We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Wi-Fi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol Grounds

Capitol Grounds
27 State St, Montpelier, VT 05602-2946
8022237800
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 47 Restaurants in Montpelier
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Café, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout
Florida
Top Contributor
404 reviews 404 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Free Wi-Fi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We arrived in town looking for a Starbucks and were told that there aren't any in downtown Montpelier, but that Capitol Grounds was only a block away. We wanted hot lattes, a snack, and free Wi-Fi so we could find a deal on a hotel in the area for the night.
The store was almost completely sold out of everything in the bakery case by the time we arrived at 5:00. Fortunately a batch of chocolate chip cookies had just come out of the oven not long before we got there, and had cooled enough to eat.
Since maple latte was an option I'd never heard of and since we were in Vermont, I couldn't order anything else. It was surprisingly good, as was the CC cookie.
The young lady who took our order was very pleasant, and the store is cute and clean. Plenty of space to sit with your technological devices, but you can't sit here all day. A purchase comes with a code for one hour of complimentary Wi-Fi, which happened to work well for us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    29
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montpelier, Vermont
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Way over priced and horribly slow!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The title of my review really says it all. The place is way over priced and an order for a breakfast burrito or simple breakfast sandwich can often take half an hour for the kitchen to prepare and the coffee is often not hot or the dispensers are empty. The counter service is inconsistent. Every once in a while they will be friendly and pleasant but most often they behave as if they are doing you a favor. While Capitol Grounds is the "trendy" spot in Montpelier for coffee and the only specialty coffee shop in town, I'd suggest going elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great latte and pastry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great latte and pastry! Worth a stop if you are in town, and need a java fix. Nice place to sit and visit, read, or get some work done.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Mmmm, delicious iced latte”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My first time in here, had a fabulously delicious iced latte. The espresso was full flavored without being bitter at all. I'd love to go back and try a breakfast sandwich. Great atmosphere and outdoor seating to boot!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is everything a coffee shop should be. Great coffee and food served in a relaxing atmosphere.
Staff were helpful - although we were there on a busy lunchtime and some of the customers in the queue seemed to be surprisingly pushy.
You need to ask for a Wifi pass code to get online.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capitol Grounds also viewed

Montpelier, VT
 

Been to Capitol Grounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Grounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.