We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Acres Inn & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Hero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shore Acres Inn & Restaurant
Save
You added Shore Acres Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
237 Shore Acres Dr., North Hero, VT 05474   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 North Hero B&B and Inns
Montreal
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was taken to this restaurant by some friends that live in Plattsburgh. This quaint and charming restaurant turned a rainy and chilly night into a fabulous evening. The restaurant is very cosy, the views of Lake Champlain are exceptional. The restaurant boasts delicious food, a great menu in which local produce is often used. The only thing that was disappointing was our waitress...very inattentive, hard to get her attention and never around to fill our empty delicious Prosecco glasses. It is a pity because the restaurant itself is a top experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    14
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
50
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Dummerston, VT
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a wonderful place to go to take a break from the world. Friendly people, excellent food, beautiful location right on Lake Champlain. Close to lots of great places, but not *too* close. So if you want a peaceful getaway; without having to travel forever, this is it.

Room Tip: Get one facing the lake (reserve early during the summer months). The '2 queen beds' have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stay here if you want to open your eyes and be able to see lake Champlain without lifting your head off the pillow!

The rooms are large and the beds comfortable, the owners are lovely and everything is spotless. But the gigantic green lawn and the huge shoreline on the lake were our favorite part. The night sky sparkled overhead since there is little light pollution and it was blissfully quiet. We couldn't have asked for a nicer 3 day weekend (except maybe no rain!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We visited a year ago so sorry for the late review. We visited Hero Island and were hungry and thirsty and it was a bit early for dinner. We stopped in another nearby restaurant and they didn't seem friendly and told us they weren't open. So, went a couple miles south and came upon Shore Acres where the staff made us feel welcome from the moment we walked in the door despite being there at about 4pm. We ordered drinks and apps. The wine selection was great and we ended up ordering several rounds of apps which ended up being dinner since we had about 5 rounds. We were welcomed to sit outside facing the lake and came in because the mosquitoes were biting. The staff gave us a lovely window seat and we felt right at home. I had a wine that was yummy and called the restaurant a couple weeks later and the owner gave me the name and was very kind. Can't say enough about how great everything was!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We've stayed lots of places in Vermont but we keep going back to Shore Acres in North Hero, Vermont. We've never, ever been disappointed in the rooms or the restaurant. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the view of the lake from our door is breath-taking. The meals, breakfast (included) and dinners have always been delicious. The owners are very friendly and really helpful. They even allow dogs! And you can't beat the scenery on the drive to North Hero. Sometimes you're driving right along the lakeshore, sometimes through farmland, and now and then through small Vermont villages. If you go in October, you might be treated to spectacular fall colors. Of course, if you want to be in the center of activity, this isn't the place to stay. But if you want a place to relax and enjoy the beautiful views. Shore Acres is it.

Room Tip: Any room in the main building. They all face Lake Champlain. Room 5 is large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were here in North Hero for a wedding at Grand Isle. What lovely place. Very clean and neat the rooms. Our room look out to Lake Champlain. You can sit outside and just take in the beautiful view. We were several couples of friends and we sat outside and talked, how relaxing that was. The breakfast was wonderful. What a wonderful place to come for some R&R.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We arrived at 1:00 on a dreary and drizzly day and got into our room right away. All rooms in the main building face Lake Champlain and have a large window. The view was very prettty and we could see mountins on the other side of the lake when the clouds lifted - it has to be a fantastic view on a nice day. You can sit in chairs on the lawn or under cover in front of the room. The impression of the rooms we got on the hotel website matched very closely with our room - no surprises. Only thing I found odd was that there was no coffee maker in the room. I went to the lobby and asked if they had any coffee and they said they'd put a pot on in the restauarant (which was closed at the time) - thought that was nice as they saved me a trip to the genreal store in North Hero. There's not much in the way of civilization near the hotel - a few stores and a couple restaurants. The restaurant in the hotel was good.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shore Acres Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Acres Inn & Restaurant

Address: 237 Shore Acres Dr., North Hero, VT 05474
Location: United States > Vermont > North Hero
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in North Hero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Shore Acres Inn & Restaurant Hotel North Hero
Shore Acres Inn And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Acres Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.