We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parker House Inn and Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quechee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parker House Inn and Restaurant
Save
You added Parker House Inn and Restaurant to your Saves list
1792 Quechee Main Street, Quechee, Hartford, VT 05059   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Quechee B&B and Inns
ROCKPORT
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The Perfect Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

We've just returned from another perfect getaway at the Parker House and once more every sense has been fed. Especially in winter, what could be better than beginning each day with Adam's delicious made-to-order breakfast and chatting with other relaxed guests or reading in front of the fireplace? Then, after a day enjoying the brilliant Vermont outdoors (and shopping!), we return to the cozy bar for conversation followed by a truly gourmet dinner. Alexandra is a genius in the kitchen and we can't wait to sample her next Bistro creation. I think my favorite is her risotto, (alone or with anything) but she's really never missed taste and visual perfection with any meal.

Then to top off the day, we climb the stairs to our antique-filled room and burrow under the warm quilts to fall asleep.

We followed Alex and Adam from their previous Inn in Maine, when they opened in Quechee, VT, and hope to enjoy their warm hospitality and multi-sensory gifts for many seasons and years.

  • Liked — Warm hospitality
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    12
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
15
47
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quechee, VT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

My husband and I are locals here in Quechee and were married here last September. We asked Alex and Adam to put together a cocktail party for the night before our wedding so our out of town relatives and friends could meet and socialize with their local counterparts...about 100 people in all. We also needed accomodations for the weekend for out-of-towners and a bridal suite for us. The result was beyond anything I could have hoped for! The party was amazing! Tables of cheeses, dips, veggies, and smoked salmon were set out both inside and in the front garden. Watiers passed hot hors doevres and every guest raved about the delicious food. There were two bars set up so nobody would have to wait in line for a drink and a fantastic acoustic band set up under the arbor in the garden. Unbelievable food, quick service, and an incredibly beautiful yet relaxed atmosphere. All our friends who stayed at the Inn for the weekend were very impressed (many are in the service industry and can be very picky!). Our bridal suite for the weekend was huge and was located on the end of one of the floors for a very private feeling. Even Adam's bacon and scrambled egg breakfasts were delicious! Thanks again Parker House...you helped make my dream wedding a reality!

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, N.Y.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2008

I returned to the Parker House with my teenage son -- for the 3rd time. We have family in the area and have come to see the Parker House as a "home away from home." We reserved late for President's weekend not realizing how crowded it would be. But Adam was unfailingly gracious and made sure we felt welcome and special. Due to the "full house" we stayed on the third floor where the rooms are not quite so large and are thus cheaper, but we found them to be lovely and cozy. We ate in the restaurant Sunday night with our very young cousins (4 and 10), and although it was a full house, the service was prompt and friendly; the children felt truly welcome and Alex (the chef) made sure to prepare things just the way they liked. I had the salmon which, as always, was beautifully presented and delicious; my son had the lamb which is his favorite. We ended our visit with breakfast the next morning, with Adam to host us with good food and good cheer.

  • Liked — friendliness, location/ambiance
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

My family and I stayed at the Parker House last December and I will never forget it. We ate at the restaurant almost every day. Alex Adler makes some of the best food I have ever tasted in my life. Hands down. The filet mignon and crab bisque are to die for. And our room could not have been cozier. A truly beautiful place.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2008

Stayed here for one night in October 2007. The owner (Adam) was very friendly when we arrived and showed us to our room. The room was very homely and felt more like a suite as it had a bureau, coffee table and little sofa in it. There was also a small dressing room in between the bedroom and the bathroom. Overall, we really like this place but felt that the layout of the bedroom/dressing room/bathroom could have been improved.
There were no curtains at the window, which is fine if you don't mind waking up with sunlight.
Breakfast was very pleasant indeed and we felt very relaxed after our night here - even though it was just one night.

  • Liked — Location and individuality of the rooms
  • Disliked — No curtains at the window - but very minor point!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2007

The restaurant should be mssed at all cost! With the suggestion that this is quality food, and a chef owner, they have greatly missed the mark. With four diners, all were totally disappointed.

