We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST-DO!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   195 Main Street, Montgomery Center, VT 05471   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A MUST-DO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were absolutely amazed at the quality and five-star service of the Phineas Swann. The owners, Lynn and Darren are living their dream, and their passion and enthusiasm pervades everything they do.
They had expert advice to give on everything to do or see that we threw at them within a four hour drive, from dog sledding, to yarn shops and fiber arts, and snowshoeing. (Not that you had to go more than five minutes for any of those three, but they could speak to the competition. :-)
Our family is gluten free, and they created gourmet, gluten free breakfast for us every day. We saved $50/day, with breakfast for a family of four being included!
The Phineas Swann is truly a dog-fiendly establishment. Our two year old mastiff came along, and they had a gigantic, high end dog bed and bowls waiting for us, so that we didn't have to drag ours along. Our daughters (10 and 12) made us promise that we'll go back soon- the entire stay from start to finish, couldn't have been better!

Green Features: Everything that can be locally sourced is, from soap to food. Their entire operation has renewable and environmentally friendly as a main objective.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren D, Owner at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We greatly appreciate the compliments on our gluten-free menu. Lynne is an outstanding baker and she bakes delicious gluten-free and regular breads, muffins, cookies and other delights. We don't want any guest to feel they won't have an outstanding breakfast here at the Phineas Swann. We're also glad your daughters and mastiff want to come back. Yours is the second mastiff we've hosted in the past six months, and we mention them often to assure guests that no dog is too big or too small to stay with us at the Phineas Swann!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    26
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
120
473
22
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We arrived at this pet friendly b&b for the first time and we were met by 1/2 of the most gracious hosts we have met at a b&b. They welcomed us and our two dogs with cookies for the pets and us...lol and two big beds for the little dogs and a beautiful suite on the trout river for me and my Valentine.
They arranged for flowers and a bottle of champagne to be delivered on Valentines day.
We skied at Jay peak ( just up the road) and our hosts arranged a dog sled ride for us.
The local places we walked to for lunch and dinner were all great places.
Breakfast was a fresh treat every morning at the Phineas Swan.
Go and experience this place and the local community.
We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren D, Manager at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Lynne & I are so glad you were able to enjoy a romantic and relaxing stay with us! Flowers, champagne, a dogsled ride, fresh breakfasts. You guys do romance right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Outstanding service! Darren and Lynne were fantastic. Very friendly and super helpful with anything and everything we needed. The purpose of our trip was to ski but my wife hurt her thumb two days before our tip. Darren gave us a list of other things we could enjoy instead and set everything up for us. The breakfast each day was delicious (stuffed French toast to die for). We couldn't have asked for a better stay. This was our first trip to Vermont and we will defiantly be back and won't think of going anywhere else to stay. We are so busy in our everyday life that this was the most relaxing trip we have had in a long time.

Room Tip: We stayed in the trout river suit, great for our dog. Perfect amount of space with great convinces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren D, Owner at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We appreciate your compliments and are glad you got a chance to relax during your stay with us. You provide other future guests with good advice: Just because you're not going downhill skiing doesn't mean there's not tons of things to do here in northern Vermont. We hope to see both of you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, PA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

