We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tourterelle Restaurant

Tourterelle Restaurant
3629 Ethan Allen Hwy, New Haven, VT 05472
802-453-6309
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in New Haven
Price range: $12 - $22
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our Story:In the late nineties, a beautiful event planner from Brittany met a young, American chef from New York. Before long they married and their union produced first a daughter and then a culinary revolution in Brooklyn, New York. Locals flocked to Loulou, their first French bistro, as much for chef Bill's lusty cuisine, as Christine's gracious charm. Before long, Loulou beget Cocotte, another French eatery that drew crowds. Other chefs followed them, lining the streets near the Snells' restaurants with all manner of eateries.The couple turned their sights on a life-long dream: to own an inn and restaurant in Vermont. The Snells purchased the well-regarded Roland's Place in New Haven, Vermont in July 2009, changing its name to Tourterelle to reflect its romantic theme as a serene restaurant, inn, and venue for special occasions.
Middlebury, Vermont
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“High expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We came with high expectations and for the most part were satisfied. The first impression is of a beautiful bar, but no bartender on a Saturday night? No problem, we were quickly seated at a very nice table in a beautiful room. The service seemed a little disorganized initially, but both servers were very friendly and things improved. The menu selections are tantalizing and the meal was delicious, except for the Escargot which seemed a little misguided with diced sausage, but I blame myself for ordering it - I usually can't resist Escargot. All in all a very nice evening.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding service; delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The food is equal to the other (few) great restaurants in Central-North Vermont. What is outstanding however is the service. No one comes to say, "I will be your server tonight" as though diners care who serves them. No one comes to ask, "How is everything?". After all, if the food is prepared as it should be there is no need to ask; if it is not so prepared a diner would bring that to the attention of the staff. No one comes to ask, "Can I get you anything else?". Again, shouldn't all we need already be on the table with the food? Best of all no one comes to take away a diner's plates before the others at the table have finished? Amazing and correct. In short, the excellent service makes for a relaxed and enjoyable experience. If only the other restaurants could adopt this approach dining out would always be pleasant even if the food is not always as good as is served at Tourterelle.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Elegant Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Our visit to Tourterelle was lovely; it's a beautiful restaurant. The service was excellent, helpful and responsive. The perfect place for a special occasion. In a place so lovely,I fully expected the food to rate a ten (well, lets say a 9, if we're comparing it to restaurants far and wide) but found that it fell short. Flavors were interesting, and although everything was nicely done, none of it was what you could call memorable.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

My wife and I went there for Easter Brunch, made reservations just a few days ahead of time. The service was really pleasant, very welcoming, and the food was outstanding. I had a crepe and my wife had the french toast. Prices were surprisingly affordable and the food was very good. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont, United States
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Here is outstanding French cooking in an unlikely place. Service was wonderful, the atmosphere was clean, hospitable and warm.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tourterelle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tourterelle Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.