We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The restaurant's not too bad, but the hotel is overpriced and did not meet expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Capitol Plaza to your Saves list
Capitol Plaza
100 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Montpelier
Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The restaurant's not too bad, but the hotel is overpriced and did not meet expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed at the Capital Plaza on a recent business trip to Montpelier. I had dinner shortly after arriving and found the service in the restaurant to be good, the food better than what I expected, and the place pours a good drink. I tried the Ahi Tuna and it was expertly prepared to medium rare. The accompanying rice and vegetables were perfect. The hotel itself is a different story. It's really the only choice in downtown Montpelier so they have a corner on the market. This is an old hotel that could be a grand place if some attention had been paid to architectural details. Instead, the rooms are so-so, they have been remodeled using low-end materials like flush wooden doors (straight out of a 1970's DIY project, vinyl shower enclosures and inexpensive appointments. Where are the solid six-panel doors, ceramic tile and cozy New England charm? For the price of the room, I expected much more. The rooms are of average size, and are inadequately equipped for today's business traveler. When I arrived the bathroom floor and tub had hair everywhere and there was a stack of wet towels from a previous guest! So much for housekeeping. All-in-all, except for the restaurant, this hotel does not meet its potential.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    44
    34
    14
    11
See reviews for
26
49
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Good location in Montpelier, attentive staff, but a little over-priced for what you get. Tried to have room service at 10pm but the kitchen had already closed. Quiet and clean. No pool, nothing special at all for kids.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

I was on the road doing business, and was booked at the last second at a downtown Montpelier hotel. There really is just one hotel downtown, and this is it. Usually, I am stuck near the highway, and have to run across the exit and entrance ramps to get breakfast.

This hotel is right smack across from the Capitol Cinema and the State Capitol building. It's big, and it's very clean. Sure, you might pay a little bit more than normal, but for such a location, you could also be paying a lot more.

I don't know much about the town, although I have explored just about everywhere else in Vermont. Montpelier is the perfect blend of old school Yankee Vermont, and new age progressive Vermont. The shops downtown are busy and vibrant, and the traffic isn't overwhelming, unlike Burlington, Rutland and even Brattleboro can be. Things are a little more open in Montpelier, and there are plenty of things to do.

I liked it so much, I'm coming back with my wife to celebrate our anniversary!

Room Tip: Get a deluxe double. They are the cheapest (about $150)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed the eve of Rook Week 2006 and for Finals week May 2010. Perfect, cozy, outstanding food, I want to go back. Places like this make me really miss going to school in Vermont. Great getaway for cadets and their families before, during, and after school, ESPECIALLY for families of the Norwich rooks.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Not many choices in the state capital, so room prices tend to be higher here than at comparable hotels elsewhere.

Room Tip: rooms facing State Street might be more interesting than those facing the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

clean, friendly, convenient to Montpelier shopping.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Our room was clean and well maintained. I liked the old charm feel of our tiny room, but this may not be the case for every one. It was nice to have the free parking and internet and it's in a good location. Unfortunately, I don't think it's worth the $170/night that we paid. Very few options in Montpelier though. Still undecided if I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Capitol Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Plaza

Address: 100 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Montpelier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Montpelier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the conveniences and location of a city hotel, with the charm of a VT country inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Capitol Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Plaza Montpelier
Capitol Plaza Hotel Montpelier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.