We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fire & Ice

Fire & Ice
26 Seymour St., Middlebury, VT 05753
+1 802-388-7166
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 42 Restaurants in Middlebury
Price range: $9 - $36
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Since 1974, Vermont's Most Beautiful Restaurant & Pub has been specializing in slow roasted prime rib, hand-cut steaks, homemade mashed potatoes and live lobster. Chef's specials daily. Extensive salad bar with 50+ items, including peel & eat shrimp, Cabot cheddar cheese, Baba A Louis breads, homemade carrot cake and free Monument Farms milk (try the chocolate!). We offer 9 different dining areas, each with its own unique theme. Families are always welcome-ask about our children's theater area. The Big Moose Pub opens at 4:30, the dining rooms at 5pm, daily. We do serve lunch, but only on Friday & Saturday (beginning at noon) and Sunday (starting at 1pm). Reservations appreciated.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

One of the tenderest piece of filet I have ever eaten interesting decor and friendly staff a bit of a drive for us but worth the trip

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    62
    22
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“overpriced and overdone cheesey antique decor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Food was good and selection decent
Big salad and bread bar
Kid friendly but bring a paycheck
Waitress was one of those expecting not to have to bring back change
I will try not to return

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I have been meeting his parents for dinner here for over 12 years. It has been a while since we were here and I have to say we were a bit disappointed. The service was great but the food was just ok. They used to have a three course special that they no longer have. My filet was good but for the price I would expect better than good. No major complaints but I wasn't wowed like I used to be.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleton, Vermont, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No room?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Arrived on a Monday evening to sit in the bar, restaurant appeared pretty busy there were tables that need to be cleared with reserved signs on them. We asked if we could sit at one of the three and were told that there was a 40 minute to an hours wait so we sat at the bar. Not a problem. We dined and were there for about an hour and a half no one ever sat at any of those tables that were originally vacant. The food was average at best. Bread on salad bar was dry and stale, buns on burgers cold not even warmed really mediocre food not the food that was so great in the past. We would definately think twice about dining here again in the future.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Eclectic place, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was an interesting place and we enjoyed the food. The decor was kind of fun and we will bring our kids the next time. Very cosy, lots of different rooms, canoes hanging from the ceiling (decorating idea that my hubby now has :( ) The clam chowder was excellent as was everything else. We would come again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fire & Ice also viewed

 

Been to Fire & Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fire & Ice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.