We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“inconsistent food and pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carpenter & Main Restaurant

Carpenter & Main Restaurant
326 Main St., Norwich, VT 05055
802.649.2922
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Woodstock, Vermont
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“inconsistent food and pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I am not wowed by the food here. I went for a birthday celebration and found it overpriced and inconsistent in quality. It does serve up local fare and is in a good location.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Framingham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One Of Vermont's Authenic Gems”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

The menu is well balanced! The dinning room sets the mood. Bruce, the owner/chef creates wonderful plates!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great, pretentious, tiny portioned food. An overall good experience though.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Food was pretty good. One of the best around the Hanover area.
The sizes are amazingly tiny, and for the price they charge you sometimes it seems a little deceiving,
Anyway, it is one of the good places to have a nice dinner near the Hanover area. You pocket is going to suffer a little bit,

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fabulous all the way around.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

This is a wonderful restaurant. We were seated at a quiet out of the way table at a window. The service was excellent and the food was the best meal we remember ever being served. None of the courses disappointed. We shared the butternut squash soup, a muffin served on a bed of creamed onions, and a tossed salad. My husband ordered the chicken and I had the risotto with beets and goat cheese and hazel nuts. We were too stuffed for dessert. If we lived nearby we would be frequent guests.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“An old friend revisited and better than ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Everything was perfect. The reservation was honoured, our waiter john was charming, courteous, and competent, the menu was appealing and our food and service outstanding. While this restaurant is worth a very long detour of over an hour and many miles, in fact it is walking distance from our daughter's house. Not sure why, but we haven't been at the restaurant for a few years, so when our experience was excellent it was like visiting with an old friend.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carpenter & Main Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Carpenter & Main Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carpenter & Main Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.