We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Proctorsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast
399 Depot St., PO Box 218, Proctorsville, VT 05153   |  
Hotel amenities
Westchester, NY
2 reviews
“Relaxed and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Spent Labor Day weekend. Wonderful inn. Relaxed, spotlessly clean, comfortable. Excellent breakfasts, yummy cookies (especially the peanut butter ones), concerned and interesting innkeepers Will be going back regularly for the excellent bicycling in the area

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
34
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Immaculate, cozy, friendly - Our three day stay in Vermont during a recent college visit for our son gave us a great opportunity to enjoy the charm and beauty of Vermont. We enjoyed a "family suite," equipped with two bedrooms and private bath, fresh crisp sheets and towels, privacy, a charming environment, and wonderful service. Innkeepers Julie and Mike tended to our every need, providing excellent suggestions for our interests and providing hot breakfast based on our dietary considerations and plans for the day. The bottomless cookie jar is oh-so-real, and the Saturday night chocolate cake was the perfect touch to our busy day. The best part of our experience was that Julie and Mike make it seem so easy; they moved seamlessly in and out of our presence, making their jobs look so easy. Clearly, they have put forth a great deal of hard work to carve a place for travelers to enjoy peace and charm of lovely Vermont. An excellent suggestion from our innkeepers was the Weston Playhouse, exactly 25 mins. from the inn, where we enjoyed a wonderful production of "Fiddler on the Roof." Enjoy!

Room Tip: The family suite worked for our family, but Julie had provided specific details on the phone when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I participated in a plein air painting workshop of six people over this past weekend, based at the Inn. Mike and Julie-Lynn went above and beyond in making this feel like home. Breakfast was wonderful every morning, rooms were lovely and we especially liked Mike's Saturday afternoon chocolate cake.

Room Tip: You can't choose a bad room, they are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Had the pleasure of a four night stay. The Inn itself was lovely. It had all the charm of a building with history, but with the modern features (wifi, recently renovated showers in the suites) that guests look for today. The breakfasts were amazing, made with some foods as local as the Inn's back yard.

The owners, Mike and Julie, make the place amazing. It felt like staying at a friend's home. They could not have been more accommodating of my needs, such as scheduling and food preferences, and every one of their recommendations from restaurants to things to do to places to go was absolutely spot on. The quality of my vacation as a whole was improved by having them as a resource. I would absolutely recommend their inn to anyone in that area.

Room Tip: Suites have recently renovated bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

10 minutes away from Okemo; farm animals add to the rustic atmosphere; high quality breakfasts but limited selection; house is quite antiquated but well-maintained; lunches and dinners are not offered; owners are extremely friendly and sociable (ask them about their bee hives!); snacks, soups, and beverages are provided in the afternoon; wish there were more amenities such as a hot tub, fitness room, and pool; would like to see a little more character from the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
America
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This is the place to stay when visiting the Ludlow area! My family of 5 stayed here for 3 nights and we were very comfortable. The owners Mike and Julie do a fantastic job. My kids loved the the "bottomless" cookie jar, the drinks and soup after a long day of skiing (and we did too). The breakfast is very hardy and tasted great. We weren't hungry until 1pm and that was with a morning full of skiing! The house is very clean and bedding is wonderful. We will be returning here next year and after seeing all of the favorable reviews I will make sure I book way in advance:)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have traveled a fair share over the years and stayed at nice hotels in many places. Before our trip to Vermont and the Golden Stage Inn we had never stayed in a Bed and Breakfast. Our concerns of a "Flirting With Disaster"-type of visit had always kept us from making such a reservation. We could not have been more wrong, and our stay at this fabulous establishment has completely reversed our opinions.

The Golden Stage Inn is successful for many reasons. The rooms are nicely appointed (we stayed in the Bee Hive Suite with a newly renovated bathroom), the beds simply amazing (the sheets are the softest we've ever seen--really!), the decor of the inn charming, and the food excellent.

What makes the Golden Stage such a phenomenal place to stay, however, has everything to do with Julie and Mike, the proprietors. It's hard to imagine more warm and welcoming B&B hosts than Julie and Mike, and they make the stay feel like you're visiting old friends. The pair provide a feeling of comfort from the moment you arrive and maintain that connection with their guests up to the moment they bid you farewell at the end of your stay.

I'm not sure other B&B's can attain such a gold standard. Julie and Mike have only been doing it for a bit over a year and, if things get better with experience, future visits to the Golden Stage will be the highlights of vacations for years to come. We will certainly find reasons to visit the area, again, simply to relive the stay at the Golden Stage.

Room Tip: Family suites are available. My father and his wife stayed in a single, and it was equally well-app...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 399 Depot St., PO Box 218, Proctorsville, VT 05153
Location: United States > Vermont > Proctorsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Proctorsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Golden Stage Inn, we pride ourselves on providing just the right balance between intimacy and privacy, between luxury and down to earth comforts. Situated just miles from great hiking trails, cycling routes, and Okemo Mountain resort (have you tried the zipline?!), our grounds offer a private but convenient respite from it all. Stroll down to the babbling brook, get an inside tour of our honeybee hives, enjoy the in-ground pool or sit inside our historic building reading a book or working on a puzzle. Homemade and wholesome breakfasts always included in our rates. Two family suites plus six guestrooms, all with private baths. We redefine the Bed and Breakfast experience! Come visit the Golden Stage Inn! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list