We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hosts, great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   195 Main Street, Montgomery Center, VT 05471   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
1 review
“lovely hosts, great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very friendly folks running a very quaint New England style inn. Has a hot tub, nicely decorated rooms, a big breakfast. Highly recommended if you are staying near Jay Peak. The Bulldog room had plenty of space for 4.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren D, Owner at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for the kind review, Tom! Please come back with your family when you can stay for more than just one night. We'd love to host you for an extended stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    27
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
128
488
22
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We stayed just two short nights at the Phineas Swann for a ski trip and loved every second of our time there. Darren and Lynne were fantastic hosts and they have created such a comfortable and inviting place to relax after a day of skiing. I am sure we will be back next ski season and for many years to come!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren D, Owner at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2015
We're glad you enjoyed your ski trip. During your stay, you asked if we get a lot of guests from as far away as Maryland, DC and Virginia. The answer is an unequivocal yes! It's an extra two-hour drive from Vermont's southern ski resorts to our B&B at the base of Jay Peak, but skiers and people in the know like you understand the extra two hours is worth it! We hope to see you again next ski season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rindge, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

We planned for a few days of skiing at Jay Peak - we arrived at the inn frazzled, as our car almost died right before we arrived there, just before 5 pm. Lynne called the local garage for us, where our car stayed for a few days. In the meantime, Darren & Lynne took wonderful care of us in their beautiful inn - fed us delicious breakfasts (willing to prepare an alternate offering, if necessary), had coffee/tea/hot chocolate and snacks available, a fire in the fireplace in the living room, and even drove us to the mountain to ski (as our car was out of commission). The inn was impeccably clean, attractively decorated and comfortable. Plus, the price was very reasonable. They recommended Bernie's Restaurant in town, which we could walk to, that we were very pleased with. If you have dogs, they have suites available where you can have them. Children are also welcome in the suites. Also, the wifi was very good, which is unusual in many hotels/inns.

We will definitely return if we are in the area

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren D, Owner at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2015
We're glad your vacation, which started out with car trouble, ended up being a great week of skiing, breakfasts and relaxation. We're glad you found our prices very reasonable, especially considering all the extras we include during guests' stay. Finally, we're thrilled you noted our free WiFi. We make sure we have the widest pipes possible, something a lot of other hotels & inns don't bother with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Just returned home from a short 2 night ski trip to Jay Peak. Chose the Phineas Swan based on the reviews and we were not disappointed. We were warmly welcomed by Lynn and Darren the innkeepers. My husband forgot his ski boots and they directed to the sports shop just a short distance from the inn where he was able to reasonably rent some boots and have his skis tuned. The accommodations were clean, quiet and very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and just what was needed for a day of skiing. We will most definitely stay there again on a visit to Jay.
Thank you for making our mini vacation so relaxing. - m. ryan

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren D, Owner at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2015
We're glad your ski trip turned out OK, and we were able to help you overcome the hiccup with the boots! We have a great relationship with the FIrstTrax ski shop here in Montgomery Center, and they'll even deliver skis and boots to our guests here at the Phineas Swann when needed! Thanks for the great compliments and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanesville, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

We had a wonderful mini vacation at the Phineas Swann. We stayed in the Black Bear suite, a large one bedroom apartment with full kitchen and living room. It is in the River House, a quaint two story home behind the main house. We had a lovely view of the Trout river from our balcony. The kitchen was fully equipped and the dining area and living room were very cozy and comfortable for the 2 of us and our dog. The big queen was extremely comfortable. We were in Vermont to snowboard at Jay Peak. Our suite had plenty of room for all of our gear, and the drive to Jay was very easy.

The greatest thing about the Phineas Swann were our hosts, Lynne and Darren. They were wonderful. Super friendly, and they served a delicious breakfast every morning. Lynne gave us great advice on where to eat dinner. We took her advice and had unexpectedly delicious meals in the small town of Montgomery. We walked over to Bernie's for their "mexican night" on Tuesday. Then we had amazing french food at the Belfry Pub up the road (5 minute drive). Lynne and Darren really made an effort to make everything comfortable and accessible. Love the snacks!!

