We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value with friendly, gracious service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Lantern Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montgomery
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Black Lantern Inn
2057 North Main Street, Rte. 118, Montgomery, VT 05470 (Formerly The Montgomery House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Montgomery B&B and Inns
Manchester, NH
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good value with friendly, gracious service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

I stayed at Montgomery House with three friends for a three day ski weekend. As soon as we checked in, the innkeeper said that our rate would be reduced to the off-season rate instead of the in-season rate we had agreed to over the phone. Reason: poor economy. The three bedroom suite exceeded our expectations. The wood burning stove in the living room was already roaring, providing a nice ambience. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The fluffy bathrobes provided an unexpected touch of luxury. The breakfasts were great with lots of fresh fruit and healthy choices. The Inn was about a 15 minute drive to Jay Peak. We were treated like guests in someone's home. I recommend Montgomery House for a perfect combination of value, country comfort and gracious service.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

Our stay at Montgomery House was outstanding, even with the tenuous VT weather. It is a quick jump to Jay's Peak for skiing. Accommodations were cozy and there's good variety in the rooms. We had a single room but got a chance to peek into the other suites, so there is a room to fit everyone's taste. The innkeepers, Deb and Bob, are gracious hosts (even if you sleep a little late for breakfast :0)). Exceptional breakfasts and we recommend making the reservation for dinner--very choice entrees and wine list. Outdoor hot tub shouldn't be missed. This would be a great place to stay in all seasons. Be sure to check the website for directions in the winter weather as Rt 58 truly is "closed to thru traffic".

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, AZ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

The stay at the Montgomery House Inn was one of the finest experiences Edward and I have had. The room was beautiful, clean and roomy. The food is so fresh and gourmet. We had the Filet and the Duck for dinner -- both were very delicious and the service was great. In the morning they serve a massive Breakfast Buffet that has it all, The muffins are home made and again very fresh. The leaves were turning which only enhanced our stay. I would highly reccommend the Montgomery House Inn in Vermont to any one who is looking for First Class at the right price! Call them you won't be disappointed!
Charlotte and Edward Rella

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2009

This is a great B&B with very nice rooms and wonderful breakfast. It is a bit of a drive to Jay Peak (if you are there to Ski) but breakfast is out early enough to make it to the hill in good time.

The only problem with this place is the soaker tubs. The walls are not sound proofed and the tubs cause excruciating noise if you are next door to one. Also, even when the jets are not on, hearing a couples entire conversation while in a tub is a little disquieting.

That being said, the owners were very accommodating and helped rectify the situation. My advice to the Inn is to either invest in proofing the walls or until that is a possibility, consider temporarily removing the jets and make the tubs simply tubs.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2007

The welcome we received was amazing. Bob (the owner) could not be more helpful - especially as we walked in 'on spec' due to everywhere (and I mean everywhere) being fully booked. We had the last vacancy - a suite in house next door. This included a bedroom and en-suite, lounge and a covered patio area. The price was excellent, only $200 which included a cooked-to-order served breakfast. The ambience was cosy and friendly, the staff courteous and Bob personally showing us the room and then chatting again at breakfast. If you are staying in the Montgomery area, then you mustn't miss staying here! Claire and Julie.

  • Liked — Bob - and the cleaniness
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2007

We stayed here with a Bike Vermont tour. It was our favorite inn on the trip. Excellent food, especially breakfast. Nice bar, good wine list and a martini after a long ride. Great ambience.

  • Liked — The food, and the room was nice, with an updated bathroom.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2006

This Inn was more than we expected in all aspects: Beautiful location, great accommodations, friendly staff, hands-on owners, and the food was excellent.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Black Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Lantern Inn

Address: 2057 North Main Street, Rte. 118, Montgomery, VT 05470 (Formerly The Montgomery House)
Location: United States > Vermont > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Lantern Inn has been a continually operated inn dating back to 1803. Located in the peaceful village of Montgomery, we offer cozy, comfortable accommodations and fine dining, all with a spectacular view of Hazen's Notch. We're just a short drive from the Jay Peak Resort area, so our location is ideal, whether you've come to admire the colorful fall foliage, ski in the winter, or golf and hike in the summer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Black Lantern Hotel Montgomery

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Lantern Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Black Lantern Inn to your Saves list