We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best get-away location... nearby” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muddy Moose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Muddy Moose to your Saves list
Muddy Moose
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   2930 Cote Hill Rd, Morrisville, VT 05661   |  
Hotel amenities
Nashua, NH
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best get-away location... nearby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Muddy Moose continues to exceed our expectations. We stayed over the 4th of July weekend (to get away from fireworks with our anxiety ridden dogs) and tried out a different cabin (#4) this time to take advantage of the shade and seclusion. The cabin was perfect and dog-friendly as always. We hiked the trails on property daily and the waterfalls were in rare form. We are looking forward to the completion of the new cabins and can't wait for a stay in the fall.

As always Check and Christine (and their dogs) were wonderful hosts and made the stay that much more special.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Went up for the weekend with my husband,daughter and our dog we stayed in cabin 1, Chuck was nice enough to set up roll away bed for our 4 year old so she could stay close to us! The grounds are amazing our dog loved it, and made a girlfriend with Chuck and Christine's dog Nutmeg! The cabin was spotless! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed in Cabin #1 which is perfect for a couple. We were looking for a quiet dog friendly cabin that was near some trails to go snowshoeing for the weekend. The cabin we stayed in at Muddy Moose was absolutely perfect and hands down the nicest dog friendly place we have been to yet (and we travel with our dog quite a bit). The cabin was incredibly clean, spacious and had anything you would need for your stay. We had access to their private trails just steps off the back porch and a beautiful mountain view. We spent the morning snowshoeing their trails with our dog and had a blast. Christine and Chuck were even nice enough to lend us their extra snow shoes which saved us from having to rent them!! They were super nice and helpful from the moment I called to book the cabin right up through check out. The cabins are quiet and secluded, located at the end of the street but just a short drive to town where there are plenty of restaurants, grocery stores, shops, etc. Stowe and Smugglers Notch are also close by for more recreation. We will definitely be going back again in the summer / fall to enjoy some warmer weather hiking!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Muddy Moose, from our arrival Chuck and Christine were super helpful and gave us lots of advice and tips on the local areas. The cabins are beautiful, finished to a very high standard, very clean and spacious. The location is ideal if you are looking to get away from it all, just a short ride into Stowe, where there are plenty of yummy places to eat. We went snow mobiling and snow shoeing over the weekend and had a blast. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Setauket, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The Muddy Moose is a fantastic place! The owners were so welcoming and friendly. The service was great. The cabins were perfect. They were stocked with everything you could need. The grounds were beautiful. We will DEFINITELY be back!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed at the Muddy Moose Jan 13 to 16 2014, 3 Nights. Stayed in Cabin # 1. It was beautiful ! As I do travel constantly, I must say that this property is a five star. I have never stayed at a property that was so clean. All of your cooking needs are all of number 1 quality. This is a little hidden Gem, and the owners .....FANTASTIC ! Very Private with the added personal touch. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.......Thank - You....it was wonderful.....

Room Tip: If you are only two people....this cabin is plenty big. Beautiful bedroom, kitchen, living room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We spent three wonderful days and nights in the one-bedroom cabin in October. The cabin was immaculate, well-furnished and extremely comfortable. The kitchen was fully-equipped for as much cooking as anyone would want to do. The mountain views from the porch were gorgeous and the rockers very comfortable! The other cabins were occupied as well, but the property is quiet and secluded and we never noticed our neighbors or any noise. The property contains its own extensive hiking trails, and the game room was great. The owners are friendly and thoughtful, and we thoroughly enjoyed the visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Muddy Moose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muddy Moose

Address: 2930 Cote Hill Rd, Morrisville, VT 05661
Location: United States > Vermont > Morrisville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Morrisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Muddy Moose 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose from one, two, or three bedroom log cabins. Each spacious cabin is newly constructed, tastefully decorated and fully equipped. Whether you enjoy the many on-site activities or take advantage of our proximity to Stowe, your time here will be both refreshing and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Muddy Moose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muddy Moose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.