We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than anticipated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shepards Pie Restaurant

Shepards Pie Restaurant
5817 Woodstock Rd, Quechee, Hartford, VT 05001
(802) 281-4585
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 20 Restaurants in Quechee
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Better than anticipated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Since we stayed at the inn next door, we decided to walk to Shepards Pie next door. Neither of us are fans of shephard's pie, so we probably wouldn't have stopped here if we were just driving by. Anyway, we were pleasantly surprised. The service was good, and our waitress was chatty, friendly, and attentive. The salad bar was adequate and fresh. My food was good. My wife ordered the adult Mac and cheese. She raved about it. She said it tated like chicken carbonara. We were too stuffed for dessert. Overall a good experience. We would go back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    42
    17
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Classic american food done well. Big hearty burgers with lots fries. The menu is a godd selection of american favorites. We were there for lunch.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ruined our Friday evening”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Decided to give it a try and were very pleased in the beginning. Then, it turned out that the expensive lamb dish was undercooked, fatty and of very poor quality. In an attempt to settle this issue with the manager I was told that I’m insulting her and the police will be called to handle that. And it was…what a nice Friday evening.
AVOID THIS PLACE

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Friendly service and good to great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed next door at the Quality Inn recently and this is a great place to eat. I had a special mussel appetizer they were featuring that was delicious. The steaks and burgers were good. The bartender is very friendly and on special nights they have music. I didn't sit outside but most people did while I was there and seemed to enjoy it. The prices aren't cheap ($15-25 entrees for dinner with $8 burgers if I remember correctly) but the food is good to great and the service is very friendly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful night to dine outside on picnic tables”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Nice family friendly. Typical child's menu. We chose to eat outside as it was a lovely evening on their picnic tables with umbrellas. Many did likewise. Child's mac & cheese was penne w/alfredo sauce & some parm cheese. Other dinners met expectations.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shepards Pie Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Shepards Pie Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shepards Pie Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.