We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee & views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trap Door Bakehouse & Cafe - CLOSED

Trap Door Bakehouse & Cafe
176 Waterman Hill Rd, Quechee, Hartford, VT
802-698-8075
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Trap Door Bakehouse & Cafe offers a wide selection of freshly made pastries, breakfast choices as well as paninis, Greek food, and other lunch and take away dinner options. We also provide for catered party, specialty birthday and wedding cake. We are more than happy to provide gluten free and vegan options as well. Our patio view is by far the best in Quechee, now showcasing the newly rebuilt covered bridge.
Kingston, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great coffee & views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Love this place. Delicious coffee and great baked goods. I even bought my dog a yummy fresh-baked doggy treat. The back overlooks a gorgeous (!) view. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakehouse_13, Owner at Trap Door Bakehouse & Cafe, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! Every kind word goes a long way! Stop in again if you are in Quechee!
thanks
Chef Theo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“wonderful sandwiches, salads, and desserts. Awesome view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had wonderful paninis for lunch and an assortment of fabulous pasties. Lots of good gluten free stuff, too. The inside of the cafe is lovely and well decorated, but it was an awesome day, so we took our lunch in the garden and had a magnificent view of the river below.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stopped in for lunch - I had quiche and an apple muffin and my husband had a ham and cheese panini. Very tasty. They also have wonderful looking cakes, pastries, etc. They have an alcove eating area with small tables.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Vermont
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Really excellent almond croissants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We're local, so we go to the Trap Door pretty regularly. And for us, they are the go-to place for birthday cakes. There is really pleasant seating both inside and out.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful pastries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Whether you are looking for a coffee and sweet danish for breakfast or a sandwich made fresh while you wait, this is a great little place. Sit outside where the tables look out over the Ottaquechee River

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trap Door Bakehouse & Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trap Door Bakehouse & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.