We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Lantern Inn Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Black Lantern Inn Restaurant
2057 North Main Street, Montgomery, VT 05470
802-326-3269
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Montgomery
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
pa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

You can't go wrong at this restaurant, we ate here for two nights and had the Sunday Brunch, all the food is delicous and the service is great

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Phineas Swann staff suggested this restaurant to us, and they were not wrong. The staff was totally friendly and knowledgable--great service. Our meal was excellent, we even got to meet the chef during the day to help us make our choice for that evening even better. The quality of the food, as well as the ingredients, are local and fresh from the area, food preparations are well thought of. Great ambience--fine dining at its best. They also have have a very good wine list to accompany the meal. We will definitely be going back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great ambiance in Montgomery!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was a great place to eat! The ambience was beautiful and the food was very good. The only downside is that it was a bit pricey for the area. Still, we would go back again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Another stop on VT's food culture trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our meal at The Black Lantern was right up there in the foodie culture quality celebrated in VT. Quality is there, ingredients are local in many cases and fresh and a diverse group of people from locals to tourists abound. Very good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Beautiful Place for a Special Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The chef takes great care with the menu. My best friend and I dined here to celebrate my birthday and we enjoyed every minute. The scallops in peach cream sauce were a special appetizer that day and were fantastic! The dining area is rustic, simple, yet elegant and I do not believe you could have a bad meal there.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Lantern Inn Restaurant also viewed

Montgomery Center, VT
Montgomery Center, VT
 
Montgomery Center, VT
 

Been to The Black Lantern Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Lantern Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.