All entries seemed like they were prepared by an airline chef...
totally tasteless. The fish stew tasted like a can. The same base as the mussel appitzer - " one base fits all seafood dishes" seemed to be the theme.

Avoid this eating establishment at all costs! Go next door to Simon Pearce...it's faboulous!

  • Liked — Exiting the front door.
  • Disliked — Everything else....don't go here !
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VTChef, Alexandra Adler owner/Chef at Parker House Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 28, 2007
Wow, what a scathing review. I wish we had known about this patrons displeasure at the time, we do everything within our power to make every guests’ dining experience pleasurable. Prepared a la minute, using fresh herbs(Rosemary, thyme, Italian parsley and Marjoram), spices, caramelized roasted garlic, diced shallots and fennel -our bouillabaisse and mussel dishes are some of our most popular and celebrated by locals and guests. We do not use one base for all seafood dishes: first of all it would be boring, second , lobster-saffron broth and roasted tomato -leek based broths while similar in color are decidedly different in flavor. My apologies for not meeting your expectations this evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2007

We stayed on a weeknight in the Walter room. The tab was in the low 200's for one night.

The high points are the location and setting of the property. It has a great view of the river... esp on the deck off the bar in back. Quechee is a charming spot. We enjoyed watching wine glasses being blown at Simon Pierce next door. We also very much enjoyed the scenic
drive to Woodstock on the lesser traveled route through Quechee.

We had dinner in the restaurant. The food and service were excellent and the pricing seemed about right. I would recommend the restaurant.

Our biggest gripes were with the cleanliness in our room and the common areas of the Inn. We noticed cob webs and dust. And in general
the finishing of the room was pretty low rent. You should be warned that the Walter room is directly over the bar. Not surprisingly, this
old house isn't up to the challenge of keeping the noise down from a bar directly under a bedroom.

Overall, our experience was pretty average.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VTChef, Alexandra Adler owner/Chef at Parker House Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 13, 2007
Hello Mark,
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal and the dining experience at The Parker House Inn. While we are thankful that you took the time to write this review I would like to clarify some of your comments particularly the "low rent" one. Our linens are 500 count Egyptian, The duvet is French linen encasing a down comforter; the antique furniture in the room are19th century original pieces; and the original art on the walls are pen and ink drawings of Venice, Italy
from the late 1700's. Your robe if you choose to wear it- is an incredibly soft (again Egyptian) cotton and all of the bath amenities are Caswell-Massey Sandlewood collection and include shampoo, conditioner, body gel, body lotion, hand cream, shoe mitt and a sewing kit. Our complimentary toothpaste is Tom's of Maine.

While dust and cobwebs do happen here in Vermont, I agree that they have no place in an Inn where you are paying a premium rate (or anyplace for that matter) I wish we had known so we could have quickly redone your room for you more to your (and my) satisfaction.
The walter room is over our bistro which usually stops serving about 10:00pm- we are more of sedate spot so usually there is no problem with noise but now that you have mentioned this I am going to put one of our antiique oriental rugs in there to cut the noise to a minimum.
.
My hope is that you can forgive us for the cobwebs - but I respectfully disagree with the low rent comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parker House Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker House Inn and Restaurant

Address: 1792 Quechee Main Street, Quechee, Hartford, VT 05059
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Hartford > Quechee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Quechee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surprising, Classic & Unique *Renovated in 2014* Chef owned full-service Inn and modern B&B in a beautifully refreshed 1857 National Historic Register Mansion overlooking the Ottauquechee River. Next to Simon Peace Glassblowing. 2 Minutes to the Quechee Gorge. 15 Min to Lebanon and Hanover NH to 5 min to Woodstock, VT Nestled intimately within the Upper Valley blends New England's traditional charm with contemporary touches and deluxe accommodation Pub, full bar and award winning dining. Savor each morning with a cooked to order full country breakfast included in nightly rate. Wi-Fi and full Quechee Lakes Country Club Access for guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parker House Inn And Restaurant Hotel Quechee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parker House Inn and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.