfast included in nightly rate. Wi-Fi and full Quechee Lakes Country Club Access for guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parker House Inn And Restaurant Hotel Quechee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parker House Inn and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.