We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best. Period” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Parker House Inn and Restaurant

The Parker House Inn and Restaurant
1792 Quechee Main St., PO Box 780, Quechee, Hartford, VT 05059
802.295.6077
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Quechee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $32
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Huntsville, TX
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Still the best. Period”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

When we lived 11 years in Quechee, The Parker House was our favorite pub and restaurant. We were anxious to return this Fall for a visit, in part because of our love for the place and its owners, but also because it came so close to not being. The Parker House sits on the Ottaquechee River which became a raging torrent during Hurricane irene. The Parker House came very close to being undermined and swept away. But thankfully, it survived.
We went back for dinner during our recent visit and it was just as we remembered it, in fact, it was better. Adam and Alex, owners, chose to make lemonade out of the Irene lemons and redid parts of the house and improved - to the extent that was possible - an already great menu.
As usual service was impeccable and the new Fall menu, which came out the week before we arrived was both traditional and eclectic. From appetizers through dessert, no fault to be found.
And, service was old world - thorough without being overly intrusive. Of course, our server has been there back through our time living there and is a friend as much as a restaurant employee so it is hard to be objective.
If you are in the Quechee area, I consider The Parker House to be a "must" evening. In an area that actually has several great eating choices, make sure this one is on your list.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    13
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Staff very friendly. Accomadating

Fireplace in the dining room a plus
Food average. Presentation above average

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southcoast, MA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious food; tight quarters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

While staying in nearby Woodstock, my fiancé and I decided to follow the recommendation of our B&B manager and check out The Parker House. After hearing about how delicious the food was and how personable the staff was, we were very excited to spend our last night dining here. Though we definitely did not leave disappointed, the experience left a small bit to be desired. This was mainly in the way of ambiance. Our food was absolutely phenomenal.

When we arrived, we were ushered onto the back porch where literally every guest of the restaurant was sitting. Although there are tables inside as well as seating at the bar, every guest was crammed together on a relatively small porch facing the water. Don't get me wrong...I wouldn't have volunteered to eat indoors on a beautiful summer night. But the point of a reservation system is to stagger guests in an effort to avoid overcrowding and provide better service. I think they could've done with a couple fewer tables to make a tad more room.

As for the food, it was absolutely divine. I ordered the crispy duck and it was cooked beautifully. The accompanying risotto was equally fabulous. My fiancé had a steak, which he raved about. We have no complaints whatsoever about either the food or the service. Both were spectacular.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fast service, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

we were desperate for dinner on Labor Day weekend at 6 PM. They seated us in a pretty room all to ourselves, got us in and out quick--gourmet food for a reasonable price. Would definitely go back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quechee, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simply Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I was fortunate to dine at the Parker House Inn in Quechee VT last weekend with my family and friends. We had a truly wonderful experience. The inn was extremely busy on a beautiful Saturday evening. We sat inside since there were no tables available out. The waitstaff were very attentive. The salads were fresh and had fabulous combinations of flavor. The beef was accompanied by a heavenly sauce and was one of the best steaks I have ever enjoyed. The salmon was scrumptious with an interesting combination of flavors that complimented it perfectly. Just when we all thought the meal could not get any better... the desserts were just simply wonderful. The almond tart, the cheesecake, the sorbet and the carmel plate! Seriously... from beginning to end, this was an incredible meal. Thank you for sharing your amazing talents in our little village!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Parker House Inn and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Parker House Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Parker House Inn and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.