When they say pet friendly, they really mean it. We brought our dog, who was given a fresh clean bed and was taken for walks upon our request. We were able to enjoy our day at the mountain without having to worry about her. Their staff was also great, friendly, helpful and our dog loved her (thanks Barbara!). Having mild pet allergies, i was a little worried that the rooms would be obviously pet inhabited, but not at all. There was not a bit of fur to be found, nor any pet smells. Everything was completely clean and fresh. We have already been recommending the Phineas Swann to our friends who ski/snowboard love to travel and have dogs.

Thanks again, and hope to see you next year.
-Christina, Jack and Taika!

Green Features: excellent, there was obvious attention made to be environmentally friendly
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren D, Owner at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words and detailed review for future guests! We enjoyed your stay and were glad the Black Bear Suite was such a hit for you. We appreciate you pointing out how our B&B differs from so many pet-friendly hotels: We clean our rooms and suites meticulously, so you don't ever feel you're staying in a "dog room." Instead, you get to enjoy a clean, fresh room whether you visit us with a pet or not. In the last two weeks we've had two guests with dog allergies stay in pet-friendly suites, and while both had concerns beforehand, afterwards they admitted they had no difficulties and in fact, couldn't even imagine a dog had ever even been in the room! Thanks again for enjoying the Phineas Swann, the town of Montgomery and all the fun of Jay Peak. Come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mad River Valley, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Hosts Darren & Lynne welcomed us warmly to their beautiful Inn. Every space is well thought out, clean, & comfortable. Furnishings are luxurious without bring stuffy or overdone. Breakfast & snacks are freshly prepared & delicious, not an afterthought. From long distance calls & wifi to beer, wine, & movies, everything is provided. Even the dog was provided for, with biscuits, bowls, & towels. Only regret: wish the hot tub was warmer, 88 degrees after skiing all day not as relaxing as we hoped. We will definitely return next winter.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren D, Owner at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2015
Sarah:
Thank you so much for your very generous review. We love that you appreciated all the little things we provide that hotels don't, or choose to charge you extra for. We try and anticipate everyone's needs, and I love your description of our bed and breakfast as "luxurious without being stuffy or overdone!" We'd love to borrow that from you if we could! Thanks for noting the issue with our hot tub. We noticed the temperature issue the day you left, and quickly found a heater sensor had burned out. We've since replaced the part and now the next time you come, you and all our other guests will be able to adjust the temperature to your liking, from 90 to 104 degrees! We look forward to seeing you next winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

Thank you Darren and Lynne for this great getaway!
The Black Bear Suite was very comfortable and warm in spite of the very cold weather outside. Breakfast was delicious, thanks for the complimentary drinks and snacks!
We would recommend staying at Phineas Swann to anyone travelling or vacationing in the area. Can't wait to see how it looks in the summer!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren D, Owner at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2015
Thank you so much for the compliments, Ferris! We're glad you were toasty warm in your huge suite by the banks of the Trout River on our campus. We look forward to seeing you again this summer. It's like a totally different place each season of the year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 195 Main Street, Montgomery Center, VT 05471
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Montgomery Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to pampered luxury at our romantic not just pet-friendly, but PET CENTRIC inn. Our all-season retreat, located only 7 miles from Jay Peak Ski and Golf Resort, offers unparalleled comfort and personal service. Rooms and suites feature four-poster beds, fine antiques, luxurious linens, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, individual climate controls with Air Conditioning (a rarity for northern Vermont), televisions with HD Cable with movie channels and DVD players in all rooms, Free local and long distance calling , and Free WiFi internet plus a guest computer in our lounge. Extensive public areas and gardens open to all guests. Unlimited all day coffee, tea, soda, hot chocolate and apple cider, snacks and treats. TV room with large screen plasma TV. Located directly on the Trout River. Outdoor Hot Tub. Dinner served with advance reservations. Hiking, Biking (home of Bike VT bicycling tours for our area), Canoeing and Guide Services in the area. Rated number one in the state on TripAdvisor overall, and rated the most pet friendly inn in New England on TripAdvisor. Incredible personalized service from on site owners who are available to help you 24 hours a day. LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phineas Swann b&b Inn
Phineas Swann Hotel Montgomery Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.