We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUT-OF-BUSINESS?????” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dana's by the Gorge

Dana's by the Gorge
5945 Woodstock Rd (Route 4), Quechee, Hartford, VT 05059
(802) 295-6066‎
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 20 Restaurants in Quechee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Vermont, U.S.A.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“OUT-OF-BUSINESS?????”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Made plans to meet friends here for lunch....... reviewed menu and business hours on their website.......

Guess what???? Building deserted, sign down..........

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    20
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Pole
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“3 of 4 stars (good, casual dining).”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

(see explanation of ratings below)

Breakfast and lunch only. Nothing fancy, but reliable.

Ask to sit on the porch to the right.

About $10 per person for lunch, before tip, no dessert.

Allow thirty minutes.

About my ratings:

Only high-priced dining establishments can garner five stars. Until TripAdvisor realizes that a fast food joint cannot possibly be ranked equally with a $100 per person place, I need to draw the line somewhere. If we were only talking about the quality and presentation of the food, it would be a different story. But, as we know, TripAdvisor's rankings take into account the entire dining experience.

Therefore, I divide restaurants into three categories (and I wish TripAdvisor would do the same):

1) fast food and "fast-casual", low-priced (no table service).

2) casual, mid-priced dining (table service, average entrée price: $10-$20).

3) fine, high-priced dining (linen napkins, no plastic cups, no TV's in dining room, average entrée priced at more than $20, can vary depending on the city).

High-priced dining can earn a max of five stars. Mid-priced dining can earn a max of four stars. Fast food can earn a max of three stars.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We chose to eat here during a recent girls' trip to VT. We were shopping nearby and had read prior positive reviews for Dana's. We had the soup special, a caesar salad, a grilled cheese with real Vermont cheddar and veggies, and a chicken salad plate. Everything was fresh and yummy. Service was a little slow but it was a busy holiday weekend. Everything was served hot, though. I am from CT, so am used to high prices. I thought lunch was very reasonably priced. The atmosphere was very 'homey Vermont', the sunroom was very sunny and we enjoyed that...it was like eating outside without the chill. We'd eat here again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holderness, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“poor service with average food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stopped here for lunch after visiting the Gorge. We were asked to sit at any clean tables, however no menus were available. Ten minutes later we received the menus. After another 10 minutes later we received small glasses of water. Thirty minutes later our food. The chicken salad and bacon grilled cheese were good. The server did apologize for the wait, however, no discount was taken off the bill. I would not eat here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOX ELDER
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Sorry we selected here for breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Probably the worst breakfast experience we've had in the past few years. The food, when it arrived, was at best luke-warm and we did not see our server again for a while.

I would not eat here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dana's by the Gorge also viewed

 

Been to Dana's by the Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dana's by the Gorge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.