We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't get any better than this” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swift House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Swift House Inn to your Saves list
Swift House Inn
25 Stewart Lane, Middlebury, VT 05753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rhinebeck, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Doesn't get any better than this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Definitely will return to this charming, warm and inviting Inn. Great location walking distance to downtown Middlebury. Stayed in the Emma Willard room... a real treat, complete with 4 poster bed and fireplace. Enjoyed the extensive wine list (at very afforable prices, I miust add). The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Enjoyed an outstanding meal at Jessica's. There was nothing the establishment could have done to make our stay better than it was.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    33
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
36
95
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manalapan, NJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

We just spent three nights at the Swift House Inn and had a wonderful time. The Inn is very comfortable and the staff is extremely accommodating. The Inn keeper made a point of speaking with every guest during breakfast adding to the atmopsphere of "home away from home". Our room was very clean and comfortable. We came to Vermont to see the changing colors and weren't disappointed. The grounds at the Inn are beautiful. Located a short walk from town, the Inn is off the mnain road adding to it's quietness and comfort. We will definitely return

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Lovely gardens - a Fall Foliage tour in teself. Good bar with lots of local beers and a great whisky selection. Very knowledgeable staff. We had the Lady of the House room which is a great treat.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Wonderful room in beautifully converted coach house. Very convenient for visiting the charming town of Middlebury. Breakfast is taken in the house dining room with views of the beautiful gardens. Staff are friendly and knowledgeable about the area and its places of interest.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

We arrived in Middlebury about an hour before the official Check-In time began. The Inn was easy to find and the staff was nice and called the housekeeper right away to see if our room was ready, which was not the case. So they told us to be back in an hour and gave us advice on where to grab a bite to eat.

We were back after two hours and they showed us our room, which was the Swift Room. It was quite spacious, with a blue wallpaper of which I thought it would disturb me at first, which was absolutely not the case. The first thing we noticed was the noise from the street. Later we noticed that the windows were not able to be fully closed, so there was always a little noise. The bed was comfortable, but the posters were loose, we tried to fix it but it did not work. The bathroom was spacious too and it had a heating, which was nice, but here comes the big problem: from the bathroom you could go out to a little terrace which overlooked the grounds, and there was a double door to go out which could not be fully locked. There was always a gap between the doors which means it was always kind of chilly in the bathroom. Furthermore there were no curtains or jalousies in front of the windows in the bathroom, okay, there was not much around but I would have preferred a little more privacy.

There was a sitting area in the room too and a fireplace (not working), a TV was there and WIFI was available.

We went for dinner to a Cafe in the town because we found the in house restaurant to be a little expensive.

The next morning when we arrived to breakfast, we saw how many rooms there were, because of so many guests. They had like a buffet with some cereal and fruit salad and also English Muffins and toast. It was all a little bit like in a hotel, which I did not like.

For breakfast a girl came and took our ordered, we decided to have pancakes, but the portion was very small (2 or 3 really small pancakes). The quality of the food and the variety of choices could definitely have been better. What I absolutely didn't like at breakfast was, that the manager came to every table and asked if everything was okay except for ours.

For the price I expected more from this hotel, especially regarding the state of the room and the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont25, Owner at Swift House Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2010
The Swift House Inn is a Vermont Country Inn and we appreciate feedback! First I will apologize that during breakfast we missed the opportunity to speak with this guest. The Innkeeper/Owner tries to speak to every guest each morning to welcome them, answer questions and just get to meet them. On full house days it is sometimes difficult to meet everyone but certainly not meant to slight anyone; again if we miss you we are sorry! The doors to the private second floor deck need to be modified. There are 2 very large interesting pocket doors then 2 french storm doors. We have a plan to replace the storm doors which would seal the draft. In the winter we completely seal the doors to prevent drafts. It will get done. New blinds will be installed in two weeks. Our breakfast service consists of a cold buffet and hot entrees, which includes: Fresh cut fruit, 3 flavors of yogurt, 2 bread types , English muffins, croissants, Inn made granola, 3 cereals, oatmeal, 3 types of milk. The wait staff will poor coffee , tea, hot chocolate and choice of 4 juices . The waitstaff will take an order for buttermilk pancakes, waffles, french toast, the daily egg dish special, eggs to order and bacon or sausage, any combination and any quantity. We have found that this type service pretty much covers any choices, dietary restrictions, and size of appetite. We try to keep it seasonal and local, always with great Vermont Maple Syrup! We apologize and missed the mark on this visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

I really can't say enough about how enjoyable our visit to the Swift House was. From the excellent customer service received from Susie and Colleen when our reservation needed to be changed last minute, to the warm and professional welcome provided by Aysa, to the delicious Sidecars mixed by Tom (and if you like after-dinner coffee drinks, ask him for a "Naked Italian," our custom concoction!), to the perfect dinner service from Myra -- and outstanding food courtesy of the Inn's chef, who we didn't get to thank personally -- to the breakfast-time chats with Dan and Michelle... this is a place we'll not forgot and will certainly plan to stay at again if we're in the area. The Alexander Twilight room in the Gate House was just right for us, and although close to the road, we found absolutely nothing out of the ordinary or disruptive in terms of noise. Kudos as well to our housekeeper (who we also did not meet in person, unfortunately), who clearly takes pride in making everything special for Swift House guests. The grounds, the common areas of the main house, the setting itself -- we loved this place. Thanks to everyone for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

My family and I stayed here for one night in August on a college scouting trip to Middlebury College. We had two adjacent rooms upstairs, #22 The Governor's Room with a king and the Stewart room (with two queens) next door. Gov. Room was $166 and Stewart Room $143. The weather was hot and muggy but the air conditioning units cooled each room down nicely as long as we kept the doors to the hallway closed. Each room was extremely comfortable and we wished that we could have stayed longer. The beds were great....easy to sleep in. The staff is friendly and welcoming. There are lots of different areas on the main floor to sit and relax. The breakfast was wonderful. ( We were there on a Monday night, and didn't get to enjoy dinner at the Swift House but discovered the Storm Cafe in town nearby. It was a wonderful spot, with a creative chef and a kitchen that cranked out innovative cuisine at fair prices.) Parking was free in a small lot just across the road leading up the hill to the Inn. One of the real charms of the Swift House is that, because it sits at the far end of a huge piece of property, the Inn is removed quite a bit from the noise of the street below and is therefore blissfully quiet at night. There is also a fully stocked bar just off the main lobby. We were able to take a couple of drinks outside and sit in some wonderfully comfortable chairs on the lawn under the stars. Very calming. I'd stay there again in a minute.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swift House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swift House Inn

Address: 25 Stewart Lane, Middlebury, VT 05753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic 20-room former governor's mansion is Middlebury's only classic full service Vermont Country Inn and offers the essence of New England warmth. Surrounded with 4 acres of lawns and gardens, inside, candlelit dinners await you. Large, comfortable rooms offer modern amenities in period decor, some with whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary 24 hour coffee service, cookies, sauna, steam shower, comfortable wine bar and Middlebury's only accommodation where a full breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Swift House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swift House Hotel Middlebury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swift House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.