We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Dinner at Quechee Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm to your Saves list
Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   1119 Quechee Main St., Quechee, Hartford, VT 05059   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Quechee B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner at Quechee Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a delicious dinner at the Quechee Inn a few months ago. The property was beautiful, the atmoshphere of the inn was cozy, service was outstanding and the menu offered an array of choices that all looked wonderful. Each appetizer, main course and dessert we chose was excellent. We were very pleased with our dining experience and will certainly return again when we are back in Quechee.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    51
    12
    12
    6
See reviews for
40
104
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Ann, MA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Old fashioned inn in a lovely country setting. Warm greeting--reservation had not come through from Expedia and we were upgraded to a suite--very large, comfortable (somewhat dated) rooms. Large and comfortable common siting area great for relaxing. Helpful staff. Excellent bar. Food is over rated. Had slow roasted duck--very tender and very fat. The fat had not been rendered, some of the skin was burned, and generally not very crisp. Vegetables were undercooked. Buffet breakfast was ample but unexceptional.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University City, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My friend had accidentally found Quechee Inn a few years ago when he got lost on the roads there late at night while trying to find his daughter's ski chalet. He was hungry and upon discovering Quechee was open for dining, enjoyed a wonderful meal that he never forgot.
When we were planning our trip to the NE, he asked that I look at Quechee for reservations. We stepped inside and loved the charming ambiance with antiques that engulfed us in comfortable warmth. The dinner we had as part of our two-night package was delicious and in the gourmet category and so much more than we could eat. The staff was friendly and accommodating from Ken the bartender to the breakfast and dinner staff to the front desk personnel. It is so laid back there and a great place to unwind without too many people coming and going. Great places to hike nearby plus it is not far from Woodstock...and there is a lovely spa just down the road from the Quechee called Stone House Spa. We loved our 3 nights at Quechee Inn and would love to return one day.

Room Tip: Our air conditioner was a little noisy the first night and luckily, because the weather was cooler t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We just completed a New England vacation and one of our stays was the Quechee Inn. It was wonderful! We were upgraded to a large room with a king bed and two bathrooms. It was so nice that we changed our plans to leave the next day and stayed an extra night. Only small complaints were the air conditioning a bit loud and would have liked a ceiling fan in the room.
The breakfast was a buffet style with plenty of choices. The area is beautiful with many things to do.
Will stay again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Always take steps into account when booking B&B's there can be many and steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just up the road from the Simon Pearce Glass Factory, a few miles to Woodstock and Norwich. Lovely oversized rooms with period moldings, non-working fireplace, comfortable bed. Bathroom could use remodeling in my particular room. The breakfast was a little disappointing, only fresh fruit available was pineapple or sliced melon and orange. Only jam was grape. No yogurts or artisanal breads, standard buffet breakfast with choice of pancakes, scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage all pre-prepared. Was expecting a more personalized breakfast. Also, the lady who works the breakfast room practically removes your plate from under you which is a little enervating while you are still eating. Felt as though I was back at school in the cafeteria...Front desk very nice, and yes we would return.

Room Tip: I believe there are renovated rooms on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Maine
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My first eight years were in a large farm house. I was reminded of then and explored here. History of land and owners was interesting as well.Another visit could do one good.there is plenty of space and places to go.

Room Tip: We found the Inn by walking the trail from a main site of the gorge.Stopping in, we asked for imform...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous setting with stunning country views. We enjoyed the wildflower lined hiking trails, fishing at the pond and the manicured Inn grounds. Breakfast was hot, fresh and quite satisfying. Our room brought us back in time with its decor. Our bed was so comfy it was hard to get out of it! The common room is a wonderful place adorned with local art, enchanted with classical music and filled with inviting little sitting areas. We spent time there to do some reading while we enjoyed our afternoon tea and cookies. The service was welcoming and friendly. They really make you feel at home. All of this in a convenient and quiet location makes this inn top notch in our book. We enjoyed our stay so much that we did not want to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QInkeeper, General Manager at Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thanks for the great review. I am so glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the trails, the grounds and the Inn to the extent you obviously did. We especially liked your comments about the Common Room, it really is a great place to sit and relax, maybe enjoying a glass of wine... With fall right around the corner, it is almost time to light the fire, which only makes it that more charming. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm

Address: 1119 Quechee Main St., Quechee, Hartford, VT 05059
Location: United States > Vermont > Hartford > Quechee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Quechee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1793, the inn was originally the home of Colonel Joseph Marsh, Vermont's first lieutenant governor. Since that time, the historic residence has been expanded and carefully restored to maintain as much of the 19th century character and charm as possible, while adding modern conveniences like private baths, cable TV, and air conditioning for all of the guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm Hotel Quechee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.