We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, good view.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Storm Cafe

Storm Cafe
3 Mill Street, (in the Frog Hollow Mill), Middlebury, VT 05753
802-388-1063
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 42 Restaurants in Middlebury
Cuisines: American, French, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good food, good view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had a dinner on the rainy day at this Storm Cafe, how lovely! Set at the table at the patio, you can see the river, the bridge and the sounds so comforting.
I had Stromy Ahi Tuna, see the photo, it's very good. Tuna was cooked perfectly, and the local sugar peas were (on season) so fresh and crispy. Yummy!
Service girl was very friendly and helpful, the price is reasonable. I like this Storm Cafe!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    40
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Nice patio, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had a very pleasant dinner on the patio. The menu struck me as a little odd - rather than having to decide between multiple things that sounded enticing, nothing really stood out to me. There were a few things that seemed pretty exotic and I wasn't sure if I would like them or not. Everything we had was excellent, and I would definitely go back, but I would have expected a different mix of options on the menu.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great service, nice setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had dinner there last night, one of the hottest evenings of the summer. We sat outside, next to Otter Creek. The Wait Staff were suffering the heat like the rest of us, but they were extraordinary! The service was second to none! The food was very good, extremely reasonable prices, and perfectly timed. We greatly enjoyed our dinner here. All members of the staff were attentive, polite, and on their marks. Will dine here again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“I expected better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

There are just a few places everyone recommends in Middlebury. This is one of them. It's located right on the river (top points for location!), serves classic American-French-ish cuisine, and is pricey. We took our whole family here after Middlebury graduation. Service was great. Food, well, average. Actually it was mixed. Some of us raved about our meals, and others of us were surprised that our food wasn't cooked right. I'm not usually particularly picky about restaurant food, but I cook myself and order things I can't (or won't) do at home. So I had a dish that included lobster, and was disappointed that it was so overcooked that I couldn't eat it. My mother-in-law ordered the same thing and had the same experience.
The upshot is go here if you want for the atmosphere and for a nice experience but order carefully.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent if you can eat outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very good food, lovely romantic terrace dining right on level with the rushing river,"house" shawls offered to chilly outdoor diners...kindly service...eager to return.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Storm Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Storm Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Storm Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.