We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dana's serves up a nice breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dana's by the Gorge

Dana's by the Gorge
5945 Woodstock Rd (Route 4), Quechee, Hartford, VT 05059
(802) 295-6066‎
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Quechee
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Grafton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Dana's serves up a nice breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We went to Dana's one morning while camping in the area - they have a really nice breakfast menu and there were some tough choices to make between fried dough with creamy butter and Vermont syrup, and many more delicious sounding breakfasts! I opted for the Danamuffin, a fried egg with sausage with Cabot cheddar cheese melted on top in a muffin. The food was fresh and we didn't leave there hungry. Even though there wasn't "gorge view" seating, it was a very nice restaurant. They are dog friendly as when we got there, the outdoor porch table had a family eating breakfast with their chocolate lab. I'd definitely go back and work my way through some of the other options for breakfast! I didn't look at the lunch menu but they had a list of the desserts on the table - oh, boy, they looked really good too!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    20
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Willimantic, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Went there for Breakfast while camping and the food and service was good. We had some omelette's, french toast which was very good and blueberry pancakes and apple and cinnamon pancakes which were just ok. The blueberries were not fresh and the apples must of been applesauce because they were not fresh either. The service was excellent and the atmosphere was wonderful too. On a nice warm day you can sit outside on a nice deck too. We would definitely go back again but just not order the blueberry or apple/cinnamon pancakes again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
1 review
“Breakfast menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Not as good as it used to be under original ownership.
Poached eggs Always came with Vermont Rarebit. Not now, when busy !,

Maple walnut French toast was always a favorite, but not now at $9 ! It used to be $7 with the walnuts, but now extra with the walnuts.it was more costly than the Vermont rarebit.

This used to be a special place to go in the summer ( a local), but might switch over to the Quechee diner !

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“good food, very good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

by the Gorge means near it... not a view of the Gorge. but.... the luncheon menu was good, the prices were right, and our food was very good. Service was excellent with a cheerful staff all around the dining area. Everyone seemed to be happy with their food so we weren't the only ones impressed. You can spend more money in this town and probably get a lot less. skip the snack bars nearby and eat here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quechee, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Dana's is open”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Dana's is a place that is only open summer an some in the fall. Very good food. Open for breakfast and lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dana's by the Gorge also viewed

 

Been to Dana's by the Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dana's by the Gorge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.