We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with very helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Montpelier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inn at Montpelier to your Saves list
Inn at Montpelier
147 Main Street, Montpelier, VT 05602   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Montpelier B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with very helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

A lovely and comfortable place to stay in the heart of Monteplier. Very convenient location, within walking distance of everything Montpelier has to offer. Lovely classic style Inn, with all the amenities. The room my wife and I stayed in was quite large and comfortable.

Very impressed with the friendly and helpful staff and management. They went out of their way to help in a an emergency (had a car issue on the day of departure and they were extraordinarily helpful).

Was very pleased with our stay there and would highly recommend the place to anyone. Beats the impersonal large hotel chains by a mile.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    26
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
11
58
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

A little past peak, but the scenery was still beautiful. Crisp autumn weather, although we wished the evenings had been a little warmer to take advantage of that wonderful porch. The town was a little more industrial than expected (esp. for a capital), but the inn is within walking distance of many local sites and surprising good and affordable restaurants. The innkeepers could not have been more accommodating and the inn itself is a wonderful old house with great woodwork and nooks and crannies. We definitely plan to go back--and take advantage of that huge porch when it's a little warmer!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

My visit occurred the evening of Friday, October 8th. The Innkeeper, John Underwood, greeted my companion and me graciously and almost immediately served up a fantastic cocktail for each of us. We had a pleasant conversation and then up to the room which was reasonably appointed in a typically charming no nonsense NE style, immaculately clean and comfortable.with a private bath. The Inn was completely booked but you would never suspect it. The place was eerily quiet and the serenity of this charming 19th century complex of buildings was pervasive. The bed was very comfortable and there is temperature control in every room. The next morning we were treated to a more than generous continental breakfast, complete with Green Mountain Coffee and delicious deviled eggs served up by the friendly staff. The owners (originally from Ohio) are fairly new, having purchased the Inn little more than a year ago. The common areas are beautifully and lavishly decorated but at the same time tastefully welcoming. Though not inexpensive, you do receive good value for your dollar. I would enthusiastically recommend this place to any traveler seeking the NE experience. The Inn is perfectly situated and within walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

My husband and I had the pleasure of spending one night in the Inn. We chose a standard room online and were very comfortable and pleased with the room and bathroom. We were happy with the proximity to the town, (within walking distance). Beautiful old historical town and Inn!! Online it was indicated there would be a continental breakfast. We were pleasanlty surprised with the presentation of the breakfast items, diningroom and breakfast room. The hostess promptly greeted us and brought us our hot tea and coffee and kept it coming. To our delight there were deviled eggs (very good) instead of the standard scrambled eggs served at many inns and hotels. The homemade granola was delicious. There were several breads/pastries from a nearby bakery, a variety of jams and jellies, along with a large bowl of fresh fruit and banana slices. More than what we expected for a continental breakfast! Our only disappointment was that when we checked in, the gentleman who helped us, ( who was fairly new there), did not tell us about the pantry, which is open to all guests. When we learned of it later, we took hot tea up to our room. We unfortunately missed out on cookies and apples which were there earlier. It would have been good if the gentleman checking us in had mentioned the pantry to us. It also would have been nicer to have another chair in our room, however, we chose the standard room (for the price) and the size most likely would not accomodate another large chair.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

The Inn itself was a beautiful building and great location in town. The room was very nice and clean; however, we were very disappointed in the breakfast -- we look forward to staying in B&Bs because typically they have a delicious breakfast. The inn basically had a continental breakfast that you could get at a Quality Inn, which is fine, but certainly not a draw to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

My Wife and I attended a Conference at the VT College of Fine Arts. We were one of at least three couples who opted to stay at this property. Their website along with the reviews looked great. Unfortunately our stay was anything but. We arrived late the first day, so we did not actually meet the Innkeepers upon checkin. Our conference included tours departing from the College at 7:00am each day. Imagine our surprise when we learned that even on weekdays, no breakfast was available before 7:30. This included coffee. One of the other couples arranged for at least some food to be left for them, something they graciously shared that first morning. When we tried to arrange something for the next day, we were told food would be left and someone would at least get the coffee going the next day. here it should be noted that the Innkeepers supposedly live onsite, so coming down and starting a coffee pot should not be a big deal, particularly when the guests are paying TOP dollar to stay (>$240 a night). Apparnetly it was a big deal since my wife went to get coffee for us and ran into the owner John coming down to start the coffee AFTER my wife had already made instant again. When she said something, she got an earful of complaint. The owner was similarly argumentative when I wnet to check out and I said something both about the breakfast situation (BTW, it's 8:am on the weekend) and the fact that we had noted that our sheets were stained and the room cleaning was marginal at best. one of the other couples staying had mentioned their bathroom remained uncleaned EVEN after they had complained upon checklin. Bottom-line is the proprietors of this Inn seem to think that owning the property and collecting money is ALL they need to do. I STRONGLY encourage individuals seeking a stree-free expereince to avoid this property, particularly if you like an early morning cup of coffee. Two other things worth mentioning - when asked by one of the ladfies staying there with our group about directions to VCFA, one of the owners gave incorrect directions. This is rather odd since a) VCFA is very close to the INN and b) it's only been there since sometime in the 1800's. The same owner didn't know of any other breakfast options in the area open early even though every local we talked to mentioned at least two. The Corner Diner is excellent by the way. Please save yourself some money and avoid this place. One last thing, although not the focus of most trips to this area, one does like to check their email. The advertised free wifi did not extend to the second building that we were in. I could see the signal but it was not strong enough to connect to.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We only stayed here one night, on a trip with Canadian cousins, but wish it had been longer. Karel and John were delightful welcoming hosts to their lovely 19th century Inn. Our room was in the smaller of the two houses but it was very spacious and the extra space provided by the separate pantry and lounge area made it feel vast. Our cousins' room was in the main building and was just as comfortable. The delightful reception rooms were fascinating but the jewel in the crown was the enormous porch on the front and to the side of the Inn; what could be nicer after a day driving across Vermont than to sit and sip a reviving glass of something and have plenty of space to stretch?
The breakfast the following morning was just as good as we'd expected, plenty of fresh bread from the local bakery, scones, pastries, croissants and jam, hard boiled eggs, an enormous bowl of fresh fruit salad and the bottomless coffee pot - just the job!
A pity we had to move on as we had all fallen under the charm of that elegant Inn at Montpelier!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Montpelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Montpelier

Address: 147 Main Street, Montpelier, VT 05602
Location: United States > Vermont > Montpelier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montpelier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Montpelier offers a classic New England experience, with charming accommodations and close proximity to local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Inn at Montpelier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Montpelier Hotel Montpelier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Montpelier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.