We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hoping to return one day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Middlebury Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Middlebury Inn to your Saves list
Middlebury Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Courthouse Square, Middlebury, VT 05753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Attraction tickets
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
GreenLeadersBronze level
Greenville, SC
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Hoping to return one day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We loved the Middlebury Inn. It is clean and quaint, stocked with lovely books and conveniently perched above town. It has the amenities of a modern hotel with the charm of an Inn. The staff was friendly and efficient. There is much to see and do in the village and it is all within walking distance. We enjoyed both dinner and breakfast in the Inn. The food was EXCELLENT and dining on the veranda was quite a treat. 'Loved the afternoon cookies too. We are looking forward to our return!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    111
    36
    10
    12
See reviews for
80
110
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

The Middlebury Inn provides a step back into time with all the modern conveniences. Upon our afternoon arrival, we were warmly greeted at check-in and invited to Afternoon Tea which was beautifully set out in the spacious parlor off the lobby. After bringing our bags to our room, which was beautifully decorated, we went downstairs to relax out on the porch after serving ourselves wonderful cranberry scones with the best raspberry jam ever! (or butter, as well) and tea. Coffee was also available. Other freshly baked goodies were oatmeal scones and chocolate chip cookies.
After a most comfortable night we were sorry to leave our friendly front desk friends and the wonderful Inn to continue on our way home. We were not able to have dinner there as we were in Middlebury to celebrate another event. But judging from the Tea Service, we are looking forward to eating in their beautiful dining room the next time we visit!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

I have stayed here several times in the past and have always had a terrific experience.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, IN
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

We stayed at the Middlebury Inn for three nights in May 2009. We booked standard rooms in the main Inn and were upgraded to suites upon arrival. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Check-in was a breeze. The rooms were clean and fresh and appeared to be recently redone. The mattress was very comfortable. The main bathroom in the suite was spacious, but had original fixtures which didn’t allow for much counter space.

The Inn offers complimentary afternoon tea service including coffee, tea, iced tea, lemonade, cookies, scones, etc. It is very nice.

The main portion of the Inn is housed in a beautiful 1827 brick building. The spaces are large and impressive. There are also rooms in an adjacent Federal style mansion and in two more modern buildings behind the Inn. I didn’t see these rooms, but would highly recommend the main Inn building.

The dining room was a disappointment. The menu looked good and had a nice selection, but the food we received was only average. My lamb chops were small and a bit over cooked. The vegetables were unremarkable. All in all, I would give the dinner a 4 out of 10. Breakfasts, however, were very good. Easily a 9 or 10. The staff in the restaurant, both at breakfast and dinner, were very professional and attentive.

I would highly recommend staying at the Middlebury Inn and having their wonderful breakfasts. I would make other arrangements for dinner, however.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

We stayed at the Middlebury Inn while visiting the college. I absolutely loved it. Our room overlooked the street and everytime I walked into the room I was amazed at how nice it smelled - kind of a clean soap-like scent. I loved it. I loved how old it was - like 187 years old!!! It was totally charming. I found the staff to be way friendly and their hospitality was amazing. Even though Vermont is too cold for me I am hoping I get to return to this amazing place. We also thoroughly enjoyed the restaurant. Two people who really stood out and went beyond the call to make us comfortable: Nick and Rose - love them!! Nick is the night manager and he went out of his way to accommodate our every need. I am already looking forward to another visit there - even if the daughter doesnt get accepted at Middlebury College!!

  • Liked — Location, staff freindliness, our room
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

I have to say, from the outside, the Middlebury Inn looks like a quaint, New England B&B. But once you step in, the place needs a makeover.

We had a terrible experience at the Middlebury Inn. The snooty staff definitely did not accomodate us. Our room smelled like cigarette smoke and the staff would not move us to another room. Not only did our room smell, the sink and shower did not drain and there were mosquitoes and spiders in the room. We are never staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffcostello, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2008
As was stated previously, we are proud to be becoming a complete smoke free property. We have found it more difficult than originally thought to eliminate the smoke odor. We have scheduled a painting contractor to begin redoing these rooms on November 3,2008. I am sorry we were not able to accomodate a room move, as this guest had a pet and all of our pet friendly rooms were occupied for the evening. Our policy has always been to do everything that is possible to make our guest's stay as enjoyable as possible. I hope they can come visit us again and see our imprved pet friendly rooms.
Sincerely
Jeff Costello, General Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

We missed the last ferry across Lake Champlain so we decided to stay in Middlebury rather than drive around it. The town was very nice and my wife even told our kids, the oldest is 10, that they had permission to go to Middlebury College (so we can come back and visit). Since we were traveling with our dog we had to stay in the 'contemporary' section. Which they were new in relative terms with the rest of the inn but certainly not new. The room was comfortable and we liked having a mini fridge in the room for our perishables. As I was writing this, my 10 year old informed me that the couch in the room smelled like pee. A fact I did not note but she has an excellent memory and a sense of smell. She needed to lie down after checking in due to a headache. The room rate was a little steep for the room but the town made up for it.

  • Liked — Being in town
  • Disliked — Needs a good cleaning
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Middlebury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlebury Inn

Address: 14 Courthouse Square, Middlebury, VT 05753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Middlebury Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Vermont Lodging - Enjoy warm Vermont hospitality in the heart of Middlebury, a vibrant college town with classic New England character. Welcoming travelers since 1827, the Middlebury Inn offers the perfect blend of modern comfort and classic historic charm. Centrally located between Burlington and Rutland, and convenient to so many of Vermont's attractions, our historic Middlebury, Vermont hotel is perfect for that pampered fresh-air getaway, a family reunion, a base for leaf peeping, bike touring, hiking or cross country skiing, and also to host your organization's professionally managed retreat. Our town is surrounded by thousands of acres of the Green Mountain National Forest as well as numerous trails and back country roads which are ideal for biking, running, hiking, and cross-country skiing. Friendly Lake Dunmore and spectacular Lake Champlain are easy drives from the Inn. For downhill skiing, the family-friendly Middlebury College Snow Bowl is nearby and Sugarbush, Mad River, Killington, and Stowe are all within 40 miles of the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Middlebury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlebury Hotel Middlebury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Middlebury Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.