We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waybury Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middlebury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waybury Inn
Save
You added Waybury Inn to your Saves list
457 East Main Street, Middlebury, VT 05740   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Middlebury B&B and Inns
British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Came here as part of a bicycle tour. I must say that the owner and staff were incredibly accommodating to our group. The innkeeper gave us a history about the place. The staff had fresh baked cookies out for us everyday at 3. The rooms were fine. A bit kitsch. Sound proofing, hot water availability, modern amenities what one should expect for an historic building. Food okay- we had 2 breakfasts (quite good) and 2 dinners (one good, one below average). Drinks very expensive. Upon check out, total for 2 gin and tonics, 2 glasses of table wine, 1 scotch was a ridiculous $79.
Come here understanding what to expect and it will be a pleasant stay. Area is lovely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    18
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
34
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
woodstock
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Drove 3 and a half hours plus to have a nice getaway for the fall...get there at 2 to see if perhaps the room was ready and was barked at by the what I found out to be, the OWNER, who didn't say hello, welcome but jilted out "Check in is at three" and walked away. We were pretty deflated and disappointed but tried to find our upper lip again and walked back to our car to drive around for an hour until Your Highness would allow us to come get our key.
When we came back an hour later, another women was there and was a little more scripted in her welcome but it certainly wasn't sincere...(small places like this are what attract us, with the caring, hi how are you deal, ya know????)....so we get into our room which was small but fine....Bottom line, the Female Owner was around a lot but seemed to more more of a negative nuisance than anything, and I can vouch for this first hand. The dining room pub area for dinner was good...still sensed a tension with the owner lurking...breakfast was fine...owner trying to be nice to help the waitress but you could tell the waitress wished she would just disappear...and her fake how are you after telling us to come back in an hour the day before after we were COMING TO HER INN, was discouraging to recover from...whatever.
We used two towels excessively and put them on the rim of the tub as the sign said "We would love to wash YOUR TOWELS and if you NEED US TO, please drop them in the tub..." well the towels were kind of wet so we draped them over the side...duh...Wouldn't you know they actually took the wet, dirty towels and folded them and put them back on the towel rack, one of them was on the floor, I left in there because it was wet...used...they folded them and put them back on the rack...I DON"T GET IT. They also did NOT replenish the shampoo and soap that we used the first night...tacky...had to ask for more...WHAT???? VERY COLD overall...I really think the owners need to figure out why they are in this business???? They are terrible at it. The decor was sweet...in was cute but come on....my husband and I go to Inns and B and B's all over the country and this was really embarrassing. Customer Service on the OWNER's side needs work, not the staff..you could tell they were discouraged.

Room Tip: Rooms are tiny....watch you put your towels used IN THE TUB...bring your own shampoo and soap...be s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

THe Inn is ok, staff not very friendly. Would be nice to have tea and coffee available thru out the day. The room is ok, rug is old. Noisy as we were in room 1 and you heard everybody coming and going, especially a woman who dragged her suitcase down 14 steps at 6:45am. The guests above our room walking and flushing the toilet. The resturants food was very good but the service was minimal. No mention of the specials. Had to ask for rolls. I felt like I was putting the waitress out. Breakfast food was terrible. Potatoes tasted like they had been prepared in old oil. You get a complimentary breakfast but gratituty was not included. For the price you pay to stay, they should be able to afford paying their staff well.Would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Waybury Inn has an incredible history and the building has been kept up very well. We especially enjoyed the Pub for dinner as it's a friendly place with nice ambience. We've stayed at over 40 B & Bs over the years and had high expectations for this Inn, mostly because of the advertising and price. Most of the Inns we've stayed in before have made us feel very special and welcomed. Unfortunately, we didn't quite get that same sense from the Waybury Inn. There are some great things about it (history, decor and uniqueness of the building itself, nice staff in the Pub, etc.), but there are also areas we feel they could improve on. We loved the chocolate chip cookies at the counter, but how about an area for complimentary coffee/tea/cider? Normally we've been offered something in the afternoon/evening - just a simple gesture to let guests know they're 'family' for the night. It also seemed awkward to be warned that gratuities aren't included in the complimentary breakfast. I've never before stayed at a B & B where a tip was expected, mentioned, or even allowed. I realize this is an "Inn," so perhaps that's the difference, but it feels like a B & B in most ways. I'd rather have a tip included in the overall price and just not know about it. Both of us also commented immediately about how uncomfortable the bed was. It was quite hard, and we actually prefer a firm mattress. We'd suggest purchasing mattresses more appropriate for this type of accommodation, with a pillow-top and quality linens. A comforter/duvet would also be more in line with an "Inn" or B & B. We've stayed at about 50 hotels so far on this vacation alone (long cross-country trip) and even chain motels, such as Best Western, now have very luxurious beddings. Overall, we're glad we stayed at the Waybury Inn for the experience and it was also convenient for our route, but most likely would not stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front get a lot of road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were here for a wedding and it was also our first time in Vermont. We had such a good experience here, the staff is friendly and extremely helpful! They helped plan our weekend with local attractions and really knew what kind of activities we were looking to do. The Inn is located just a short ride away from town and is such a charming place! The food was fresh and delicious! I definitely recommend staying here for a few days and enjoying Middlebury!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Fresh peach mint soup, mushroom wellington, blueberry vinegar dressing on salad, maple syrup glaze on cheescake. Everything was so fresh from local farmers. Although not professionally trained, the pride of growing up in this family owned business clearly showed. Hidden away in EAST Middlebury did not keep people from finding it as there were cars from 5 states in their small parking lot. This is one place that doesn't need anything but word of mouth advertising. We didn't stay there so I didn't rate the room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We came to visit Middlebury College, and needed a place to stay. This was a terrific find! It is charming in all respects. The two rooms we stayed in were beautifully appointed, a little on the small side (but I had purposefully selected that as we were only there for an overnight), but wonderfully comfortable. Each room has its own unique decor, just so nicely done. The whole place has a beautiful ambience. Great service, very clean (that's so important) such nice people too.

The complimentary breakfast deserves a special shout out as it was amazing and delicious. We didn't have dinner there - I wish we had, given how great the breakfast was. Home made muffins and bread... Their attention to detail and service was excellent. We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waybury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waybury Inn

Address: 457 East Main Street, Middlebury, VT 05740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waybury Inn is known not only for its role on the Bob Newhart Show, but also for its extraordinary dining options and beautiful accommodations. The Waybury Inn's thirteen guest rooms are decorated with a little whimsy and provide all of the comforts expected in today’s lodging. It is true that we are over 200 years old, but we have spent the last ten years renovating and decorating to offer the best blends of historic charm and comfortable surroundings. Dog-friendly accommodations, deep claw-foot bathtubs, free wireless internet, a dedicated guest PC, and a full service bar are just some of the amenities we offer. All of our guests also enjoy a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waybury Hotel Middlebury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waybury Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.