We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret in VT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sampler House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sampler House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Sampler House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
22 Main St, Milton, VT 05468   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Milton B&B and Inns
new concord, OH
1 review
“Best kept secret in VT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Practically perfect in every way. Rooms are great with own bathroom. Food is excellent. Deb always makes you feel like you are right at home. A very generous spirit! Price is comparable to a hotel, but so much better. This is our second stay and we are already planning to stay here again. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the Sampler House. You will feel the love and laughter at this B&B!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I visited the Sampler house quite some time ago with several friends, but I am still recommending this to friends and family who are interested in traveling to VT. I am still amazed at how nicely Deborah dealt with our very particular dietary restrictions (we keep very strictly kosher) and went above and beyond to give us what we needed. Two years later we are still gushing about her kindness. She was very informative as well and spent 20 minutes explaining to one of my friends, who was very interested, how to make jam. She urged us to return with family or for another trip with friends. I hope to be able to return soon!

Room Tip: We used the suite, and it was perfection. We ate lunch on the patio off the side of the house, and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Visiting family for our Grandson's 1st Birthday. This lovely B&B was recommended to us and it was within walking distance of our kid's house. We had a wonderful time. Deborah and Peter were solicitous but not intrusive. The breakfasts were fabulous. We had wonderful conversations around the breakfast table. The B&B itself is a wonderful old house, clean and neat and comfortable. As an added bonus, very reasonably priced. I'm sure we will go back many times.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Sampler House over the July 4th Holiday and can't say enough about the hospitality and service. You really feel at home with excellent hosts, great breakfast, and a location centrally situated near Burlington and all the outdoor activities of NW Vermont. Rooms are great too, I particularly liked the classic room furnishings, oversized bathroom with a sitting area, and of course DirectTV.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Brookfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I have stayed several times at the Sampler House and each time did not disappoint. Deborah and Peter are the perfect hosts. Deborah has made sure that I was comfortable and made sure I had everything I needed ON MY ALL STAYS. This is the only place to stay at when I am in the area. All my breakfasts were delicious.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EASTPORT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We've stayed at the Sampler House several times on our way to Maine and then on our way back to Alaska. The old house is lovely, clean, and quiet and Deborah and Peter are interesting hosts; however, the breakfast we were served in September was average at best. I recommend the Sampler House but not as passionately as I would have two years ago.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just about this time a few years ago, my husband and I lost our home to water damage. Peter and Debra put us up for about three months in their charming B&B. They treated us like family. I would highly recommend this B&B if you're planning on being in and around the Burlington area. The breakfasts are tasty (homemade scones and jam), rooms very comfortable, bathrooms modern, and company delightful. What else can you ask for!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sampler House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampler House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 22 Main St, Milton, VT 05468
Location: United States > Vermont > Milton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Milton's Historic Village, only 25 minutes north of Burlington, between Interstate 89 Exits 17 & 18, the Sampler House B& B is a cozy restored 1830 brick cape . We offer three spacious and well appointed guest rooms, all with queen bed , seating and private bath. $75-$95 plus tax. Visitors enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bed, and homemade Vermont breakfast. Visit, work, study, or just enjoy a gentle change of pace. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sampler House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.