We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good takeout” 4 of 5 stars
Review of China Star Chinese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
China Star Chinese Restaurant
15 Main St, Montpelier, VT 05602-2929
(802) 223-0808
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 46 restaurants in Montpelier
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Montpelier, Vermont
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good takeout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Fast, fresh, well-prepared food...tables to dine in or you can take out.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

53% Recommend
    1
    6
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northfield
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good for a quick takeout”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

China Star offers quite a variety of adequate fare. The meat is sometimes scarce and not always trimmed to my liking. I really like the Hot and Sour soup.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ok if you have noplace else open”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Food is sometimes disappointing. If you order any dish that has breading such as sesame chicken or general tsaos ect be prepared to eat mostly batter (hardly no meat) in a so so sauce. I have got food here when desperate and everytime we order take out they forget to give us some of our food and if you have an issue its difficult because nobody there speaks or understands english at all. House special soup is good...

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex, Vermont
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gross!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

I placed a to-go order on my way home from work. It is about a 25 minute drive. When we got home the food was horrible!! After 40.00 later my family and I had to cook!!! The rice was HARD, it crunched!!! The General Tsos Chicken for mostly batter, no chicken taste and the crab ragoon was cooked in oil that needed to be changed. When I called to complain she told me " U lie" I wnet right down and took her the food!!!!! She tried to give me my money back...but I left! I will NEVER EAT HERE AGAIN!

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montpelier, Vermont
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food in a surprising location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Despite it's dismal location and lack of ambient decor, the food more than makes up for what it lacks. The ingredients are fresh and prepared well with pleasant service. The bathroom is spotless...proving Anthony Bourdain's maxim that if the bathroom is well taken care of, the kitchen will be clean and the food good.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Star Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to China Star Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Star Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.