We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place, as long as you understand what it is” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grampa Grunts Lodge

Grampa Grunts Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montgomery Center
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grampa Grunts Lodge
Save
You added Grampa Grunts Lodge to your Saves list
53 Begnoche Farm Road, PO Box 231, Montgomery Center, VT 05471   |  
Hotel amenities
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome place, as long as you understand what it is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just spent a Wednesday night there on our way to Jay Peak.
Have to admit when i saw the pics and some reviews i thought i would hate it but it's a great place.
Ok, it isn't the cleanest most put together place in the state. You'll see graffiti on the walls..but that's the charm of it.
Talk to the owner for a few minutes, he is a great guy and his stories about the place will make you appreciate it.
This isn't a family place, but it also isn't just for college aged frat kids.
We are all late 20's some early 30's and everybody loved it.

book room 4 and bring dramamine

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Berwick, Maine
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Grampa Grunts Lodge <10 miles from Jay Peak, comfortable, laid back, friendly, amazing homemade breakfast, all for $47/night - everything I was hoping for and even a working sauna. Not for anyone looking for reason to complain. Just a great place to sleep, eat and chat with good people. Yea, I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Not knowing what I was getting into, I brought my own winter bag and pillow and used it on top of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Grandpa grunts overall I would have to say was an experience. It is a fun, laid back place with great people. Everyone who works there is friendly and more than willing to help as well as the people staying there. The breakfast was delicious and its a 15 min. drive to Jay peak. Walking distance to the grocery store and bar, along with other places you might need. Grunts reminded me of moving into college and to fully enjoy your stay you have to know what you are walking into because it is by no means "luxurious". I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

Stayed for a mid-week stay while hitting Jay for the first time. Dorothy was a terrific mgr and made us feel at home. Easy walk to downtown with great restaurants. Thanks to the guy on the gondola at Stratton for clueing us into this place!!!

Room Tip: Call ahead offpeak midweek=waterbed,ceiling mirro!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towaco, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

A very special place in a very special place, owned & run by good people. The "mountain effect" is very obvious when you enter montgomery center and the lodge is a throw back to simpler times. If you are a true rider/skier this is the place for you, affordable,comfy, and rich w/ history. Like any place that lets you be you there are people who can't handle that. Respect goes along way so come get some a J and definetly stay w/ the Quintin family @ Grunts..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

love it...20 min. to the mountain on a good day. real fire, good dinner. and all u can eat breakfast for 5 $

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

This lodge has great accomidations and very beautiful rustic architecture.....very spacious...very clean...plenty to do...i travel to this lodge every year....the lodge is a great place for anyone to stay... there are other options available to stay... grandpa grunts has many private apartments...built for big familys with the desire for the perfect family vacation......i always enjoy my stay...at grandpa grunts you are not just a guest you are a part of the family.....thats a big reason i go back every year...the breakfast is great and the pancakes are the best i have ever had.....over the years i have notice people from all over the united states vacation here.....i ill never stay anywhere but here now that i have stayed at granpa grunts.......

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grampa Grunts Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grampa Grunts Lodge

Address: 53 Begnoche Farm Road, PO Box 231, Montgomery Center, VT 05471
Location: United States > Vermont > Montgomery Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Montgomery Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This rustic but comfortable lodge especially appeals to college students. Located just 8 miles from Jay Peak, Grampa Grunts can accommodate up to 50 students. Featuring one of a kind ammenities such as: The BYOB lounge, Famous all you can eat breakfast, a cedar sauna, pool table, a cozy wood stove, as well as water beds, refrigerators and satellite receivers in 8 of our 16 rooms. We also feature two skiers apartments, the "Happenin" sleeps 8-10 and "Grampas Too" sleeps 6-8. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grampa Grunts Hotel Montgomery Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grampa Grunts Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.