We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners Darren and Lynne are great hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   195 Main Street, Montgomery Center, VT 05471   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“New owners Darren and Lynne are great hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Phineas Swann was the perfect spot for a romantic getaway with my husband and dog. We were very comfortable in the Honeymoon Suite, and this was a great place to spend a few days hiking, relaxing, and enjoying this beautiful area of Vermont. The inn is truly dog friendly. We were able to leave the dog in the room while we had breakfast and went out to dinner. He relaxed on the deck and grounds with us. The inn is charming and luxurious, but also very comfortable and not at all fussy or pretentious. The room had lots of special touches – coffee (keurig, with an assortment of options), snacks, doggie treats, mini frig, extra pillows and nice bedding. Breakfast was excellent – cut up fruit, eggs, sausage, homemade toast, what more could we want? It’s great to have the personality and charm of a B&B, AND have up-to-date amenities like TV with the full line-up, wireless, updated bath with Jacuzzi tub and good shower, and a comfortable bed.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite was great for a couple with a dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren D, Owner at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thanks for the kudos for the Honeymoon Suite! It's one of our most popular, in part because of its proximity to the hot tub and the fact it has a king-sized bed. Lynne and I are thrilled you had such a great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    26
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
121
474
22
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The new owners, Lynne and Darren, have taken hospitality and comfort to a whole new level! The staff are super friendly, the service is second to none and the accomodations are perfect. Great bedroom, super comfortable bed, great food and a host of complimentary items. The room has all the amenities you can think of. Great decor, air conditioning, and quiet. We would heartily recomend the Phineas Swann to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren D, Owner at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Steve, thanks so much for nice review -- and for being our first!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

WOW! WHat a great bed and breakfast...the food was superb, the rooms lovely and immaculate...very original decor....and nice little friendly touches with homemade brownies and cookies for the people, including homemade treats for the four-legged kind too! Would stay there again for the experience....Jay and John are true dog-lovers... Jaime Alcaraz Montreal

Room Tip: The suites are the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Every aspect of the Phineas Swann is warm and welcoming, from the personalized homemade dog biscuit upon arrival to the complimentary refreshments in the suites. The beds were extremely comfortable and breakfast was consistently delicious. We enjoyed walking down to the river (and our dog enjoyed wading in the water!). We only wished we could have stayed longer! This Inn would be the perfect place for a family reunion. The common spaces are as comfortable and welcoming as the suites, with snacks, movies, and games available for guests. The fire pit down by the river is a great gathering place. Jay and Jenny were there for our visit and both were friendly, easy to find, and always accommodating. Unlike many dog-friendly accommodations, you are allowed to leave your dog here while you are out for the day, and they will even walk her for a small gratuity. We made a last minute reservation, and everything was perfect. Close and convenient for Jay Peak waterpark or skiing. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful treat it was to be a guest at this bed and breakfast. Along with the outstanding food, came and outstanding room and an even more spectacular view. Having the river outback was truly a luxury (especially for my chocolate lab). I will be back again in October! I can't thank the staff enough for such a memorable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just got back from my 4th straight year of vacationing at Phineas and am just as pleased as I was every other time there. Jay and John have made this place special with the help of Jenny, Emmy and Barb. Wonderful breakfasts and beautifully decorated rooms and suites make this the perfect getaway whatever your plans. Thanks again!!

Room Tip: the River House suites are right on the gently flowing river. Sit on your private deck and let your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I spent the night of June 19, 2013 at this wonderful Bed and Breakfast Inn. The present owner, Jay, was warm and welcoming, and our chef at breakfast, Barb, took excellent care of us. The inn is in immaculate condition, very clean and comfortable. Our suite overlooked the garden, and it was a short stroll down to the river. We enjoyed an extremely excellent dinner at Bernie's restaurant (recommended to us by Jay himself), which was very close to the inn. Our stay at Phineas Swann was very restful. We were on a six-week-long road trip on a Harley Davidson from Canada down to New Orleans and up to Toronto, then home to western Canada, and we appreciated a quiet and comfortable night in Montgomery Centre.
Thank you, Jay and Barb! Kathy Mercereau, Canada

Room Tip: The "Green Suite" overlooking the garden was very beautiful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 195 Main Street, Montgomery Center, VT 05471
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Montgomery Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to pampered luxury at our romantic not just pet-friendly, but PET CENTRIC inn. Our all-season retreat, located only 7 miles from Jay Peak Ski and Golf Resort, offers unparalleled comfort and personal service. Rooms and suites feature four-poster beds, fine antiques, luxurious linens, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, individual climate controls with Air Conditioning (a rarity for northern Vermont), televisions with HD Cable with movie channels and DVD players in all rooms, Free local and long distance calling , and Free WiFi internet plus a guest computer in our lounge. Extensive public areas and gardens open to all guests. Unlimited all day coffee, tea, soda, hot chocolate and apple cider, snacks and treats. TV room with large screen plasma TV. Located directly on the Trout River. Outdoor Hot Tub. Dinner served with advance reservations. Hiking, Biking (home of Bike VT bicycling tours for our area), Canoeing and Guide Services in the area. Rated number one in the state on TripAdvisor overall, and rated the most pet friendly inn in New England on TripAdvisor. Incredible personalized service from on site owners who are available to help you 24 hours a day. LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phineas Swann b&b Inn
Phineas Swann Hotel Montgomery Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.