We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shadow Lake cottage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Victorian Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Village Victorian Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Village Victorian Bed and Breakfast
107 Union Street, Morrisville, VT 05661   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Morrisville B&B and Inns
Coconut Creek, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Shadow Lake cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our family of five had the pleasure of renting the Shadow Lake Cottage in Glover, VT. last month. Phil was an excellent host - coming up from Morrisville to correct any problems - also available by phone. Problems were few. The cottage is just lovely. Completely finished and so comfortable and homey. The view of the Lake is wonderful from both outside the large picture window and the outside deck. A 5 min. walk through a cute path took us to the only public beach on the lake - shallow water, sand and congenial residents made us feel quite at home. We utilized the gas grill on the deck as well as the fire pit on the large lawn below the deck. Nightly s'more roasts allowed us to lay back and attempt to count the millions of stars in the night skies. All the rooms were comfortable, especially the large loft over the living area with it's beautiful view of the lake. All the amenities were clean and well stocked. We used many of the included games - croquet and horseshoes outside, monolpoly and other board games and jigsaw puzzles inside. It was a wonderful vacation that rested and invigorated us all. We highly recommend this cottage - the lake is beautiful, walking next to it is peaceful. We'd love to return soon. 5 star!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    14
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
47
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Two of my teenage children and I had a wonderful time here. We stayed on the third floor in a suite and they had their room and I had mine.Plus the bathroom has a jacuzzi tub and a shower with awesome water pressure. We had planned visits in the area and this was perfectly located. Morning breakfast was plentiful, fruits, local cheese, waffles, bacon and addt'l goodies. Recommend the Bees Knees in town. Phillip and Ellen were very helpful with directions and other places to visit. Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Relax and unwind in this historic home. Philip and Ellen pamper you with their delicious breakfasts each morning and really make your stay memorable with a personal touch. Each room is so homey and decorated to reflect the period of the early 1900's...so much nicer than a bland hotel room. Strolling through the perennial gardens and browsing in Ellen's gift shop was always a lovely way to start or end the day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife, our adult daughter and I stayed here three nights as part of a wedding party. The room was comfortable (yay for air conditioning) and the breakfasts tasty, with as much to eat as anyone might want. Hosts Philip and Ellen are friendly without being intrusive and their pancakes, waffles, french toast and bacon are just fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this B&B for our one year anniversary. Phil & Ellen were very accomodating throughout our stay. Ellen even arranged with my husband to have beautiful fresh flowers and champain waiting in my room for me one night! Phil is a wonderful cook and we enjoyed our breakfast which featured fresh fruit, waffles, bacon and lots of local and homemade special treats such as maple cream which Ellen sells in her gift shop. This was our first experiance with a B&B and we felt very comfortable there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay and wish we could have stayed longer. Our room was lovely, our breakfast was yummy and hearty, and our inn-keeper (Philip), who was flying solo while his wife was out of the country, was highly entertaining with his witty stories and lively conversation!

We will definitely return to the Village Victorian!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Reading, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Absolutely lovely owners. Felt like I was staying in my own comfortable home, without having to make the bed or the breakfast. And the breakfast ........ creamy yogurt, fresh fruits, made to order waffles & bacon, local syrup and jams, all served in a charming victorian dining room. Should I find myself in this cozy corner of Vermont again, I would book a room just so I could eat the breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Victorian Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Victorian Bed and Breakfast

Address: 107 Union Street, Morrisville, VT 05661
Location: United States > Vermont > Morrisville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Morrisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the grace and charm of our 1890's Victorian in the heart of the quiet little Village of Morrisville, just 7 miles from Stowe. 3 unique guest rooms, each with individual thermostats, very comfortable, top of the line, premium queen size bed, Cable TV, hair dryer, nite lite, air conditioner, and TV/VCR combination with remote. Extensive movie library is available. All guest rooms have full size private bathrooms with combination tub/showers... and then there is our Aster Suite... :) Guests also have use of laundry facility, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board. Fireplace is available to enjoy in the living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Village Victorian Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Victorian Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.