We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Classic and Clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Capitol Plaza to your Saves list
Capitol Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Montpelier
COURTICE
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very Classic and Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed her over night on our way to Maine. This hotel has Clean well deorated rooms all differnt. the staff was very helpful and friendly. We would recommend this hotel to anybody staying in this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VermontTravelfamily, Manager at Capitol Plaza, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear BIGDEB,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I'll be sure to share it with our housekeepers and our staff. Hope the rest of your trip to Maine was perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    51
    38
    15
    11
See reviews for
31
50
11
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a unique old hotel in downtown Montpelier - the hotel has office space, retail and restaurants and this is an old hotel. The hotel has been renovated but you can tell this hotel has been across from the capitol for a while. The hotel is very clean and well appointed, they even provide chocolates on the pillow! The room is average size but has a very comfortable bed a nice well lite bathroom and a comfortable chair to relax in.

The best feature of this hotel is its location, it is across the street from the movie theatre, the history museum and capitol and a short walk to downtown. There is plenty of parking in the rear. To me, this is probably the best hotel in town. However, the choices seem pretty limited.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VermontTravelfamily, Manager at Capitol Plaza, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Crapsguy,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. I will share your positive review with our staff, especially the housekeeping department, who work very hard to provide a clean and comfortable experience.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

As you can see from my title, I debated between giving the Capitol Plaza an "average" or "very good" rating. I recently stayed here for two nights on a business trip. One of the pros of this hotel is that it's in a great location. Although Montpelier is a very small state capitol, Capitol Plaza is within walking distance to some bars and restaurants. The hotel also has a bit of an "old charm" to it, but, overall, it's a bit tired. But, I must say, the workers were very friendly.

Also, my room was relatively clean, but nothing outstanding. And, even though I received a business discount, I still think the price for the hotel is a bit high.

I would stay here again, but mainly because there are few other options.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed here for business in July. There's not much to select from in Montpelier so if you don't want to stay in a B&B then there are very few options. The Capitol Plaza was nice- the front desk was friendly, the food in the steakhouse was very good, and I liked the free flavored water they had in the lobby. The downsides are the "business center" is really just a computer and ink jet printer in the lobby, the rooms are nothing special (and mine overlooked the back parking lot), it is unclear whether they offer room service or not (no menu in the room and I was told no but then I saw drinks being delivered to a room one night) which is a huge minus to someone traveling for business, and the shop in the lobby only sells trinkets and not little snacks or things one might need while on a trip. The downtown is tiny so of course the hotel is in a good location. It is a pleasant walk to local restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VermontTravelfamily, Manager at Capitol Plaza, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Numero10,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing what you enjoyed and what you would like to see added.

I'm glad you liked the little touches such as the flavored water in the lobby.

We do offer full-service room service in the hotel. The menus are in the desk drawer along with the hotel and area information booklet. We do understand the importance of room service.

For convenience, there are soft drink and snack machines on the guest room floors.

There are some items guests might need in the gift shop, such as ties and umbrellas. Toothbrushes and other amenities are available at the front desk.

I do like your idea of offering other snacks in the gift shop. Honestly, because of the room service, snack machines, and full convenience store next door, we never thought about adding them to the git shop. Now I will look into adding some to our gift shop.

Thank you for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel is in the heart of this smallest capital city of the US and I imagine is used to accommodating travelling government on expense accounts. Our suite was adequate for the $220 we paid except for the ultra modern sink in the bathroom that was interesting but useless for its intended purpose.

We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant (J. Morgan's) which is somewhat overpriced, a pork chop special was $27. I was paying by credit card and I checked with our waiter that he would get the tip if I added it to my card. He assured me that he would and I proceeded to look at the bill. It was then that I noticed that a 20% gratuity had already been added.

I believe the onus is on the restaurant to inform customers of this practise before they are seated. If I had not noticed the 20% added to the bill the waiter would have gladly taken the extra.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Frankly speaking the only reason to stay here is its location. It's very tired, room smelled stale and AC unit kept waking us up as it cycled on an off. Fancy soap on the bathroom doesn't make up for these basic needs.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VermontTravelfamily, Manager at Capitol Plaza, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Paul,

Thank you for staying with us and your review.

We do not rely on just location. We strive to provide the highest level of service, updated hotel rooms with fresh white down bedding, and modern amenities such as the keurig coffee maker and flat screen tvs.

We have had an unseasonably warm and rainy summer, which has resulted in the air conditioning units running constantly. We believe that is what is causing the stale room smell when you first enter. We are addressing this issue by opening up the windows (hopefully the cooler days will blow fresh air through), and using a deodorizer in the vacuums. This is new so thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel by far is the most dirty hotel I have ever stayed in! If I new it was that bad I would have slept in my car. I had to swith rooms 3 times before having to settle for the least of 3 dirty rooms. Common problem in all 3 rooms were that they smelled of a terrible musty odor. The shower in all of the rooms had black mold in them that had been there so long the housekeeper could not even remove it. The dust by the night stand was so thick you could not see the carpet. The ceiling in the bathroom had yellow stains from a leak I'm assuming. Do yourself a favor and don't ruin your weekend by staying in this outdated dirty hotel! Not one time during my stay did any member of management ever come to my room or contact me about the issuesi was having.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VermontTravelfamily, Manager at Capitol Plaza, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear medman74,

I'm sorry you were so disappointed in our hotel. Our housekeeping staff works very hard to provide clean hotel rooms for all of our guests. I have shared with them your concern regarding dust by the night stand. Rest assure, there is no mold in our tubs. The discoloration you are referring is from the slip resistant stickers on the bottom of the tub. We're looking into your comment regarding the musty smell. It has been very warm and the air conditioners are running constantly in the rooms.
I did not know you had wanted to speak to a manager. The front desk staff informed me of your discontent after you had checked out. She shared how she offered you other rooms and a discount, but that other than a $60 rate you were going to write a bad review on TripAdvisor.
We take all of our guests' concerns and reviews seriously and address all of them to correct any deficiencies we might have.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Capitol Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Plaza

Address: 100 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Montpelier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Montpelier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the conveniences and location of a city hotel, with the charm of a VT country inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Capitol Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Plaza Montpelier
Capitol Plaza Hotel Montpelier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.