We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Comfort, Delightful Hostess” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Gnesta B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Gnesta B & B
Save
You added Little Gnesta B & B to your Saves list
115 Prospect St., Newport, VT 05855   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pure Comfort, Delightful Hostess”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My parents and I went to Newport for a Jay Peak foot race and stayed 5 nights in the Little Gnesta with Ruth (and Phillip the adorable terrier). This place was truly perfect in every way. The house is an historic old Newport home that has been painstakingly restored with a touch of Swedish inspired decor. We felt at home the minute we walked in the door.
We reserved the 2 bedrooms upstairs, which gave us total privacy and 2 bathrooms for our use. The whole house is immaculate, and attention to detail was apparent throughout. This is not a run-of-the mill B and B, this was the kind of place you wanted to dig in and stay forever!
Ruth, our lovely host, made the most scrumptious breakfasts for us every morning, complete with homemade granola, fresh bread, fresh picked berries (by Ruth!) and an array of cheeses, honeys, jams, and the best French press coffee. Our fellow guests were all very friendly and we enjoyed our mornings meeting and visiting with new and interesting people.
This is the perfect place for a couple, or two couples traveling together. In our case, we had an adult family getaway in a place we felt most at home in and found the perfect balance of company and privacy.
Ruth was happy to give us tips on what to do, where to eat, and what to see. And she has the most incredible library of books for guest use which was a real pleasure.
If staying in Newport, this is your place.

Room Tip: Room service and fitness center not applicable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThurEdos, Owner at Little Gnesta B & B, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
It was my great pleasure to host you and your parents. I'm so happy you enjoyed Little Gnesta and all the remarkable outdoor activities in this this beautiful part of Vermont at the Canadian border! Hope to see you all again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
107
11
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glens Falls, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Ruthie is a superb hostess. She is both friendly and also very professional. She attended to every detail of our stay. Our room was very tastefully decorated. I am not a fan of some B & B's that are excessive in their ruffles and lace. Little Gnesta is a European-style house. Look at all of the photos that others have posted and you can see how beautiful it is. Breakfast was fresh and delicious. The table was set with lovely glassware and silver. Ruthie had steered us to a very good restaurant in town, in walking distance, the evening we arrived. Our sleep was quiet and comfortable. We would recommend this B & B to anyone looking for a happy stay!

Room Tip: The first floor room is gorgeous and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We came to Newport only one night and really enjoyed our stay at Little Gnesta. The house is absolutely gorgeous, and our room was decorated with taste (simple, luminous, and elegant). Ruth was a great host and we enjoyed talking with her during breakfast. Philip (the dog) is the cutest! The food was delicious, most of it being local and/or homemade. The B&B is a short walk from Newport's main street and the lake, which made for a winning combination.

Green Features: Care is taken for this B&B to be green, which is much appreciated!
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

A bit of Sweden in Newport VT. The rooms bring one back to travelling throughout Europe. A beautiful house/inn completely refurbished and appointed with stylish Swedish style.

Ruth, the owner/inn host is friendly and always has homemade granola, plumb or rhubarb or apricot jams to take you to Europe quickly.

By far the best place in Newport and would be a winner even in the Stowe valley.

Room Tip: My favorite is Are (pronouced AIR). The most refreshing of all.
See more room tips
Green Features: A certified 'Green' hotel. Shoes off at the door with slippers provided.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We took a few days in Newport and stayed at Little Gnesta. Great location, including a walk to the top of the hill for a sunset over Lake Memphremagog. Ruth serves a delicious breakfast and her pup Phillip is well-behaved and great fun. Highly recommend the river paddle down the Clyde River.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Little Gnesta B&B is a wonderful treat, tucked into the Northern part of VT. A clean, inviting inn, with Swedish touches in the decor and an ample breakfast entice you to make many return visits in both winter and summer. Ruthie, the owner and hostess, is knowledgeable about the area, as well as sights and restaurants just over the Canadian boarder. The atmosphere is restful and relaxing, offering comfortable places to read as well as seating arrangements that encourage time to chat. Every effort was made to insure our comfort. We had a great visit and were pleased to find this little gem! With only four rooms, reserve early as this B&B is very popular.

Room Tip: All rooms seem quiet but we were traveling with our sons and enjoyed the two upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
Green Features: Organic food for ample breakfasts, reuse of linen and thoughtful use of local foods and merchants.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We (two couples) arrived quite late, but Ruth was flexible and once we were near town quickly helped us find the B&B. We loved breakfast (the butter dish!), which was tasty and just what we needed to start the day. Thank you for the hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Gnesta B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Gnesta B & B

Address: 115 Prospect St., Newport, VT 05855
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Swedish-inspired B & B on the isthmus that is downtown Newport, just steps from international Lake Memphremagog. Four simple, yet elegant rooms, combine Gustavian and Swedish-country design elements where you'll sleep "Scandinavian" with fluffy comforters atop queen-size Carpe Diem beds imported from Sweden. A simple buffet breakfast of crusty breads, granola, yogurt, meats and cheeses. Walk to dining and shopping. Free Wifi. Private baths. Bike trail along the lake to Quebec, Canada (6 miles) only two blocks away. Some French spoken. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Gnesta B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.