We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So cool...but” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balloons of Vermont - Private Flights

Balloons of Vermont - Private Flights
P.O. Box 671, Quechee, Hartford, VT 05059
(802) 369-0213
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 12 attractions in Quechee
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Brandon, VT
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“So cool...but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have been to this festival for the past 4-5 years, pre & post-Irene. This year's festival did not disappoint, except it had, in my opinion, a few glitches. The weather is never something that can be controlled or predicted, but it is difficult to wait...and wait....and wait. I understand it is for the safety of all, but nonetheless it is difficult to wait. The entertainment was fantastic and well-scheduled. It seemed to have a little bit of something for everyone, but I found that I had a lot of down time. I would like to see more vendors, as I think the space could handle more. I have very mixed feelings about the parking situation. I understand that the parking lot, due to Irene's damage, is now smaller, but parking over a mile away & being shuttled to the site was not convenient. If they continue to have the festival on the "green" I see no other choice, but it was a absolute NIGHTMARE getting out of the festival after the ascension of the balloons. There were shuttle busses running, but not nearly enough to handle the crowd. We decided to walk back to the vehicle instead of waiting, what would have easily been, over an hour for the bus. It might be good to reconsider the Marsh farm again, as last year; at least the parking lot was closer. The board of directors needs to reconsider this festival location; maybe it has outgrown its Quechee britches.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great experience! Don't miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

It has been my husband's dream to go up in a hot air balloon, and what better place than in beautiful Quechee, VT. Balloons of VT provides an awesome experience from start to finish. Darrick is a great guide and provides good customer service all the way through - he explains everything, responds to questions, and is pretty good natured with a sense of humor.

First of all, being in a hot air balloon is like nothing else you'll experience, and you can go up high and see the landscape, and then Darrick will take the balloon down low and skim on the water! We had a beautiful day, and I can't say enough how amazing and fun it is to be up there. The balloon itself is also really beautiful.

After our morning flight, Darrick took us to the Trap Door Cafe for a delicious breakfast outdoors and we took in the views with our new friends. Thanks for this wonderful experience and really what a great gift!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ballooning in Vermont”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is one of the most fun and memorable things we have ever done. Family and friends together with the excellent navigation and piloting skills of Darrek and his crew. The area around Quechee, VT is beautiful and it only gets more so with a little altitude. Darrek's skill with the Balloon is amazing and the overall experience is peaceful, beautiful and professional. We can not recommned this enough!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“This is a serious "Must Do"!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We contacted Darrek the owner some months before visiting Vermont, and he was extremely helpful in organising our trip.

We met (along with the other passengers) for our morning flight and think we were all a bit concerned about the overcast conditions.

Darrek, with his jovial good humour put us all at ease as we helped to inflate the balloon, which was an experience in itself!

We all loaded aboard, and although the basket holds 10 people, there was plenty of room and we did not feel in anyway squashed in!
With a few thrusts of the burners, the balloon lifts off so gently, if you had your eyes shut you’d think you were still on the ground.

At about 1000 ft the view was stunning, with 360 views of the town and surrounding mountains.
We still had cloud cover above us, so Darrek said we could push thru it – more burner action and we soon punched thru at about 5000 ft to crystal blue skies and warm sunshine!
Fantastic!

After an hour or so, we scouted for a place to land and after some careful (and very skilful) piloting, Darrek put us down in on a nearby farm, much to the delight of the workers who all came to assist!

A very nice touch was that Darrek arranges for a post-flight breakfast (pasties, coffee, champagne) in a nearby restaurant so we could reflect on our flight in comfort! (no other company does this)

Overall a very good day and a truly memorable experience!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Beach, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ballooning over Vermont-Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

What an awesome experience! We decided to cross something off the bucket list on our recent trip to VT. It was a beautiful fall day when we met Darrek for our balloon ride. It was such an amazing experience. We saw and participated in the set up of the massive balloon then took off over the trees to see the beautiful landscape.
Darrek is a skilled and knowledgeable pilot who pointed out things along the way as he artfully navigated the balloon. As we silently soared above everything, we saw the Quechee Gorge up close, Killington in the distance as well as the beautiful trees and landscape. We ended our trip by landing on a runway at the local airport.Then, assisted in packing up the balloon.
As a special treat, Darrek's friend flew by in his plane and took pictures of us! Just beautiful. To end our adventure, we gathered around a table at a local bakery to have some mimosas and quiche. A perfect ending to an awesome morning! Thanks, Darrek. It is a memory we will never forget.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balloons of Vermont - Private Flights also viewed

 

Been to Balloons of Vermont - Private Flights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balloons of Vermont - Private Flights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Balloons of Vermont - Private Flights to your Saves list