We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No better place to sample the best of Vermont and New Hampshire” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Norwich Inn

Save Saved
You added Norwich Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Norwich Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   325 Main St, Norwich, VT 05055   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Norwich B&B and Inns
Orlando
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“No better place to sample the best of Vermont and New Hampshire”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Go to the Inn the first week of October every year...classic Inn located in the best possible location for Dartmouth College, King Arthur Flour and Woodstock.

Comfortable, always friendly, nice bar with great people. Make sure to go to Dan and Whits General Store next door. Get a cup of coffee and Doug's jelly donuts! A great way to start the day.

Finish with a rock on big front porch!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the original Inn for more quaint authenticity!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    50
    14
    12
    8
See reviews for
41
59
14
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The friendly atmosphere and the charming rooms make it a little easier on my wife and I when we have to drop our daughter off at college. We have always stayed in the original section, and the rooms have always been large, charming and filled with antiques.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Maine
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We recently stayed two nights at the Norwich Inn, in the Ivy Lodge. Our room was excellent. The rocking chairs on the porch in front of our room were a great touch. The staff we interacted with were professional and courteous. We checked in early with no trouble, and check out was a breeze. The pub--food, beverage, service, location--were very good, we ate there twice. We also ate in the Inn restaurant each morning, and the breakfasts were okay, but not spectacular. The servers in the morning seemed particularly busy, don't know if we hit them at a bad time or if the morning shift is understaffed? One problem we encountered, after returning from a night out in a neighboring town, was a lack of parking. Had to circle the block a few times around 10 p.m. to find one parking spot on the Inn property! The only other negative is that the whole stay was a bit pricey, but not over the top. Overall, we enjoyed the Norwich Inn very much and would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Ivy Lodge is "detached" from the main Inn, is relatively new and the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Norwich Inn. Our room was a little worn, but it was clean and we enjoyed the old fashioned feeling to it. We stayed in the inn building itself. This isn't a fancy place. Instead it feels real. We ate a good dinner in the dinning room. The beer was excellent. We played chess at night in the living room. That's the kind of place it is, very comfortable. Check out the Paul Sample painting in the smaller dining room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at the Norwich Inn. The first 2 years we stayed in Walker and had a lovely experience.
This summer however we were on the first floor in room 8. When we were trying to sleep, we kept hearing the pounding and slamming of doors. At first we thought it was from down the hall or upstairs. We were unable to sleep for hours and called the overnight innkeeper. The innkeeper did not answer and we left a message (which was never returned). The next day, my husband realized that it was the side entrance door to the building that was directly next to the head of our bed so every time someone came or went it made a loud noise. Obviously that door should have been "sound proofed" during installation. We tried to switch rooms for our 2nd night but the inn was full. The front desk didn't offer any solace or concern.
Upon check out, we were asked by a different front desk lady if everything was OK with our stay. I explained how we were unable to sleep for hours because of the loud noise from the door and her response was "oh, no one's ever complained of that before". End of story. Suffice it to say, we were not exactly happy with her response but were in a hurry to leave for home and didn't pursue it further. For the price paid, we were extremely disappointed with the sound / noise issues and the lack of response / concern by the inn when are complaints were registered.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Walker 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I booked the inn for its' close proximity to the King Arthur Flour Baking Education Centre and got much more than expected. We stayed in the Walker House. Our spacious room was large, very clean and beautifully decorated, even had a fireplace (not that we'd need it in this heat). The staff was very welcoming. We were late coming back from our baking class and the dining room was closed. The kitchen was gracious enough to make burgers for us for a late dinner in the Jasper Murdock pub. We had the beer 'sampler' from the onsite microbrewery....everything was delish. The Norwich Inn is close to a few places that are equally quaint....Hanover, White River Junction, Woodstock and Quechee, not the mention Dartmouth College. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

What a nice place! The rooms in the annexed buildings are newer than the main building. Ours had beautiful furniture, a huge bathroom, fireplace, and all the usual amenities. Pet friendly too. An on site brewery provides perfect lunch fare including delicious micro brews. The only thing lacking are the morning pastries provided in the lobby. Dry muffins? Surprising in a place like this.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Norwich Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norwich Inn

Address: 325 Main St, Norwich, VT 05055
Location: United States > Vermont > Norwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Norwich Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norwich Inn is a one of a kind historic Vermont hotel, located near Dartmouth College, which features green lodging, a brewery with hand-crafted English ales, and a gourmet New England restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Norwich Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwich Hotel Norwich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norwich Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.