In search for snow and a place to XC Ski, we made a last minute reservation at the Phineas. From the time we arrived, the hospitality was remarkable. Darren & Lynne were wonderful hosts, it was hard to believe that they have only owned the B&B since July! The B&B was beautiful, more so than we had expected. We stayed in the red room in the main house which was a little small but very comfortable and clean. The large bed took up most of the room although being high off the floor I was able to put some of my ski gear underneath. The breakfasts were fantastic; stuffed French toast, eggs benedict. We extended our stay and plan to return again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren D, Owner at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thanks for your compliments! We're so glad you found us in your search for great cross-country skiing. We're lucky in that we have two great resources within 5 miles from us in the Hazens Notch Association, and its great network of trails, and the Nordic Center at Jay Peak Ski Resort. Together they offer a great range of choices for our guests. We've had several stay with us and start out at the resort downhill skiing, only to discover the joys of backcountry skiing in our beautiful mountains. We hope we get to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This was our first time to the Phineas Swann and it won’t be our last. Lynne and Darren are friendly and absolutely fabulous hosts with lots of great tips on where to eat, best place to park at Jay Peak…. Our room was cozy and just wonderful. Lynne helped convince my girlfriend to go into their outdoor hot tube when it was -5F outside and she loved it. I need to eat gluten free and when I told Darren about this he said without missing a beat “I’ve got you covered” and he did. Every breakfast was magnificent as was wine by the fireplace in the evening. If you stay at the Phineas Swann you will love it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Room and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren D, Owner at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Stephen, thank you for the very kind compliments! We always try to have *all* our guests covered. We offer not only gluten-free recipes, but accommodate those with other food allergies, vegetarian, vegan, low-fat -- in short, we can work around any dietary need. As your might expect from a Bed & Breakfast, we take the 'breakfast' part very seriously. We're glad we were able to make your stay so great. (And we applaud you for both of your bravery and bravado in enjoying the hot tub in -5. It's actually pretty invigorating).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Phineas Swann just list last weekend for our 22nd anniversary. We checked around and selected Phineas Swann for its appeal as an luxury friendly place (based mostly on reviews and word of mouth). Darren and Lynne are wonderful hosts their staff had the perfect balance of attentiveness and relaxing calm. We enjoyed the Montgomery Adventures dogsled package as well as some relaxing massages, both of which are highly recommended. Excellent accomodations with a delicoious breakfast offering.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, as we asked for a tour (of unoccupied rooms) during our stay. We stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren D, Owner at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
We're glad the two of you made the most of your visit for your anniversary! Our house masseuse Rich has been getting rave reviews from our guests, and the relaxation and joy he's brought to our guests during their stay has been quite rewarding for us. We've had guests enjoy hot stone, Sweedish and deep-tissue massage. We also have two other area masseuses who provide other unique style of massage right in the privacy of our Library. Come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We hated to leave the beautiful inn, incredibly comfortable rooms ( Oh the beds!), scrumptious breakfasts and - particularly - the consumate innkeepers. Not just attention to every little detail, but true thoughtfulness and empathy for each individual guest. We travelled with our two huskies who had as great a visit as we did. On the occasion we left them for some exhilarating dog sledding nearby (at the wonderful Montgomery Adventures), they were walked and cared for en suite. Everything was perfect, the only suggestion I could make would be room darkening blinds in the River House bedroom as the street light intruded a bit at night. I will be dreaming of the blackberry stuffed french toast until I return!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren D, Owner at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
We're glad you enjoyed the dogsledding and we enjoyed taking your two darling huskies for walks! We've taken your suggestion for darker blinds/curtains for the bedroom to heart, and your feedback will ensure future guests have an even better night's sleep. Come visit us again soon! We'll make sure we have our French toast on the menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 195 Main Street, Montgomery Center, VT 05471
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Montgomery Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to pampered luxury at our romantic not just pet-friendly, but PET CENTRIC inn. Our all-season retreat, located only 7 miles from Jay Peak Ski and Golf Resort, offers unparalleled comfort and personal service. Rooms and suites feature four-poster beds, fine antiques, luxurious linens, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, individual climate controls with Air Conditioning (a rarity for northern Vermont), televisions with HD Cable with movie channels and DVD players in all rooms, Free local and long distance calling , and Free WiFi internet plus a guest computer in our lounge. Extensive public areas and gardens open to all guests. Unlimited all day coffee, tea, soda, hot chocolate and apple cider, snacks and treats. TV room with large screen plasma TV. Located directly on the Trout River. Outdoor Hot Tub. Dinner served with advance reservations. Hiking, Biking (home of Bike VT bicycling tours for our area), Canoeing and Guide Services in the area. Rated number one in the state on TripAdvisor overall, and rated the most pet friendly inn in New England on TripAdvisor. Incredible personalized service from on site owners who are available to help you 24 hours a day. LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, T4B, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phineas Swann b&b Inn
Phineas Swann Hotel Montgomery Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.