We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, manager's a jerk, quaint decor if dated.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fire & Ice

Fire & Ice
26 Seymour St., Middlebury, VT 05753
+1 802-388-7166
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 41 Restaurants in Middlebury
Price range: $9 - $36
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Since 1974, Vermont's Most Beautiful Restaurant & Pub has been specializing in slow roasted prime rib, hand-cut steaks, homemade mashed potatoes and live lobster. Chef's specials daily. Extensive salad bar with 50+ items, including peel & eat shrimp, Cabot cheddar cheese, Baba A Louis breads, homemade carrot cake and free Monument Farms milk (try the chocolate!). We offer 9 different dining areas, each with its own unique theme. Families are always welcome-ask about our children's theater area. The Big Moose Pub opens at 4:30, the dining rooms at 5pm, daily. We do serve lunch, but only on Friday & Saturday (beginning at noon) and Sunday (starting at 1pm). Reservations appreciated.
Middlebury, Vermont, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average food, manager's a jerk, quaint decor if dated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Restaurant seems to be dependent on days of old when it was well-run, with good food, loyalty to local regulars, a popular place to go. Food seems overpriced for what you get. We watched the manager tell someone to leave after accusing him of stealing food but showing no evidence thereof. Embarrassing for all!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    61
    22
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The service, the quality of the food, and the awesome salad bar make this a very special restaurant. We ordered the prime rib, which was cooked to perfection. We also enjoyed the twice baked potatoes.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“They saw us coming :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Made a reservation or 15 of us on our road trip.
Put us in a room by ourselves (good choice)
We had a great time, Server was awesome,
Food was really good, but I forgot what I ordered.
Restaurant has great character too

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great decor, okay food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Seeing the decor is worth a visit, but the food is nothing special. The salad bar is plentiful, but nothing special. It is over priced for food that isn't so great. The crab cakes were not fresh, but frozen. The shrimp was over cooked and still frozen at the salad bar. The cake on the salad bar tasted like it is from a box.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Family Fun and Funky Decorations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Had a big family meting in Middlebury and Fire & Ice accomodated 32 of us for dinner. Great service and nice setting. Giant Salad Bar with lots fresh choices; only $6 addition with an entre. Everything was fesh and tasty. Big Boat in center of salad bar station looked like fun. men's room is populated by locls' trophy fishing catch pictures. Lots of other fun pictures, fishing materials and other fun stuff for decorations. Wait staff both cheerful and efficient . Had fun and enjoyed a great meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fire & Ice also viewed

 

Been to Fire & Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fire & Ice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.