We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, fabulous breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northfield Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northfield Inn
Save
You added Northfield Inn to your Saves list
228 Highland Ave., Northfield, VT 05663   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Northfield B&B and Inns
Colorado Springs
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, fabulous breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

My husband and I spent one night at the Northfield Inn while traveling in Vermont to view the fall foliage. Views from the inn were incredible! Our hostess told us of a beautiful drive on Turkey Hill Road when we walked in the door and insisted we must take it (maybe 20 minutes long) before the sun went down. Even though we'd driven a lot that day and were tired, it was well worth doing! Breakfast was incredible, beautiful presentation and delicious food! The room was roomy, but the TINY cubicle for the toilet was not! Almost impossible to shut the door and not have ones knees hit it. The shower was in another small space on another wall and the sink was in the room. We did ask to be moved to a different room and the configuration was a little better than in the first room, but spaces no larger. I do think one should be told in advance that some of the rooms really don't have a "real" bathroom. Other than that, we were quite pleased; however, I do think the "high season" prices are extremely high.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    5
    1
    2
    7
See reviews for
14
20
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

Very charming and friendly inn. The innkeeper could not be more friendly and helpful. Made us feel like family. This inn provides a place to stay when we visit our son in college that is like having a home in town. I would highly recommend this inn to other Norwich Parents visiting the university. It is very conveniently located to the university. Rooms are spacious and immaculate. The whole building is cared for and very well preserved. It is an old house but clearly loved. Small details like quality towels and bath linens show that attention to detail is maintained throughout the inn. Breakfast is an an elegant event.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfeboro, NH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

Charming Victorian Inn on a quiet private hillside street witha view. Oriental rugs and antiques with a welcome open Butler's pantry for afternoon or evening refreshment. It is the multi-course breakfast that beckons us back; served on fine china, the food is deliciously and freshly prepared, and varies from day to day. We are loooking for an excuse to return!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NU_Nomad
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

I recently stayed at the Northfield Inn for a week and I must say that I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The staff was beyond courteous and kind. The inn itself is beautiful and relaxing. And to top it off, they were more than willing to work around my dietetic needs. If I am ever in the area again, I would not hesitate to stay there; nor would I hesitate to recommend the establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

The Northfield Inn is one of the loveliest we have had the pleasure of visiting. The house is beautifully maintained, the rooms clean and tastefully furnished, and the food extraordinary. Our hostess, Aglaia, was warm, welcoming, and generous. We would recommend this inn to anyone traveling in the Montpelier area! And we hope to return again and again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

My wife and I had a good experience at the Northfield Inn, the Innkeeper was warm, accomodating and provided exactly the service for which we asked. In addition to an incredible breakfast, the Aglaia put out wine for a little happy hour every evening. I would highly recommend this spot for Norwich SGS students and for those wanting to splurge a little on vacation.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

Not recommended for youthful couples, active people, families with children. The propreiter is burnt out, and needs to retire.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenityAge70, Owner at Northfield Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2010
Guests who do not respect the privacy of other guests or persist in breaking Vermont State Regulations on Health and Safety are asked to leave the premises. We will find accommodations elsewhere if requested to do so by the offending guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northfield Inn

Address: 228 Highland Ave., Northfield, VT 05663
Location: United States > Vermont > Northfield
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Northfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Vermont Bed & Breakfast, The Northfield Vermont Inn, is a beautifully restored Victorian mansion nestled high in the heart of Vermont's Green Mountains, just minutes from Montpelier, Barre, Sugarbush and Stowe Ski Resort.Framed by scenic mountains, our Montpelier Luxury Inn overlooks the village of Northfield, Norwich University, and the Sugarbush Mountain Peaks.The Northfield Inn has been lovingly restored to its charming and romantic Victorian elegance and tastefully decorated with antiques, oriental rugs, beds of brass, beautiful carved wood and luxurious European down bedding.Come home to distinctive accommodations, gourmet breakfasts, wide porches for rocking, quiet/scenic country roads and an unhurried existence. Experience Victorian elegance, comfort and congenial hospitality! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northfield Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.