We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great store, disappointing breads” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King Arthur Flour Bakery + Cafe

King Arthur Flour Bakery + Cafe
135 Route 5 South, Norwich, VT
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Norwich
Cuisines: Bakery
Restaurant details
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great store, disappointing breads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I am an avid baker and looked forward to visiting King Arthur's. The store did not disappoint but the bakery let me down. I like bakeries where you can sample several breads -- such as at Bread & Cie in San Diego where you can order "bread" as a menu item and you get a huge pile of three kinds of breads. (Or even Beyond Bread in Tucson where they have samples of odd pieces -- with butter -- for you to sample.) At King Arthur's I was told the only way to sample bread was to order toast and not have it toasted. The two kinds of breads I had were small -- like a serving of toast as a side dish -- and quite light and not glutinous, qualities I am not looking for in breads. It may be that I did not figure out how to order what I wanted but I was disappointed. The coffee was good and so was the pastry my partner got so the visit was quite successful EXCEPT FOR BREAD. The price was fairly high for self-service but not out of line.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    26
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mahopac, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great baking store!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

If your a baker or just like to bake like my wife does then this is the place for you!! Classes on baking, a café, everything you might need. The prices were a bit on the high side but you get what you pay for! We had to go back a 2nd time ti make sure we got everything the wife wanted!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful bakery, cafe and shop... A joy to behold!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We found this while on holiday in Vermont and loved it so much we called on three occasions. The coffee and cakes/ pastries were excellent and the chance to watch the bakers was very enjoyable. The shop is a wonder and probably the main reason we are tasking our full luggage allowance home!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tasty snacks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Beautiful facility, great baking supply shop, and oh my, the pastries. Bacon, cheddar & chive scones, sticky buns, blueberry danish, maple latte... delicious! I wish I'd tried some of the other food as well, and would definitely stop here again if I was passing through the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“the best Crème brûlée - period!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

A great place to get lunch or pastries for the rest of your trip. They also have pizza which I didn't try, but it looked and smelled great.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Arthur Flour Bakery + Cafe also viewed

 

Been to King Arthur Flour Bakery + Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Arthur Flour Bakery + Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.