We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Bacon” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quechee Diner

Quechee Diner
5573 Woodstock Road, Quechee, Hartford, VT
8022962006
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 19 Restaurants in Quechee
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: This restaurant has only been open since Father's Day, 2012. It was formerly the Farmer's Diner but has now been taken over by new management. Before the Farmer's Diner, it was Farina's Family Restaurant.
Summerfield, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old Bacon”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

It's somewhat difficult to mess up a standard BLT sandwich, but the Quechee Diner did it in good shape. Skimpy on the lettuce and tomato, and the use of bacon that had obviously been sitting on the griddle since breakfast (my BLT was made around 1:30 pm). And a bit expensive for being diner food. I should also mention the half a plate of greasy French fries that accompanied the BLT. Mediocre service. The only saving aspect of our "dining" experience was the atmosphere - the Quechee Diner is an actual old time diner car - or a very very good copy. Unless you are into a dining car experience, I suggest that you pass this one by and get a nice meal at another location.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    14
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ternat, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“nostalgic and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is a nostalgic diner the way diners should be. The food was very good (I had the homemade hash with omelet and my friend had the western omelet) and for dessert we had the strawberry rhubarb pie and chocolat pie, both also homemade. DELICIOUS. The staff was friendly and helpfull, the place is clean. It is also a pleasure to the oldfashioned stuff. When we are back in the area we definitely will eat there again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suburban Boston, MA
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Fun decor, terrible food and service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We liked the old sleds and juke box and 50's lunch boxes decor.

At 1 p.m. on a weekday it took forever to get our food (coffee and pancakes). The restaurant was not particularly busy.

The portions were very large, but the pancakes were awful - either raw or someone doesn't know how to make pancakes.. Inedible. We certainly won't be returning.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Decor needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stopped at this place a sit was next to the highway. The staff was friendly enough and the sandwiches were ok. The interior is dated.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rrver Jct, VT
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lunch with Wife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is the best to stop for either breakfast or lunch. The staff is very friendly, and helpful. The dinning area is very clean and fun to see the items on display. The food, Is always great, served in a reasonable amount of time, prepared well and served hot. The cost of their meal is very reasonable. Great place to eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quechee Diner also viewed

 

Been to Quechee Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quechee Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.