We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite Inns anywhere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norwich Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Norwich Inn to your Saves list
Norwich Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   325 Main St, Norwich, VT 05055   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Year's Eve at the Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Norwich B&B and Inns
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of my favorite Inns anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

THE place to stay while visiting Dartmouth. Only trouble is it's so popular we've only been able to stay there twice - first when checking out the school 5 years ago and next time the night after graduation! Be sure to call ahead a year in advance for move in weekend and parents weekends. I understand it's very popular with visiting Dartmouth sports teams parents. Both times we stayed in the main building. Comfortable beds, quiet, charming rooms without being fussy and the all important WIFI. Front desk was very friendly. Only wish we lived closer so we might visit again now that the kid has graduated.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    56
    15
    12
    8
See reviews for
48
65
19
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Just a short drive from the Dartmouth campus, the Inn is an ideal place for Dartmouth parents dropping off or picking up their students. The staff is very attentive, the pub serves excellent artisan beer, and the rooms in the old part of the Inn are pleasantly atmospheric. (We haven't stayed in the new section.)

If you have a student just starting at Dartmouth, make a point of staying at the Inn on all your visits. You then probably will "qualify" to get one of the coveted invitations from the Inn to stay there at graduation, when rooms anywhere in the Hanover area are very hard to get.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

My husband, 2 daughters and I stayed here so that my daughter could see Dartmouth. We had taken our son to see Dartmouth 4 years ago, and stayed here as well...only this time, the carriage house that we stayed in had been replaced with 2 new buildings! We stayed in the first building, and it was wonderful. Two queen beds, flat screen tv, gas fireplace, and a spacious bathroom. We were on the ground floor, but it was quiet, and we had no trouble sleeping at all. The employees are warm and wonderful, too. I would highly recommend this inn for anyone needing to go to Dartmouth, as it's a 5 minute ride across the bridge. We had dinner at the Thai restaurant Mai Thai, on Main Street, across from Dartmouth, on the second floor--it was delicious. There's a small supermarket next door where you can get yogurt, fruit, or snacks, too.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

The Inn is very charming and staff are very welcoming. The food especially the ale was wonderful. The rooms on the 3rd floor are quite a climb.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We spent the night here in Room 18, with 2 queen beds in the Walker House (new accommodations in the back.) We were pleasantly surprised by the spacious, comfortable room with gas fireplace and multiple windows. It is ideally located to Hanover, only 1.5 miles away from our son's dorm, w/out the parking hassles. Although you can't beat the Hanover Inn re: location, the Walker House was much more comfortable and pleasant. (Having said that, I'm not so sure about the Main House, which looked a bit feeble here and there.)
We ate lunch when we arrived in the pub, and the locally brewed beer was delicious! The bartender was a delight as well.
We had brunch on Sunday which was overpriced and a limited menu ($16 - $18 for most items), although the French toast was outstanding. The service was forgetful (our waiter) and the dining rooms leave a lot to be desired (pretty tired) so, the good news is if you are looking for simple sustenance, have the breakfast (not brunch) and appreciate that you don't have to jockey for a table as you would in Hanover.
I've rated the hotel as very good because one must remember that you are not going to find any sort of luxury accommodations in the area, so expectations must be locally driven. Having stayed at a number of places now (including the Marriott Courtyard and Hanover Inn), we'll chose the Norwich Inn again, provided we can stay in Walker House.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Food was superb, staff was warm and amiable, atmosphere was country inn-ish, decor was very comfortable.

Actually it's one of the best meals I've had on the east coast. Wonderful bruschetta followed by rack of lamb with cheddar polenta topped with balsamic and porto reduction and candied jalapenos. Unbelievable.

They brew their own beer, too, and the snakeskin IPA is terrific.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Do not rely on reception here to do anything properly. I arrived there jet lagged, and asked for a wake up call whcih they didn't give me. I almost missed a flight although in fairness, the manager drove me to the bus because of their failure to call me. Worse, because I had to leave in a huge rush, I forgot my much loved bracelet. They said that they never found it. I cannot understand how this could be.
Many things about this hotel are nice but I found the stafff very disorganisied and unprofessional. It took me three questions to find out where the breakfast room was- and then it took them 17 mns to supply a simple bowl of cereal.
Only go here if you are very laid back and tolerant.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Norwich Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norwich Inn

Address: 325 Main St, Norwich, VT 05055
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Norwich Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norwich Inn is a one of a kind historic Vermont hotel, located near Dartmouth College, which features green lodging, a brewery with hand-crafted English ales, and Jasper Murdock's Alehouse casual dining restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Norwich Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwich Hotel Norwich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norwich Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.